OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2

Postby abstrax » Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:23 am

abstrax Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:23 am
Hi all,

This is a small update of 3.03 Standalone providing more more bug fixes and experimental Pascal support.


License tracking change since 3.02

To implement the floating licensing system we need to keep track of all Octane processes that use a specific license on the computer. This way we only release/deactivate a license when no Octane process is using that license anymore. Originally we used a third-party library for that. Unfortunately there were various issues with that and caused crashes during startup in various circumstances. To fix the problem we changed it to an internal (file based) system in version 3.02. Unfortunately this separates the license usage tracking of version 3.02 and higher from the usage tracking of 3.00, 3.01 and 3.01.1.

-> Please make sure that you only run either version 3.00, 3.01 and 3.01.1 at the same time or only version 3.02 or higher.


Experimental Pascal GPU support

We could narrow down the issue using the CUDA 8 RC toolkit and were able to work around it by doing a mixed CUDA 7.5/8 build for Pascal GPUs. For previous architectures we still use CUDA 7.5 only. This is all experimental and we haven't done any specific Pascal tweaks/optimizations yet and the performance isn't where we would expect it to be, but at least you can use your Pascal GPUs now.


Changes since version 3.03.1

  • Fixed "invert absorption" option of the scattering and volume medium nodes (see viewtopic.php?p=282396#p282396).
  • Fixed baking camera if a negative scale is used for a baked instance.
  • Fixed version number display in daemon list of the net render configuration dialog (see viewtopic.php?p=282451#p282451).
  • Disabled visual deactivation of work pane components when a modal dialog is open (see viewtopic.php?p=282535#p282535).
  • Net render settings are now saved as soon as the net render settings dialog is closed (see viewtopic.php?p=282615#p282615).
  • When Octane detects that the currently used license has been deactivated, it tries to get a new license and if that fails allows you to save the project before closing the application.
  • Fixed calculation of expected total render time when the non-interactive render region is being used.
  • Module SDK: Text labels are now modifiable.
  • Module SDK: Extended the selection manager wrapper.


OctaneRender Standalone downloads

16/7/2016: We updated all OSX builds and the commercial Windows builds to fix a random deadlock during startup.
18/7/2016: The commercial Linux build has been updated too now.


Windows
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive) - update on 16/7/2016
- 64-bit demo version (ZIP archive)

Mac OS X
- 64-bit commercial version (DMG image) - update on 16/7/2016
- 64-bit demo version (DMG image) - update on 16/7/2016

Linux
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive) - updated on 18/7/2016
- 64-bit demo version (ZIP archive)


Photoshop workflow plugin download

You can download and install the plugin either via the Adobe Exchange platform or you can download it from the link below and manually install it.

Windows and Mac OS X
- Photoshop extension (v1.0.3) (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY NZ Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby ff7darkcloud » Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:40 am

ff7darkcloud Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:40 am
Thank you. Can't wait to test this with a Pascal card!, will be ordering one soon.
( PC ) Win10 x64 | 2xRTX2080TI | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | i9-7900x | 32GB | 1600W
( Laptop ) Win10 x64 | RTX2080Max-Q | Lenovo Legion Y740 | i7-9750H | 32GB - Octane Standalone Win 10/ Sketchup 2019

PORTFOLIO: https://renderspace.wixsite.com/portfolio
User avatar
ff7darkcloud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby Lewis » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:59 am

Lewis Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:59 am
Thanks for update Abstrax.

Can you elaborate more what this licensing mean sin practical work ?
Especally this part:

"-> Please make sure that you only run either version 3.00, 3.01 and 3.01.1 at the same time or only version 3.02 or higher."

My usual workflow in octane arch-Viz is while working on main scene in Octane 3.0 i start First LightWave layout and put all furniture, details in there and start building overall scene.
But i open 2nd LightWave (all on same machine/license) and texture furniture there in my "studio" or "daylight" scene so it's much quicker to work and neutral to make textures before putting them in to the room/different lighting scenario. BUT i do that in Octane 2.25 (different LightWave installation so i can octane 3.x and v2.25 on same machine but different LightWave installations and since 2.25 is much more repsonsive/faster on tumbling speed due no Tonemap option back then.

With this new info/licensing it seems that type of workflow is not possible anymore or i got it all wrong ?

Thanks
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby mojave » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:35 am

mojave Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:35 am
Lewis wrote:Thanks for update Abstrax.

Can you elaborate more what this licensing mean sin practical work ?
Especally this part:

"-> Please make sure that you only run either version 3.00, 3.01 and 3.01.1 at the same time or only version 3.02 or higher."

My usual workflow in octane arch-Viz is while working on main scene in Octane 3.0 i start First LightWave layout and put all furniture, details in there and start building overall scene.
But i open 2nd LightWave (all on same machine/license) and texture furniture there in my "studio" or "daylight" scene so it's much quicker to work and neutral to make textures before putting them in to the room/different lighting scenario. BUT i do that in Octane 2.25 (different LightWave installation so i can octane 3.x and v2.25 on same machine but different LightWave installations and since 2.25 is much more repsonsive/faster on tumbling speed due no Tonemap option back then.

With this new info/licensing it seems that type of workflow is not possible anymore or i got it all wrong ?

Thanks


You should be able to continue working using 2.x and 3.x on the same box with no problems (just check this if you are using OSX).

This limitation applies just to using different 3.x versions of standalone/plugins on the same machine and at the same time.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby Lewis » Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:22 pm

Lewis Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:22 pm
mojave wrote:You should be able to continue working using 2.x and 3.x on the same box with no problems (just check this if you are using OSX).

This limitation applies just to using different 3.x versions of standalone/plugins on the same machine and at the same time.


Thanks for quick answer, that puts me on ease then.

BTW yes I'm on windows (check the signature with specs ;)).
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby noldo » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:11 pm

noldo Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:11 pm
If i run 3.02 the program start, but if i run 3.03 the program freeze at the startup screen... Why?

Solved!
noldo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:07 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:21 pm

abstrax Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:21 pm
noldo wrote:If i run 3.02 the program start, but if i run 3.03 the program freeze at the startup screen... Why?

Solved!

Yes. This is a random deadlock we missed before we released this version. Should be fixed now for Windows and OSX. The Linux build will be added as soon as it's available. Apologies for the inconvenience.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby seltzdesign » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:29 pm

seltzdesign Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:29 pm
ff7darkcloud wrote:Thank you. Can't wait to test this with a Pascal card!, will be ordering one soon.


Just ordered a GTX 1070 (Asus Strix). Will be picking it up on monday and hopefully test it right away, although I am not holding my breath performance-wise. But still intruiged. I guess OctaneBench doesn't have Pascal support yet anyways and wont till they have fixed everything. It will come eventually.. got the HTC Vive coming today as well though, so I will keep myself busy with that till Octane runs smoothly on Pascal :roll: :lol:
If you are not failing every now and again, it's a sign you are not doing anything very innovative.

- Woody Allen

Dual Xeon | 32GB Ram | 4 x GTX 580
seltzdesign
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby smicha » Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:18 pm

smicha Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:18 pm
seltzdesign wrote:
ff7darkcloud wrote:Thank you. Can't wait to test this with a Pascal card!, will be ordering one soon.


Just ordered a GTX 1070 (Asus Strix). Will be picking it up on monday and hopefully test it right away, although I am not holding my breath performance-wise. But still intruiged. I guess OctaneBench doesn't have Pascal support yet anyways and wont till they have fixed everything. It will come eventually.. got the HTC Vive coming today as well though, so I will keep myself busy with that till Octane runs smoothly on Pascal :roll: :lol:

Please drop a note how it performs compared toyour 580
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.03.2 - updated [current 3.xx]

Postby ramiz » Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:17 pm

ramiz Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:17 pm
Just tried this on my 1080.... AMAZING!!!! Can't wait for the C4D Plugin to come out!!! :D

Does anyone have links as to how I can benchmark it?
ramiz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:12 pm
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Sep 30, 2020 10:26 am [ UTC ]