Poser Pro 2014 problems

Forums: Poser Pro 2014 problems
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Ben Sones » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:19 pm

Ben Sones Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:19 pm
Good idea--attached!

One other semi-random question: Is there some sort of SSS effect in the default material settings when you import Roxie into Octane? I know that Poser applies an SSS effect to her automatically in its native renderer, but I don't see an SSS medium node in any of the Octane materials. That said, it sure looks like there is some scattering going on in the render that I posted, above (note the hot shadows in the left nostril and along the neck and arms where they are hit by raking light).

I guess that could just be the texture reflecting onto itself, but if so, it makes for a pretty convincing skin effect.
Attachments
octaneplugin.zip
(3.76 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
Win 8 64-bit, GeForce GTX 560 Ti, Intel Core i5-2500K, 16 GB RAM, 314.22
Ben Sones
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:24 pm

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby wimvdb » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:56 pm

wimvdb Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:56 pm
SSS - Sub Surface Scatting works in a different way in Octane (and other render engines - all have their own implementation). How to achieve that and some presets which add SSS can be found in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=30867

Scattering has changed in the latest octane version, so you may need to soften the scattering a bit of the presets which are there
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Ben Sones » Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:12 pm

Ben Sones Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:12 pm
FWIW, I just uninstalled Poser and did a clean re-install of the application and all of the content, but it didn't fix the problem. Trying to change material node types or the kernel settings still instantly causes Poser to immediately crash. :(

Edit: HOWEVER! It seems that the crash is only caused by trying to change node settings manually via the drop-down boxes. I figured out how to "fool" it into letting me put SSS materials onto Roxie via this workaround:

1. Load both Roxie and Victoria 4 into the scene.

2. Import the Redspec 3.0 SSS materials onto V4. Altering materials via import does NOT cause Poser to crash.

3. Select one of the new SSS-enabled material nodes on Victoria, copy it, and then paste it onto Roxie, keeping her original textures.

4. Repeat.

It's kind of a pain, but it works. Obviously I'd still love to know what is going on with the crash issue, as I still have no way of changing the kernel settings, or of creating new materials on my own.
Win 8 64-bit, GeForce GTX 560 Ti, Intel Core i5-2500K, 16 GB RAM, 314.22
Ben Sones
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:24 pm

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby mlru » Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:48 pm

mlru Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:48 pm
Ben Sones wrote:One other fairly major problem that I am having is crashing when I change... well, a whole lot of things in the Octane settings and materials pane. For example, I can change the imager and environment settings with no issues (including importing new environment maps), but if I try to change the kernel to anything other than pathtracing, Poser immediately crashes, every time. Likewise, in the Materials panel, I can mess with the values on the default material nodes all I want, but if I try to change nodes (i.e. change a bumpmap node from float texture to marble), Poser immediately crashes, every time. This prevents me from making any major changes to the default materials, which is kind of a bummer.

Yup, same happens with me.
No matter, if there's a figure in the scene, or not.
Win8.1/64Bit | i7-950 | 12GB | GTX Titan 6GB | NVidia Driver 431.36 | Octane 4.05 | DAZ Studio 4.12 - Plugin 4.04
mlru
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:40 pm

face_off Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:40 pm
One other fairly major problem that I am having is crashing when I change... well, a whole lot of things in the Octane settings and materials pane. For example, I can change the imager and environment settings with no issues (including importing new environment maps), but if I try to change the kernel to anything other than pathtracing, Poser immediately crashes, every time. Likewise, in the Materials panel, I can mess with the values on the default material nodes all I want, but if I try to change nodes (i.e. change a bumpmap node from float texture to marble), Poser immediately crashes, every time. This prevents me from making any major changes to the default materials, which is kind of a bummer.

Does Poser give some sort of error when it crashes? If so, can you post a screenshot pls?

Are you using an on-board graphics card for your Windows display adapter? If so, is it the Intel HD 4000?

Is there some sort of SSS effect in the default material settings when you import Roxie into Octane? I know that Poser applies an SSS effect to her automatically in its native renderer, but I don't see an SSS medium node in any of the Octane materials. That said, it sure looks like there is some scattering going on in the render that I posted, above (note the hot shadows in the left nostril and along the neck and arms where they are hit by raking light).


It looks like there is some scattering, but it's just Octanes incredibly realistic lighting model. You can add some scattering (there is a blog entry at poserphysics.blogspot.com), but in general the default skin shader the plugin uses for skin is enough.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13850
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:31 pm

Iefke Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:31 pm
Paul,

Strangely this problem reappeared on my system too after a short time, very weird, guess i was lucky for some time.
Sometimes i can make a few changes and then again crashing.
I switched to using the Nvidia card alone and the problem also appears.
So the Intel HD4000 is not involved i guess.
Sorry for pushing things inadvertedly in the wrong direction.
The logs show no lines indicating anything wrong before or about the crash, i can post them i you like.
It is allways a Unhandled Exception Error (C0000000005) on the wxmsw291u_core_vc_custom.dll, 2 times in a row, then Poser closes.
I reverted to version 1.13u4 and this gives no problems.

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:03 am

Iefke Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:03 am
These are the entries in the Windows log about the crash:

The first time (sorry is in Dutch):
Code: Select all
Naam van toepassing met fout: PoserPro.exe, versie: 10.0.0.24941, tijdstempel: 0x5194a0b5
Naam van module met fout: wxmsw291u_core_vc_custom.dll, versie: 2.9.1.0, tijdstempel: 0x51949b7e
Uitzonderingscode: 0xc0000005
Foutmarge: 0x0000000000022abf
Id van proces met fout: 0x608
Starttijd van toepassing met fout: 0x01ce5e40dc062853
Pad naar toepassing met fout: C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2014\PoserPro.exe
Pad naar module met fout: C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2014\wxmsw291u_core_vc_custom.dll
Rapport-id: 38cb257b-ca34-11e2-bed1-902b34db36ca
Volledige pakketnaam met fout:
Relatieve toepassings-id v[i]an pakket met fout:


The second:

Code: Select all
Naam van toepassing met fout: PoserPro.exe, versie: 10.0.0.24941, tijdstempel: 0x5194a0b5
Naam van module met fout: wxmsw291u_core_vc_custom.dll, versie: 2.9.1.0, tijdstempel: 0x51949b7e
Uitzonderingscode: 0xc000041d
Foutmarge: 0x0000000000022abf
Id van proces met fout: 0x608
Starttijd van toepassing met fout: 0x01ce5e40dc062853
Pad naar toepassing met fout: C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2014\PoserPro.exe
Pad naar module met fout: C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2014\wxmsw291u_core_vc_custom.dll
Rapport-id: 3af6d87f-ca34-11e2-bed1-902b34db36ca
Volledige pakketnaam met fout:
Relatieve toepassings-id van pakket met fout:


This C0000005 seems a nasty bugger but Googling for these exceptions i found the same order in this page, maybe it is related?
http://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/499652/getting-0xc0000005-0xc000041d-exceptions-in-a-native-c-shell-extension-built-with-vs2010
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:14 am

face_off Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:14 am
Thanks Yvo.

Can I confirm - is it happening on PP2012 as well is PP2014?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13850
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby Iefke » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:21 am

Iefke Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:21 am
Yes Paul, i tested it again. I is happing in Poser 2012 too.

Yvo
Win8 64bit, GTX680, i7, 16G RAM,
Iefke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poser Pro 2014 problems

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:27 am

face_off Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:27 am
There was a similar issue with the Mac version of the plugin - caused by a bug in Poser's implementation of the wx.python tree (used by the Setting and Materials tree). I have applied to Mac fix to the Windows version of the plugin for you to try. Since I cannot reproduce the error - I cannot confirm that it will fix it - but worth a try.

http://render.otoy.com/customerdownload ... 20beta.exe

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13850
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:30 am [ UTC ]