OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [OBSOLETE]
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [OBSOLETE]

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 5:20 am

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 5:20 am
This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender for Poser, build 1.16a (TEST RELEASE). This version is compiled against Octane 1.16, so see the requirements for that build regarding compatibility with your video card.

This version runs on Poser9/PoserPro2012 and Poser10/PoserPro2014, on Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8.

If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- 32 or 64 bit
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- Poser version (Poser -> Help -> About Poser) - list the build number (eg. 9.0.3.23027)
- OctaneRender for Plugin version (ie. X.XXa)
- Also have ready a copy of the octaneplugin.log and cuda.log file from your Poser temp direction (Poser -> Edit -> General Preferences -> Misc tab to find the temp directory)

Change Log from release 1.14a
- Compiled against Octane 1.16 (improved bump mapping, SSS bug fixed, see general 1.16 forum thread for other details)
- Fixed python exception resulting from Importing a material

Known Issues
None

If you have questions....
- Read the latest up-to-date on-line manual
- Read the PDF manual (pdf manual is installed into C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\[poser version]\Documentation)
- Read the FAQ
- Watch the Features Video
- Read the Features Blog Posting
- Watch the Introductory Tutorial
- Check the Facebook Page
- Post your question on this forum thread

Troubleshooting
- GUI issues (lock-up/crash) on large scenes (ie. 4million polys) - potentially due to the Windows Vista/7 "Timeout Detection and Recovery" http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/gg487368.aspx[url][/url]. Settings can be changed using Regedit. The recommended setting for Octane are registry setting HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers, TdrLevel = 3, TdrDelay =10 (if these settings are not already there, rightclick the right panel -> New -> DWORD). You will need to reboot after changing these settings. NOTE: This issue can also be solved by using a Low Render Priority if using a single graphics card.

Limitations
Refer to the on-line manual

Download the plugin HERE

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:59 am, edited 5 times in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.14a [TEST]

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 5:22 am

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 5:22 am
Fixed SSS!
Attachments
1.16 sss.png
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby RGUS » Fri May 24, 2013 5:57 am

RGUS Fri May 24, 2013 5:57 am
Man there's so major updates happening... all I have to do now is fine where to download Octane 1.16... not easy getting around this board.
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 436.02
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.383 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 6:16 am

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 6:16 am
You don't need Octane 1.16 Standalone installed.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 6:27 am

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 6:27 am
I need to check - but I suspect the old bump power settings the plugin was using for skin will now be too high. Will be interested to hear peoples thoughts on what the right bump amount should be now.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby ch0pper » Fri May 24, 2013 10:02 am

ch0pper Fri May 24, 2013 10:02 am
just to confirm that the gfx card bug has been fixed and works fine.

thank you
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby ch0pper » Fri May 24, 2013 6:13 pm

ch0pper Fri May 24, 2013 6:13 pm
New bug found

To replicate this error you will need to have the octane render viewport opening whilst rendering.


Click on the picture to export a screen dump of your render whilst rendering.

It seems to crash the viewport by saying not responding for extremely long times of periods .

You are fine. If you pause the viewport rendering, then export your picture

Anyway, not a massive bug but still annoying.
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby Witpapier » Fri May 24, 2013 9:34 pm

Witpapier Fri May 24, 2013 9:34 pm
Hi there Paul. I see that when i export a material preset for V4 and import it again I lose all the custom bump strengths, they default back to .05. is there a way i can have it stay at the amounts I prefer. since it takes quite some time changing all of it again.
RedSpec TGX for Poser / OctaneRender - OUT NOW visit http://redspec-sss.com/
Witpapier
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby KleanZlate » Fri May 24, 2013 9:52 pm

KleanZlate Fri May 24, 2013 9:52 pm
Subdivision for Genesis doesn't work at all in this version. (I'm still using Poser Pro 2012)
Windows 8 64bit, Intel Xeon 3.4 GHz x2, 10GB RAM, GTX 660 Ti 2GB, Poser Pro 2012 SR 3.1
KleanZlate
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:30 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Poser beta WIN - build 1.16a [TEST]

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 10:15 pm

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 10:15 pm
It seems to crash the viewport by saying not responding for extremely long times of periods .

This is happening when the viewport is updating at the exact same time as you are trying to save. I will fix this.

I also found a minor issue with pasting a material into material1 or material2 of a material mix.

I'll check out the other issues too.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Next

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:31 am [ UTC ]