Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Forums: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:04 pm

coilbook Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:04 pm
Hi I attached the scene Please render it with network slaves. The scene is only 1-2 Gb and net updating takes forever. The problem is Phoenix FD Ocean. Not sure why but master loads the scene in 5 seconds slaves takes 10-15 min. So by the time master finishes rendering one frame slavesdont even have time to do net updating but the scene is only 2 Gb There is something with wrong with phoenix ocean/liquids and slave load times.

if you can render Camera 06 frames 1375 - 1500 or open octane viewport you will see how slow slaves update

Thanks

we used phoenix 3.04.02 and octane 3ds max 3.07
Attachments
slave phoenix bug.zip
(471.79 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
network update.jpg
Last edited by coilbook on Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:28 pm

coilbook Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:28 pm
I also want to add when you open octane viewport move a time slider 1 frame then go to Phoenix Fd> Rendering tab > change ocean subdivision to 0.2 it will create ocean as mesh with about 7 mil polys you can actually see dense mesh in viewport. But it is only 7 mil poliy why it takes slaves 15 min to update? It is just a dense displaced plane that changes shape every frame. And it crashes slaves all the time

Also if you uncheck Pure Ocean in the rendering tab (to hide the ocean) and reopen octane viewport you will see how much faster slaves update
Attachments
ocean sub levels.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:51 pm

coilbook Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:51 pm
Ok after lots of test it looks like the 4th slave slows down the network. When this slave is enabled our render time goes to 7 minutes with net updating very slow and it only happens with phoenix ocean. After this MASTER PC must be restarted and that slave must be disabled (having 3 out 4 slaves left) and then render time goes to 3 min. Other scenes work fine with that 4th slave slave. I am not sure how this slave messes up net updating/local network so bad with phoenix ocean that master PC must be restarted. Can you still check on your end? I am out of ideas how to fix it. All these mysterious software bugs noone know how to fix :?:
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby paride4331 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:28 am

paride4331 Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:28 am
Hi Coilbook,
are your slave working on x99 Asus motherboard and Windows 10?
I do not know if it depends on it but some users report malfunctions with the multiple GPUs (fourth video card in this case) on board using windows 10 and Asus and drivers update.
Try to instal 381.65 Nvidia drivers making a clean installation using DDU unistaller
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.htmltool
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66120&p=334078&hilit=Watchdog+Violation#p335736
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:28 pm

coilbook Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:28 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Coilbook,
are your slave working on x99 Asus motherboard and Windows 10?
I do not know if it depends on it but some users report malfunctions with the multiple GPUs (fourth video card in this case) on board using windows 10 and Asus and drivers update.
Try to instal 381.65 Nvidia drivers making a clean installation using DDU unistaller
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.htmltool
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66120&p=334078&hilit=Watchdog+Violation#p335736
Regards
Paride



Thank you Paride.
2 of my slaves actually had windows 7 that gave me the most problems. After completely formatting and installing windows 10 it looks like it solved the problem. The craziest part, the problem only happened with Phoenix Ocean and net update. Other scenes worked fine. Not sure if it has anything to do with data transfer of displaced mesh or because master has windows 10 and slaves had windows 7.

Thank you
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:45 am

paride4331 Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:45 am
Hi coilbook,
I think your issue depends on windows 10 (on slave) eats around 20% your Vram, so your master (windows 7) has more Vram available than your slave.
This makes your slave crashes with your heavy displaced mesh.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:45 am

paride4331 Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:45 am
Hi coilbook,
I think your issue depends on windows 10 (on slave) eats around 20% your Vram, so your master (windows 7) has more Vram available than your slave.
This makes your slave crashes with your heavy displaced mesh sent from master.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:22 pm

coilbook Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:22 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
I think your issue depends on windows 10 (on slave) eats around 20% your Vram, so your master (windows 7) has more Vram available than your slave.
This makes your slave crashes with your heavy displaced mesh sent from master.
Regards
Paride

HI Paride,
even if scene uses only 2 Gb of vram and all of our cards have at least 6.5gb available even when windows 10 uses 20% more of vram? Is there like initial spike in vram usage when scene is sent off top slaves?
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby paride4331 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:53 am

paride4331 Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:53 am
Hi coilbook,
displacement operation could require more RAM than the available one.
even more with out-core enable. has that slave less Ram than the others?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2959
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Phoenix Ocean and Slave net updating times

Postby coilbook » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:52 pm

coilbook Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:52 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
displacement operation could require more RAM than the available one.
even more with out-core enable. has that slave less Ram than the others?
Regards
Paride

Thanks Paride,
master has 128 Gb of ram slaves 64gb
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
Next

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon May 25, 2020 1:00 am [ UTC ]