NUKE Plugin - progress update

Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby win » Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:27 am

NUKE plugin - progress update with video

The OctaneRender for Nuke plugin is well progressed, so we have posted a video showing the work to date (please excuse the sound quality).



The main features of the plugin are:

- Rendering of an imported OCS or ORBX file exported from one of the other Octane plugins, or from Octane Standalone. This includes rendering of the correct form from the ORBX/OCS (where there is an alembic animation in the ORBX/OCS).

- Rendering of all the passes available in Octane 2.10. These passes can be used as you would use any pass from a multi-layer EXR/PNG in Nuke. Info passes are rendered prior to beauty passes.

- Rendering of the Nuke 3d scene (ie. replacement of the Nuke Scanline renderer node). There is an addition Nuke node for Octane materials, which can be plugged into the Nuke 3d scene object so that the Octane material for that geometry can be assigned. Geometry can be subdivided using the existing Octane subd features.

- Tracking of the Nuke camera - plug the Nuke camera node into the Octane Render node, and the Octane camera position will be synchronized to the Nuke camera (incl for animations)

- Rendering animations - this is still be to worked out, since each frame of the animation will need to be rendered in the Octane node to when the Max Samples are reached. Most probably this will be implemented by having the Octane node manage the rendering of the animation, rather than using the Nuke "Render All" function.

- There may be an option to edit the Octane materials from an imported OCS/ORBX, and in particular assign a Nuke image sequence to an Octane Image node. The viability of this is still to be determined.

- There will be a limit of one OctaneRender node in Nuke at any one time, since having multiple Octane scenes rendering simultaneous may cause issues.

- A python interface is being considered, so that Octane nodes from the imported OCS/ORBX can be queried and edited via python. The viability of this is still to be determined.

We welcome feedback for other features that will be useful additions to the plugin.
win
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:51 am

hi,
Very interesting preview, thanks for sharing win ;)
ciao beppe
ciao beppe
MacPro 2x2,26 Ghz / 16GB Ram / GTX 120 + GTX 970 / OsX 10.11.6
+ MSI Z77A-GD65 / 3570K 3.4 Ghz / 16 GB ram / Quadro K620 + 2x GTX 780 / Win 7 64 bit / nvidia 335.23
OctaneRender™ Italia
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 4565
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby ten » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:13 am

Looking good, Paul.

Will there be a way to link direct from 3d app with octane to nuke without exporting first? So I have c4d running with Octane and open same file in nuke, and I can make changes in c4d that are updated in nuke? Kind of like the c4d > ae cineware.

ten
( PC ) i7 5960x octal 4.5ghz / 64GB / 2x Titan X 12GB / 1x 780 6GB - ( Laptop ) i7 4790k 4ghz / 32GB / 980M 8GB - Octane CD4 2.x / C4DR16.x / win 8.x
ten
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:43 am
Location: England

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby face_off » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:13 pm

Will there be a way to link direct from 3d app with octane to nuke without exporting first? So I have c4d running with Octane and open same file in nuke, and I can make changes in c4d that are updated in nuke? Kind of like the c4d > ae cineware.
Is it not currently possible - but a great idea. I will investigate.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11538
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby nuverian » Sun Oct 12, 2014 2:09 pm

Look great. It will be awesome :)
Also the feature requested above (cineware like) would be great, considering there is nothing else "like" cineware for those who prefer Nuke over AE and truth be told, it's a great workflow.
Regardless, can't wait for it. Keep us posted!

Cheers
http://www.nuverian.net
nuverian.deviantart.com
---
i7 920 2.66, 6G RAM, GTX 660 Ti, Win7 64x.
User avatar
nuverian
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby virtualzapp » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:31 am

Very very promising.
Hopefully a Mac version will be available ;o)



Cheers
Regis
VFX compositor / CG generalist

Mac Pro 12C 2.93GHz, 64gb ram, 1xGTX Titan X, 4xGTX Titans in Cubix
virtualzapp
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:44 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:36 am

Below is a video showing the current version of the plugin in action...



Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11538
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby face_off » Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:12 am

Another video showing the plugin in action - this one detailing how the scanline render placement works.

Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11538
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby face_off » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:23 am

Another plugin update....

Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11538
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NUKE Plugin - progress update

Postby abstrax » Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:48 pm

face_off wrote:Another plugin update....

Looks pretty good to me. Thanks a lot for your work!
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:30 am [ UTC ]