OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Sep 09, 2020 3:10 am

face_off Wed Sep 09, 2020 3:10 am
I have refreshed the installers at the top of this thread with:

2020.1.5.55
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1.5
- NOTE: Octane 2020.1.5 contains a bug fix which may resolve a crash that was happening with the DAZStudio plugin
- NOTE: I am still in discussions with DAZStudio as to why the DAZStudio beta will not shutdown if the Octane plugin is installed. Please see https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/comment/5947971 for details. Unfortunately it appears at this stage to be a bug in DAZStudio which DAZ3d would need to resolve.

Make sure to use a NVIDIA Studio driver with version at least 451 to use this version.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tugpsx » Sun Sep 13, 2020 12:20 am

Tugpsx Sun Sep 13, 2020 12:20 am
Thanks for the update.
Dell Win Vista 32 | NVIDIA Quadro NVS135M | Core2 Duo T7500 2.20GHz | 4GB
CyberPowerPC Win 7 64| NVIDIA GTX660Ti (3G) GTX480(1.5G) | 16GB
Tugpsx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:04 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Hun73rdk_1 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:16 am

Hun73rdk_1 Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:16 am
So i do not need to bang my head in the keyboard anymore over daz not shutting down when Octane is active.
no need to try and reinstall and disable all other plugins i can see that makes me happy its not my install that is at fault keep up the good work
Hun73rdk_1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Banti » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:52 am

Banti Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:52 am
Hun73rdk_1 wrote:So i do not need to bang my head in the keyboard anymore over daz not shutting down when Octane is active.
no need to try and reinstall and disable all other plugins i can see that makes me happy its not my install that is at fault keep up the good work

Well this is DAZ-sided bug and isnt fixed yet if i read face_off's post correctly.

Also i am having an issue where when i hit final render, then save the render and close the viewport, the octane plugin/pane is disabled and i have to make a new scene or restart DAZ. I am not sure if this is a new problem or not tho.
Banti
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:05 am

face_off Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:05 am
Also i am having an issue where when i hit final render, then save the render and close the viewport, the octane plugin/pane is disabled and i have to make a new scene or restart DAZ. I am not sure if this is a new problem or not tho.
I was not aware of this issue. I will add it to the TODO list.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tugpsx » Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:29 am

Tugpsx Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:29 am
Banti wrote:
Hun73rdk_1 wrote:So i do not need to bang my head in the keyboard anymore over daz not shutting down when Octane is active.
no need to try and reinstall and disable all other plugins i can see that makes me happy its not my install that is at fault keep up the good work

Well this is DAZ-sided bug and isnt fixed yet if i read face_off's post correctly.

Also i am having an issue where when i hit final render, then save the render and close the viewport, the octane plugin/pane is disabled and i have to make a new scene or restart DAZ. I am not sure if this is a new problem or not tho.



Simply add the following to a batch file that sits on you desktop to quickly kill the DAZ task

Code: Select all
taskkill /F /IM DAZStudio.exe
Dell Win Vista 32 | NVIDIA Quadro NVS135M | Core2 Duo T7500 2.20GHz | 4GB
CyberPowerPC Win 7 64| NVIDIA GTX660Ti (3G) GTX480(1.5G) | 16GB
Tugpsx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:04 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby SparkieShock » Sat Oct 03, 2020 9:11 pm

SparkieShock Sat Oct 03, 2020 9:11 pm
Hi .. just been trying out the new 2020 Prime version on my Alienware Laptop (R3) with Titan X in a Graphics Amp.

Here's a big I found.

For some reason the GPU is still running at full throttle once render is done. Not exactly sure what it's doing but the temp reported by system is at 82 degrees with the fans spinning on full. Now I realize that the graphics amp kinds throws a monkey wrench in the works but the GPU 'not shutting down after finishing it's render' problem didn't happen with any other version of DAZ octane .. not the paid version (4) .. or the prime version .. so this is a 2020 version problem.

Just thought you should know.
Win 10 Home Edition - Intel i7 5960X - X99 Deluxe II MB - 64GB's GSKILL 3600 RAM - 2x TITAN X (Maxwell) - 1600 Watt Power
DAZ3D - BLENDER - OCTANE STANDALONE and PLUGIN FOR DAZ - OCTANE PRIME for DAZ
User avatar
SparkieShock
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:09 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sun Oct 04, 2020 7:29 am

face_off Sun Oct 04, 2020 7:29 am
For some reason the GPU is still running at full throttle once render is done. Not exactly sure what it's doing but the temp reported by system is at 82 degrees with the fans spinning on full. Now I realize that the graphics amp kinds throws a monkey wrench in the works but the GPU 'not shutting down after finishing it's render' problem didn't happen with any other version of DAZ octane .. not the paid version (4) .. or the prime version .. so this is a 2020 version problem.
I just tested this and it did not happen for me. Once the render completed, the GPU Core Clock and GPU Memory Clock stopped, and the GPU Load went to 0%. I used GPU-Z to check this.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14231
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby SparkieShock » Wed Oct 07, 2020 4:14 am

SparkieShock Wed Oct 07, 2020 4:14 am
Well .. it ain't shutting down for me. And this could well be a bug for people with external mounted GPU's.
Win 10 Home Edition - Intel i7 5960X - X99 Deluxe II MB - 64GB's GSKILL 3600 RAM - 2x TITAN X (Maxwell) - 1600 Watt Power
DAZ3D - BLENDER - OCTANE STANDALONE and PLUGIN FOR DAZ - OCTANE PRIME for DAZ
User avatar
SparkieShock
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:09 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby valzheimer » Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:26 pm

valzheimer Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:26 pm
SparkieShock wrote:Well .. it ain't shutting down for me. And this could well be a bug for people with external mounted GPU's.


Can you check if Daz Studio is using the GPU power here as it has been reported that DS keeps an empty instance running after closing the Studio that needs to be manually killed from the task manager? I've had this lag ever since OcDs version 4, Paul has addressed the issue earlier in this thread and it's been said the error is at Daz end (there's a thread at Daz as well about it, includes OcDs and some more things not closing down properly), although it doesn't happen to me once the plugin is disabled.
User avatar
valzheimer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:27 pm
Location: Houston, TX
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:17 pm [ UTC ]