Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Forums: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby ahhhchuen » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:29 am

ahhhchuen Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:29 am
Hi Paul,

I agreed with u. And thanks for your advance brief on Octane Revit workflow.

Since 3dsmax already interop with Revit very well in v2013 (e.g. sort object with material ID, with fbx technology in background), that's why I stressed Adsk material interop with Octane in Revit is very important.

Same for Navisworks, its very easy to sort imported Revit objects with material ID and reassign custom materials there.
ahhhchuen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby face_off » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:24 am

face_off Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:24 am
Same for Navisworks, its very easy to sort imported Revit objects with material ID and reassign custom materials there.

I'd be interested to hear you workflow for doing this pls. PM might be a better medium, since I don't want to go off-topic on this thread.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13502
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby huebner » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:35 pm

huebner Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:35 pm
does anybody know how to get revit models in octane or c4d?
i just neet the model in octane devided by materials.

my workflow is horrible: revit-->fbx export-->max-->3ds export-->cinema4d-->export with raptide-->octane

the stupid thing is that some of the materials are seperated correctly others are not, and i just don't know why!!!???
octaneritter equipped with 2 x gtx 680
User avatar
huebner
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:38 am
Location: Zürich, Schweiz

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby face_off » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:26 pm

face_off Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:26 pm
does anybody know how to get revit models in octane or c4d?
i just neet the model in octane devided by materials.

my workflow is horrible: revit-->fbx export-->max-->3ds export-->cinema4d-->export with raptide-->octane

the stupid thing is that some of the materials are seperated correctly others are not, and i just don't know why!!!???

I think your workflow is as good as it gets with Revit. My understanding is that 3ds is the only app capable of reading the Revit materials from the Autodesk shared materials library, so Revit->FBX->3ds is an essential step in the process.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13502
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby ahhhchuen » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:01 am

ahhhchuen Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:01 am
Hi Paul,

After import/link Revit into Navisworks, in properties tab within the selection window (usually in the left pane), select by Revit Material -> Name -> [your own choice, multiple selection is possible]. You can then assign any Navisworks material into your selection.

Simple enough?
ahhhchuen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby ahhhchuen » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:07 am

ahhhchuen Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:07 am
Hi huebner,

Use 2013 versions, use link Revit within 3dsmax with sort by material options, then assign your 3ds material, export obj, then import into octane.

or

Sort your Revit view with material assignment and export to other format in separate packages using Revit's scheduling function. More manual work, but more control.

I have no experience with c4d
ahhhchuen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby face_off » Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:44 am

face_off Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:44 am
After import/link Revit into Navisworks, in properties tab within the selection window (usually in the left pane), select by Revit Material -> Name -> [your own choice, multiple selection is possible]. You can then assign any Navisworks material into your selection.

Simple enough?

TY - I understand your workflow now. The material attributes are very basic (no texturemap filenames, texturemap scaling, etc), but they could be used to feed an Octane plugin material conversion process. The material conversion from within the Revit plugin will give a better result, since it can pick up more material attributes.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13502
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby huebner » Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:24 pm

huebner Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:24 pm
thx!
octaneritter equipped with 2 x gtx 680
User avatar
huebner
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:38 am
Location: Zürich, Schweiz

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby nrygpu » Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:30 am

nrygpu Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:30 am
When will a beta version of this Revit plugin be available?
nrygpu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby didierA » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:09 am

didierA Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:09 am
Many architects like me are waiting impatiently for this plug-in!
Please work quickly, we are behind you! :D
Revit user.
didierA
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:12 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Mon Oct 21, 2019 8:12 pm [ UTC ]