Problem with hiding light emitters

Forums: Problem with hiding light emitters
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby Philipp1980 » Thu May 04, 2017 9:54 am

Philipp1980 Thu May 04, 2017 9:54 am
Hi everyone,

I’ve got a problem working with light sources. I already contacted OTOY and they confirmed an issue on their side but I really need a workaround and I also want to know if there’s someone else with the problem.
I am working on a night scene where I placed lights along the path. I created faces next to lights who do the “hard light work”. I created a diffuse material with a black body emission and set the material’s opacity to 0 to hide the light source. I use the same procedure for my interior scenes with lightning planes in front of the windows and for creating light inside buildings for night scenes. It used to work fine in V2, now it creates a bunch of errors and I don’t find a good workaround.

I’ll show you in pictures:

Pic 001: Here you can see the light sources as the material’s opacity is set to 1.

Pic 002: On this pic the light sources are hidden by material’s opacity set to 0. Now you can see the light intensity decreases considerably and the spot on the ground directly under the surfaces is dark as if the surfaces would cast a shadow.
How can I solve this?


Also I attached 3 more pictures with another example:

Pic 003: Lights are working good here. Material opacity is set to 1 so you can see the light sources. Power of the light is 40.

Pic 004: Also power 40 but material opacity set to 0 to hide the light sources --> You can see that the light intensity is now so low that you don’t even see the light.

Pic 005: Opacity is still set to 0. I increased the light power to 1000 to see if the lights still work. They do but now they create a lot of hot pixels.

I noticed that it works without problems on a small surface. But if the light surface increases, the error starts to occur.

OTOY’s support suggested to hide the light sources via Object Layer ID but that creates the same error for me plus if I choose “hide from camera” the surfaces appear in pure black… Also that won’t work for my upper example because the light sources are attached to the lamps (otherwise I would have to place them separately above every lamp).

Is there anyone else with the problem? How are you working around that?


I have 3 customer scenes at the moment with need of light sources and I am a bit desperate right now… :cry:

Greetings,
Philipp

Additional infos:
A. Operating System, Windows 10, 64bit
B. 2x Titan X + 1x GTX 780
C. RAM Capacity: 32GB
D. Nvidia driver version: 378.66
E. OctaneRender Standalone version: 3.06
F. OctaneRender plugin version: 3.06-4.33
G. Host application version: 3ds max 2017, Built 19
Attachments
001 opacity 1.jpg
002 opacity 0.jpg
003 Pic1_opacity 1,0 power40.jpg
004 Pic2_opacity 0,0 power40.jpg
005 Pic3_opacity 1,0 power1000.jpg
Last edited by Philipp1980 on Thu May 04, 2017 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Philipp1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby paride4331 » Thu May 04, 2017 12:20 pm

paride4331 Thu May 04, 2017 12:20 pm
Hi Philipp1980,
My advice is to use geometries with emitter (black body emission) instead of OctaneLights.
I did this test with 4.33 and everything seems to work properly.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
01.jpg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby Philipp1980 » Thu May 04, 2017 1:12 pm

Philipp1980 Thu May 04, 2017 1:12 pm
Hi Paride,

thank you for your answer but all of my lights already are geometry with black body emission. I am not working with Octane lights... :|

Greetings
Philipp1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby HHbomb » Thu May 04, 2017 1:19 pm

HHbomb Thu May 04, 2017 1:19 pm
@Philipp1980
for emitters, do you use one mesh, or multiple one ?
Try to use as possible one mesh for all the emitters of the same type. I explain myself : if you have 100 emitting planes, merge them in one mesh. Try it and tell me if I'm wrong :-)
| seven 64 | i7 5930K + titanX + 1050 for video | i7 3970 + 4 x titan | i7 5960 + 4 x titanX | 3dsmax 2018 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby Philipp1980 » Thu May 04, 2017 1:30 pm

Philipp1980 Thu May 04, 2017 1:30 pm
Hi HHbomb,

I already tried this but I tested it in the scene with the lights again after your suggestion. Unfortunately the error remains the same :(
Philipp1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby paride4331 » Thu May 04, 2017 1:58 pm

paride4331 Thu May 04, 2017 1:58 pm
Hi philips1980,
I think your file has an issue.
Open the attached file and see if it works properly.
Then, merge your scene into that.
Merge geometries and cameras only.
Do not forget scale units.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
lux2.rar
(23.09 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby Philipp1980 » Thu May 04, 2017 2:28 pm

Philipp1980 Thu May 04, 2017 2:28 pm
Hi Paride,

thank you for sending the scene. I tested it. It worked although the opacity of your materials was set to 1 and the error only occurs if the opacity is set to 0 and the scene was simple with small small light sources.

As you suggested, I imported my geometry and camera from my scene (tested with both scenes I posted pictures from) and the error still occured.

The OTOY team already confirmed it to be a bug (I sent them a test scene). This is what they told me: "After several tests, we have found out that this was a bug which was introduced when we start implementing CUDA 8 and
our Core developer has confirmed that the bug has been resolved in our latest Standalone Engine 3.06, not the 3.06 test versions."

But I don't know how long it will take to fix it (still waiting for answer) and I am working on the night scenes now :( Is there anyone else with big night scenes and many and big light sources who can confirm the issue?
Philipp1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Problem with hiding light emitters

Postby paride4331 » Fri May 05, 2017 12:35 pm

paride4331 Fri May 05, 2017 12:35 pm
Hi philipp1980,
I think the issue you reported is not related to the emitters but with the istances.
The way to end your render could be to export to Orbx and then finish lighting in Octane SA 3.06
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:13 am [ UTC ]