Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Forums: Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Postby bpzen » Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:31 pm

bpzen Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:31 pm
Hi Paul

Never had this issue before in fact never had octane or poser crash before. Toady I tried to render using my 2 Gig Card (I have 2 cards 2 gig and 4 gig that i use simutanously sometimes) I am getting the followign error then poser exe crashes. I treid both 2012 and 2014 poser same results. I ahev a strange feeling it may be a hardware issu eas teh 4 gig card is workign stand alone fine.

I jsut installed the latest test build and see if it solves stuff.

The script is telling me total mammory req is 1130 meg abotu half the 2 gig cards capabilites

################################################################################
Started logging on 02.09.13 18:39:15
################################################################################

CUDA error 2 on device 0: The API was unable to allocate enough memory to perform the requested operation.
-> Failed to launch kernel (pt)
CUDA device 0: Path tracing failed
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Win 7 64bit, Titan 6 Gig and GTX770 4Gig, Intel 3.75GHZ, 24Gig RAM, Poser 2014 patched
bpzen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:44 am

Re: Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Postby bpzen » Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:42 pm

bpzen Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:42 pm
Scene

Total Num Texture Maps (rgb) : 35
Total Num Bump/Trans Maps (grayscale) : 34
Total Memory Required for Textures : 1109.3MB (assumes only LDR textures)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Win 7 64bit, Titan 6 Gig and GTX770 4Gig, Intel 3.75GHZ, 24Gig RAM, Poser 2014 patched
bpzen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:44 am

Re: Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Postby bpzen » Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:43 pm

bpzen Mon Sep 02, 2013 11:43 pm
updatd driver and octane test build still crashing 4 gig card works fine
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Win 7 64bit, Titan 6 Gig and GTX770 4Gig, Intel 3.75GHZ, 24Gig RAM, Poser 2014 patched
bpzen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:44 am

Re: Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Postby face_off » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:11 am

face_off Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:11 am
Hi

The cuda error indicates that one of the cards (the 2Gig card) is running out of memory. If you are also using the 2Gig card as your display adapter, then other things will be using up memory. You can switch off Window Aero, etc to save memory, but the easiest solution in this case is to just render with the 4Gig card.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14051
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Cuda Erroe and Poser crashing

Postby bpzen » Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:36 am

bpzen Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:36 am
yea, strange i use teh 4 gig as my os card, i think something is up with the 2 gig

BTW very nice - create emmiter from curent light! thanks
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Win 7 64bit, Titan 6 Gig and GTX770 4Gig, Intel 3.75GHZ, 24Gig RAM, Poser 2014 patched
bpzen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:44 am

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:43 am [ UTC ]