artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Forums: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby ppoublan » Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:06 am

ppoublan Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:06 am
Hi,
Is there a way to fix it ?
octanepb.jpg


Attached in zip is the skp file.
garageerror.zip
(2.46 MiB) Downloaded 89 times


Do not have the issue if exported as obj and rendered in standalone.
Yours
Pascal
ppoublan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:47 am

Re: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby resmas » Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:38 pm

resmas Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:38 pm
Hello mate, you just need to go to SU "Soften Edges" and reduce the angle of that group/component.

Then all is good.

cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby ppoublan » Sun Jun 22, 2014 10:39 pm

ppoublan Sun Jun 22, 2014 10:39 pm
Thanks for help,
I will try as soon as I can (not at home now).
But looks a little bit strange to me, cause does it mean that each component keeps its own "soft angle" values ? I thought that it was just interactive feature to soften edges, but that the egdes were keeping only true/false soft value in SU, not any angle value...
The edges that are were the artifact occurs have the same soften value as some that does not generate artifact...
But need to make more tests
Pascal
ppoublan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:47 am

Re: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby ppoublan » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:12 am

ppoublan Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:12 am
I tried to change "soften edges" within SU, checking and unchecking soften coplanar face, but got no change in Octane result.
The artifact appears on a plane surface within SU.
I suspect this to be linked to the way Octane triangulate surfaces...
ppoublan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:47 am

Re: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby resmas » Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:40 am

resmas Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:40 am
hello mate, you probably missing a step.

If you remove de angle of any group/component in SU you need to refresh Octane Viewport, because new geometry settings are saved. Another thing, groups inside groups can have different soften value, so we need to select that part(group) and correct the soften value.

I don't soften geometry in SU, i use the smooth option in Octane.

Check here how i did it.

soften_edges.gif


cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: artifact with integrated plugin and not standalone

Postby ppoublan » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:03 pm

ppoublan Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:03 pm
Hi Resmas,
You got it. Thanks.
Still a complete mistery for me of how it works... but it solve this issue.
I need to make more tests on how this may affect rendering if different values used for other parts of the model (things I do often).
Yours
Pascal
ppoublan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:47 am

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:02 am [ UTC ]