Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Forums: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:07 pm

Lewis Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:07 pm
Hi,

I wonder did anyone noticed that Octane is giving wrong results on ALPHA channel for Glass/specular materials. It's completely white if you use Keep environment option (and it shouldn't be that way) and half broken if is keep environment off.

Please check this and FIX is.

I've included scene for LW, LW+octane and Octane orbx for standalone so anyone can check.
and there is video showing the problem.

Thanks
Attachments
HDRI_Alpha.rar
(49.82 MiB) Downloaded 20 times
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby juanjgon » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 pm

juanjgon Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 pm
Hi,

Yes, it seems that the alpha channel in the specular material is broken when the keep environment option is enabled. We'll take a look at it.

Thanks!
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6961
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:03 pm

Lewis Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:03 pm
More update.

I found when it worked.
It seems that it worked on octane 3.06 <----> 3.08.5 just fine so it got broken sometime in 4.x so it continued to be broken in 4.0x and 2018.x (i tested there also, same issue but i need fix for V4 not just 2018.1)


Octane_3.06_GOOD.jpg
Octane_4.01_BAD.jpg
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby pixym » Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:48 pm

pixym Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:48 pm
I will check this asap
Work Station : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - Intel i9 7980XE (2,6ghz 18 cores / 36 threads) - 32GB - 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
NET RENDER : MB Biostar TB250-BTC Pro - Celeron 2C/2T - Open "Mining" Rig - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7
pixym
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: French West Indies

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby pixym » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:39 pm

pixym Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:39 pm
I works for me if I check "Affect Alpha" in the Specular Material Node.
Work Station : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - Intel i9 7980XE (2,6ghz 18 cores / 36 threads) - 32GB - 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
NET RENDER : MB Biostar TB250-BTC Pro - Celeron 2C/2T - Open "Mining" Rig - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7
pixym
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: French West Indies

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:12 pm

Lewis Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:12 pm
pixym wrote:I works for me if I check "Affect Alpha" in the Specular Material Node.


it's on for me and i have thick material of glass (not single poly but proper modeled)

did you check my video , i showed there all the material settings ?
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby pixym » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:14 pm

pixym Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:14 pm
Lewis wrote:
pixym wrote:I works for me if I check "Affect Alpha" in the Specular Material Node.


it's on for me and i have thick material of glass (not single poly but proper modeled)

did you check my video , i showed there all the material settings ?

Ok I did not see your video.
Work Station : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - Intel i9 7980XE (2,6ghz 18 cores / 36 threads) - 32GB - 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
NET RENDER : MB Biostar TB250-BTC Pro - Celeron 2C/2T - Open "Mining" Rig - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7
pixym
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: French West Indies

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:21 pm

Lewis Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:21 pm
pixym wrote:
Lewis wrote:
pixym wrote:I works for me if I check "Affect Alpha" in the Specular Material Node.


it's on for me and i have thick material of glass (not single poly but proper modeled)

did you check my video , i showed there all the material settings ?

Ok I did not see your video.


Please check my video (it's in first post attached RAR file, video and scene as i explained) and then try with Keep Environment ON.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:45 pm

Lewis Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:45 pm
Here is typical Arch-Viz example.
Camera standing inside of a Room, HDRI environment outside.

3.0.8.5 Alpha on windows is good, in v4 is broken (solid white).
Room_Inside.jpg


Attached scene (LW and ORBX) also.
Attachments
HDRI_Alpha_ROOM.rar
(37.31 MiB) Downloaded 17 times
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Octane WRONG alpha on Glass/specular materials - BUG

Postby roeland » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:43 pm

roeland Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:43 pm
Is this problem still present in version 4.02? I can't see any difference in behaviour with 3.07 and 3.08.

What you see in that cube is total internal reflection. Areas where light is reflected are always rendered as opaque even with “affect alpha” switched on.
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1741
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm
Next

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:59 pm [ UTC ]