Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Forums: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry
NUKE Integrated Plugin

Moderator: face_off

Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby sKwVen4626 » Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:41 am

sKwVen4626 Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:41 am
Imported orbx file generated from C4D R19 into Nuke

Everything is looking fine. However when I click 'Import Geometry' to get geometry into Nuke to see in 3D it throws an error

OctaneRender for Nuke error

Cannot unpack package ......
sKwVen4626
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:40 am

face_off Tue Dec 10, 2019 1:40 am
Hi - are you able to send me the ORBX please?

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14280
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby sKwVen4626 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:44 am

sKwVen4626 Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:44 am
How do I upload the orbx file. It is 1gb
sKwVen4626
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:45 am

face_off Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:45 am
sKwVen4626 wrote:How do I upload the orbx file. It is 1gb

Can you try to reproduce the error with a smaller .ORBX file please, and then upload that smaller file.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14280
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby sKwVen4626 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:07 am

sKwVen4626 Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:07 am
here goes
Attachments
2019-12-09_20-05-30.jpg
cave.orbx
(32.32 MiB) Downloaded 51 times
sKwVen4626
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:54 am

face_off Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:54 am
Hi. This function loads an actual .obj file into the Nuke scene for visualisation purposes. However the .ORBX format has these assets packed inside the ORBX file, and they are not actual files on your filesystem. I will see if I can enhance this function in the next release to extract the .OBJ files from the ORBX prior to loading them into the Nuke scene. In the meantime, you can load your ORBX into Octane Standalone, the File->Unpack Package, then manually load the .OBJ files into Nuke.

I hope that helps.

EDIT: "I will see if I can enhance this function in the next release to extract the .OBJ files from the ORBX prior to loading them into the Nuke scene." - this is not so simple, as unpacking the assets would change the Octane Scene in the plugin, which may have undesirable consequences. I think a better option might be to add a button called "Unpack Octane Scene Assets" which copies the assets from the ORBX onto your file system. I will investigate this option.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14280
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby sKwVen4626 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 7:05 am

sKwVen4626 Tue Dec 10, 2019 7:05 am
Thanks Paul for looking into it.

Curious, does loading manually into Nuke via unpacking (using Octane Standalone) or loading original OBJ file will result being in right coordinates (as in original Octane scene) ?

I understand this is only for visualization purpose only. I am trying to add additional assets in Nuke hence OBJ at right coordinates helps me else need to spend little bit more time.

Will check your suggestion and reply back here.
sKwVen4626
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:14 am

face_off Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:14 am
Curious, does loading manually into Nuke via unpacking (using Octane Standalone) or loading original OBJ file will result being in right coordinates (as in original Octane scene) ?
Good question. And I don't know the answer - sorry. A simpler solution might be to save the scene from C4D as .OCS rather than .ORBX (if that is possible), since that will stop the assets being packed into an ORBX file.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14280
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby sKwVen4626 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:12 pm

sKwVen4626 Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:12 pm
I have used Octane Standalone to unpack ORBX which generated OCS and assets. I loaded OCS into Nuke and then did 'Import Geometry'. This brought all geometry into Nuke 3D at right coordinates. This is good until you get to do this directly from ORBX.

Is there any difference between ORBX and OCS other than packing assets etc ?

When I used Standalone OCS option in C4D it got only current frame. However unpacking via Octane Standalone got me animation .

Thanks for the help.
sKwVen4626
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Re: Nukex 12.0v2 - Octane plugin error while Import Geometry

Postby face_off » Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:40 am

face_off Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:40 am
I can't test with with the scene you sent me, as it doesn't contain an animation, however try this solution ....

Export ORBX from C4D
Open ORBX in Octane Standalone
File->Save As .....filename.OCS (this seems to unpack the assets)
Import the OCS into the Nuke plugin.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14280
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to NUKE


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Dec 01, 2020 6:08 pm [ UTC ]