[Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Forums: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby orion_uk » Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:41 am

orion_uk Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:41 am
maximum-attack wrote:Thanks for the update yoyoz. Nice to have you back. This animation wouldn't have been possible without your plugin!




WOW.....just WOW :)
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby Alain » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:43 am

Alain Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:43 am
Thanks for the update !

What about instancing ?
As soon as Octane supports Instancing you have do update your Plugin, right ?

Kind regards
Alain
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX Titan 8GB, Blender 2.72b, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:12 pm

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby yoyoz » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:53 am

yoyoz Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:53 am
Instancing support might be much more difficult to implement than it sounds, but I can hardly say what it could look like until I get more information about the way it'll be implemented in Octane.

I also have very little time left at the moment for updating the plugin, but I'll do my best if something relevant can be done :-)

Cheers,
Lionel
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby Alain » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:48 pm

Alain Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:48 pm
yoyoz wrote:Instancing support might be much more difficult to implement than it sounds...


That's what I've been afraid of :?

Anyway, does it make sence to continue working on the script ?
RS is searching for a developer to "integrate" Octane in Blender. See here: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=9474


Kind regards
Alain
Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX Titan 8GB, Blender 2.72b, Win 7 64 Bit
Alain
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:12 pm

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby yoyoz » Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:40 pm

yoyoz Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:40 pm
Well, it will make sense as long as I've fun doing it and until something else is available ;)

cheers,
Lionel
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby maximum-attack » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:07 am

maximum-attack Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:07 am
yoyoz wrote:That's an awesome video! I'm really pleased as I put lots of efforts trying to make my plugin usable for animations... and thanks for the credits :D

Can you give us some numbers? (DL/PT/PMC, # of samples, time per frame, etc...)




Pathtracing, 1024 samples, about 2.5 FPS with Quadro 5000, 1260 mb used

Thanks again Lionel
maximum-attack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby ROUBAL » Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:14 pm

ROUBAL Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:14 pm
Hi Lionel, Thanks for updating the exporter.

I just discover this thread and I have not yet tested this new version, but as you didn't answer to my questions in the previous version topic, I ask it here again : Your exporter (at least the previous version) gives an export time twice longer than the exporter for Blender 2.49.

Is there an explanation for that ?

A possible solution to reduce the export time ?


It is very important because my current big landscape scene (3GB in Octane) requires 41 minutes of export time per frame (and almost the same to load in Octane, which is an other story).

Thanks in advance for any idea.

Philippe.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby yoyoz » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:45 pm

yoyoz Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:45 pm
Hi Philippe,

I've never used the 2.49 plugin and therefore cannot make any comparison nor explain why there's a difference in performance.

Basically, the code that makes the OBJ export in my plugin is almost the same as the builtin one for Wavefront (written and maintained by Campbell), with some tweaks to allow export of extra objects that were not taken in account natively at the time I wrote the plugin. If export time through my plugin is similar to the Wavefront one, I doubt I can make any optimization on the algorythm.

However, I already made some tests with multithreading that demonstrated I could save a lot of time with this method, but the final implementation required extra job because Octane doesn't support relative index for OBJ files. I gave up at this time, awaiting for new import format that was supposed to be available quickly, and I'm still waiting...

Cheers,
Lionel
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby matej » Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:18 pm

matej Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:18 pm
The Octane exporter takes almost the same time (~5% slower) that the .obj exporter bundled with Blender takes.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: [Unsupported] Blender plugin v1.11

Postby ROUBAL » Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:12 pm

ROUBAL Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:12 pm
As an example, on a scene I was working on some weeks ago,(1247MB in Octane), the export time was 3 min 40s when exporting from blender 2.49b with the old script, and 7 min 52 when exporting from Blender 2.59 with the unsupported Blender plugin v1 !

:arrow: As I said in the topic of previous version, I have noticed something weird thanks to the ressource manager of Windows 7 : During the export process, at a moment, the exporter for 2.59 puts in cache around 4GB of data. It is weird, because there is still half of my RAM amount available at this moment (around 4GB of the 8GB total).

I don't know it this information can help to find out what slows down the exporter.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE
PreviousNext

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 9:17 pm [ UTC ]