Playing with instancing placement

Forums: Playing with instancing placement
Discuss or ask critique about your current works
Forum rules
Important notice: All artwork submitted on our public gallery forums gallery forums may or may not be used by OTOY for publication on our website gallery.
If you do not want us to publish your art, please mention it in your post clearly. (put a very red small diagonal cross in the left right corner of the image)
Any images already published on the gallery will be removed if the original author asks us to do so.
We recommend placing your credits on the images so you benefit from the exposure too, and use a minimum image width of 1200 pixels, and use pathtracing or PMC. Thanks for your attention, The OctaneRender Team.


For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.

This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Playing with instancing placement

Postby domusbiro » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:20 pm

domusbiro Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:20 pm
Hi,

this is me trying out the displacement option for grass texture and messing about the instancing. Still haven't figured out how to use the scatter node.
Can anyone explain how the cordinates are placed in the command line of the scatter node? Thx

Cheers,

N
Attachments
14.jpg
13ab.jpg
Capture.JPG
Last edited by domusbiro on Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby kavorka » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:43 pm

kavorka Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:43 pm
You need to export the instances from your 3d Package and create an excel document with the coordinates. I use blender and the unofficial plugin has this option. You just click on one instance and click export instances. It will export an obj of one object and the excel document. Plug the obj it exported into a scatter node and then use the excel doc in your scatter node.

I am pretty sure most 3dpackages have this for the exporters
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby domusbiro » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:54 pm

domusbiro Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:54 pm
Thanks, i will start from there.

Cheers

N
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby domusbiro » Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:32 pm

domusbiro Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:32 pm
Another test, displacement for grass and scattering a single tree.obj model
Attachments
landscape.jpg
ScatterTest04.jpg
ScatterTest03.jpg
Scatter test01.jpg
ScatterTest02.jpg
Last edited by domusbiro on Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby domusbiro » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:16 pm

domusbiro Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Another one :)
Attachments
proba03.jpg
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby neo83_gr » Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:58 am

neo83_gr Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:58 am
I like the car images very much! The grass looks good too, Well done!
User avatar
neo83_gr
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Greece

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby Tugpsx » Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:05 pm

Tugpsx Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:05 pm
@domusbiro do you mind sharing your displacement technique for grass. Mine have is not as successful as yours. I have even subdivided the plane but still no go.

BackyardTest5.jpg
Grass test
Dell Win Vista 32 | NVIDIA Quadro NVS135M | Core2 Duo T7500 2.20GHz | 4GB
CyberPowerPC Win 7 64| NVIDIA GTX660Ti (3G) GTX480(1.5G) | 16GB
Tugpsx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:04 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby domusbiro » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:01 am

domusbiro Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:01 am
Just tweak the scale in UV transform of the displacement node, yours seems too big. Try setting the value to the half of what it is now. I've attached a grass sample.obj

cheers,

N.
Attachments
dis set.JPG
Grass_Disp.png
grass sample.zip
(1 MiB) Downloaded 167 times
domusbiro
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:48 am

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby simdal » Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:32 pm

simdal Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:32 pm
thanks dom,
your file has helped me to understand. very useful. thanks for sharing.
hello, simdal
Win 10 64, 4xGTX780ti 1xGTX560, Octane, Blender, enterprise All-Access standalone
User avatar
simdal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:10 am
Location: Mantova (Italia)

Re: Playing with instancing placement

Postby Tugpsx » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:01 pm

Tugpsx Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:01 pm
domusbiro wrote:Just tweak the scale in UV transform of the displacement node, yours seems too big. Try setting the value to the half of what it is now. I've attached a grass sample.obj

cheers,

N.

Wow thanks, will have to give this a try and post results
Dell Win Vista 32 | NVIDIA Quadro NVS135M | Core2 Duo T7500 2.20GHz | 4GB
CyberPowerPC Win 7 64| NVIDIA GTX660Ti (3G) GTX480(1.5G) | 16GB
Tugpsx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:04 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Next

Return to Works In Progress


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:53 pm [ UTC ]