MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Forums: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby PhilBo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:52 am

PhilBo Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:52 am
I threw together this tutorial to assist in MOI3D users to get their meshes out of MOI3D and into Octane Render properly. This doesn't rely on high poly meshes or smooth groups but in fact uses the high quality vertex normals from MOI3D.

Thanks for looking.

Phil
Attachments
MOI3D_to_Octane_Tutorial.zip
(1.22 MiB) Downloaded 344 times
Win7 64| Two GTX 470s | Phenom II 920 | 8 GB
Win7 32| GTX 260 | Athlon X2 5000+ BE | 2 GB
User avatar
PhilBo
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: Warren, Michigan USA

Re: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby Son Kim » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:58 am

Son Kim Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:58 am
thanks for the tutorial - i found it useful!

question about units in Moi3D, what units should you set it to when working? would you set it in inches when working on something like a small toy?
Win 7 64-bit | Geforce GTX580 3GB (driver: 306.97) | Core2Quad Q9300 2.5 GHz | 8GB
User avatar
Son Kim
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:02 pm

Re: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby PhilBo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:06 am

PhilBo Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:06 am
Actually, you need to scale the objects. Changing the unit setting in MOI3D does nothing.

If you make a 1 x 1 x 1 cube and set the scale to "inches" in MOI3D and export, it will end up being a 1 x 1 x1 meter cube in Octane. There are no units in the OBJ file so the units get lost. It ends up being a 1 x 1 x 1 in the OBJ file with no units.

So you either need to shrink the geometry in MOI prior to export, or use the settings in the import dialog box in Octane.
Win7 64| Two GTX 470s | Phenom II 920 | 8 GB
Win7 32| GTX 260 | Athlon X2 5000+ BE | 2 GB
User avatar
PhilBo
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: Warren, Michigan USA

Re: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby Sam » Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:27 pm

Sam Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:27 pm
If you make a 1 x 1 x 1 cube and set the scale to "inches" in MOI3D and export, it will end up being a 1 x 1 x1 meter cube in Octane. There are no units in the OBJ file so the units get lost. It ends up being a 1 x 1 x 1 in the OBJ file with no units


Wow... I learned something very important here
Thanks for the clean and well explained tutorial ;)
http://Kuto.ch - Samuel Zeller - Freelance 3D Generalist and Graphic designer from Switzerland
User avatar
Sam
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Geneva

Re: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby Son Kim » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:51 am

Son Kim Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:51 am
PhilBo wrote:
If you make a 1 x 1 x 1 cube and set the scale to "inches" in MOI3D and export, it will end up being a 1 x 1 x1 meter cube in Octane. There are no units in the OBJ file so the units get lost. It ends up being a 1 x 1 x 1 in the OBJ file with no units.

So you either need to shrink the geometry in MOI prior to export, or use the settings in the import dialog box in Octane.


Wait, if the units get lost how would scaling the object in Moi scale down the object in Octane, since Octane turns it into a 1 meter cube again upon import? There's probably a simple answer to that, i feel dense today..

BTW does Octane have any issue with rendering high valances vertices(i.e. 8,9,10,etc)?
Win 7 64-bit | Geforce GTX580 3GB (driver: 306.97) | Core2Quad Q9300 2.5 GHz | 8GB
User avatar
Son Kim
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:02 pm

Re: MOI3D to Octane Tutorial

Postby radiance » Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:50 am

radiance Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:50 am
i moved this topic to the resources forum so everyone can view it and left a shadow topic here...

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:38 am [ UTC ]