Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Forums: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby [gk] » Sun Apr 11, 2010 5:50 pm

[gk] Sun Apr 11, 2010 5:50 pm
Hi,
Made a small quick video on how you can port your camera from your host application to octane.
you can check out the video here ->
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPK9me7RFzs

I just forgot to mention that the FOV needs to be brought over as well, but as this isnt rocket science, it should be logic.
Im pritty sure the pixel shift I get is due large number converstion, either way im sure you will get it right - and I will as well when the day comes where I need a 100% predictable non-eyeballing camera fit :)

-mads
Amiga 1000 with 2mb memory card
User avatar
[gk]
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby pedrofelipe » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:32 pm

pedrofelipe Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:32 pm
great stuff! Actually if radiance give us some flags like position XYZ camera and target on the exe via command line I could write a simple maxscript that would 'export' the camera position.

Quite easy to do it on my end. Not sure in Rad's end.

Pedro
User avatar
pedrofelipe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby [gk] » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:31 pm

[gk] Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:31 pm
every time i see your nick I think it reads pedo-file....lol
anyways, Ive made a few scripts on that account as well that should work fine.
Amiga 1000 with 2mb memory card
User avatar
[gk]
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby [gk] » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:08 pm

[gk] Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:08 pm
also, you can make a script and control octane inside 3dsmax for the rendering parts, camera and all that..
starting octane from within max etc..
Amiga 1000 with 2mb memory card
User avatar
[gk]
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby pedrofelipe » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:11 am

pedrofelipe Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:11 am
[gk] wrote:also, you can make a script and control octane inside 3dsmax for the rendering parts, camera and all that..
starting octane from within max etc..


that would actually make a lot of sense to me. Like Maxwell was back on a day... you work work work in max, change all the settings on a max interface and shot it to Octane only for render. It would be even better if you could change parameters in Octane and they would update in max... wow what a dream on!

let's see if Rad give us enough flags to play on!
User avatar
pedrofelipe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby [gk] » Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:45 am

[gk] Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:45 am
yes you can get max to update when you save in octane, realtime updates? no.
You can stick a listener on the ocs files for changes and update max accordingly...
Amiga 1000 with 2mb memory card
User avatar
[gk]
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby pedrofelipe » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:59 am

pedrofelipe Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:59 am
[gk] wrote:yes you can get max to update when you save in octane, realtime updates? no.
You can stick a listener on the ocs files for changes and update max accordingly...

That's a good ideia!

Are u a scripter? maybe we can work together in a sort of plugin.
User avatar
pedrofelipe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Video tutorial - Sync host app camera to Octane

Postby deshu » Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:38 pm

deshu Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:38 pm
any chance to see that video?
deshu
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:25 pm

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:39 pm [ UTC ]