Prop Renders Incorrectly in Octane

Forums: Prop Renders Incorrectly in Octane
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Prop Renders Incorrectly in Octane

Postby dysfunctional » Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:34 pm

dysfunctional Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:34 pm
Hi, I downloaded this wonderful, free blu-ray case from TurboSquid:

http://www.turbosquid.com/FullPreview/I ... -3d-model/

When I try to render it in Octane, the cover does not render properly. It renders black. When I look at the cover in Poser Pro 2012's preview window, it looks fine. When I render it with Poser's Firefly, it renders perfectly.

It seems there's some issue with normals perhaps, but I cannot figure out how to make it render properly. My friend tested the same thing in Poser Pro 2014 and was able to get it to render properly. We are both using the same version of the plugin. So the issue is with PP2012, the current version of the Octane plugin for Poser, and this .obj. Any advice?

Image
Windows 7 64-bit, Intel i7 3.6 GHz Quad Core, 32 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan 6 GB (render card)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 4 GB (render card)
NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 (display card)
Currently Running Poser Octane Plugin Version: 2.5.23
User avatar
dysfunctional
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:22 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Prop Renders Incorrectly in Octane

Postby Krew » Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:44 am

Krew Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:44 am
The first thing that came to mind when I saw that was to try unchecking the "smooth: Enabled" box and render again. Not sure if that's what it is, but I've had similar things like that which were caused by smoothing. :)
Windows 10 64bit | 2 x NVIDIA TITAN XP 12GB | Intel i7-6900K (8 core/16 thread) | 64Gb RAM | GeForce Driver 376.33 | PoserPro Game Dev 2014 SR4, 10.0.5.28925 | Poser Octane Plugin Version: 3.4.4.79 | HDR Light Studio 4.3.20131206.1249, Poser v1.0.3
Krew
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 2:45 am

Re: Prop Renders Incorrectly in Octane

Postby face_off » Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:05 pm

face_off Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:05 pm
It looks like either the normal on the triangle in the upper left is wrong, or the two triangles on the cover are not joined. Use deep_channel_kernel to check. Simple solution is to turn smoothing off for the cover material. Or you can export the prop, then re-import it and tick the "Fix Normals" (can't remember the exact name) checkbox.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14039
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:57 am [ UTC ]