Proxies

Forums: Proxies
Sub forum for feature requests etc

Moderator: aoktar

Proxies

Postby Felix12345 » Tue May 21, 2019 7:38 am

Felix12345 Tue May 21, 2019 7:38 am
Hi,

i'd love to have render time Proxies via the Octane Object Tag/Octane Scatter System.
For example: if you put a Octane object tag on an emitter, enable render as particle, drop an object into it, you can render insanely high poly objects and ALOT of them

this is also possible with octane scatter, but only for objects to scatter on.

now if i want to use a cloner, sim something, for example i sim with some balls, that roughly represent my final high poly model, i want to be able to assign an object tag to the sim-ball, and in the object tag tell octane to just replace the object with my high poly object.

why?

because the swap of geometry in octane is WAY more performant then doing anything with geometry swapping in c4d.

would be very nice to see this integrated.

regards,

raphael
Felix12345
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:09 pm

Re: Proxies

Postby Affari » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:59 am

Affari Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:59 am
Agreed, came here to request the same thing!

Doing an animation with high poly cad file, modeled a low poly cage and animating that would be nice to swap it out for render even without using cloner just object proxy instances via tag.
Windows 10 Home // Octane Version 3.05.3 // Nvidia Driver 378.66 // Cinema 4D R18 Plugin 3.05.3

Asus X99-E WS // Intel Core i7-6800k // 2x 12GB NVIDIA TITAN X (PASCAL) // Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 32GB
Affari
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:54 pm

Re: Proxies

Postby aoktar » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:45 am

aoktar Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:45 am
No sense on this request! Where did you see proxies in Octane? It has not any render level proxy system
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13516
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Proxies

Postby SSmolak » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:43 am

SSmolak Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:43 am
Probably sense is that every other render engine has proxies :) But this request should be for Standalone...
---------------------------------------
Architectural Visualizations
www.atlantis-arts.com
User avatar
SSmolak
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:41 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Proxies

Postby aoktar » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:49 am

aoktar Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:49 am
SSmolak wrote:Probably sense is that every other render engine has proxies :) But this request should be for Standalone...

Yes! No sense for doing this request here.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13516
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Return to User requests


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:34 pm [ UTC ]