OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [OBSOLETE]

Postby JimStar » Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:03 am

JimStar Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:03 am
Forum rules:
NOTE: The software in this forum thread is not 100% reliable, this is a development build and is meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release.

!!! THIS IS THE BETA VERSION OF OctaneRender PLUGIN, IT IS RELEASED FOR INITIAL BUG HUNTING ONLY !!!
!!! PLEASE DON'T USE IT FOR PRODUCTION & DON'T SAVE THE SCENES FROM THIS BETA VERSION FOR FUTURE USE AS THERE ARE HIGH CHANCES TO LOSE THEM !!!
!!! SCENES SAVED IN THIS BETA VERSION ARE NOT GUARANTEED TO WORK IN SUBSEQUENT VERSIONS !!!
!!! THE RENDER ENGINE IS YET TO BE STABLE, SOME CRASHES & BUGS ARE EXPECTED FOR THIS TEST VERSION OF THE PLUGIN !!!


Otoy® is proud to announce the availability of a new test version of OctaneRender™ for Maya®: OctaneRender™ 2020.1
The world's fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Autodesk® Maya®.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 64-bit on Windows, Linux and OSX operating systems.


To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.


Changelog and the installers for Octane Standalone 2020.1 are here:
OctaneRender Standalone 2020.1 RC4


Changes since versions 17.14:

  • Integrated the 2020.1 RC4 engine.
  • Improved the GPU-settings functionality. Now this should properly work as either global or scene-specific setup.
  • Fixed the layers' batch-rendering issue.

KNOWN ISSUES:
  • "CUDA error 700" and other CUDA errors are expected to happen from time to time: these are the Octane engine's bugs. Should be fixed with later SDK/Standalone versions...
  • Due to some inconsistency on the rendering engine level the builtin-scriptgraph nodes are not going to be present in the plugin. At least at this stage.


=================================
Subscription Enterprise Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [MacOS]


=================================
Subscription Studio Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [MacOS]
Last edited by JimStar on Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby itsallgoode9 » Wed Apr 22, 2020 5:24 pm

itsallgoode9 Wed Apr 22, 2020 5:24 pm
what was the "Fixed the layers' batch-rendering" issue?
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 840
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby intelligentlight » Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:24 am

intelligentlight Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:24 am
Hi!

When will there be a stable release for Maya 2020?

It's been 4 months and I'm still using Maya 2019; and I can't use Maya 2020 yet, since there is no production-ready plugin for it.
Or am I mistaken / missing something? :)

Cheeers!
--
3D/VR-artist/DP/Photographer, Sweden
Intel i7-7700K, ASUS Prime Z270-A, 2x ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti 11GB, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 960 EVO, Win10Pro
intelligentlight
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:51 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:12 am

JimStar Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:12 am
intelligentlight
As soon as the rendering engine integrated into the plugin leaves the "release candidate" stage and reaches the "stable" stage.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby intelligentlight » Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:59 pm

intelligentlight Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:59 pm
JimStar wrote:intelligentlight
As soon as the rendering engine integrated into the plugin leaves the "release candidate" stage and reaches the "stable" stage.


Ahh OK, of course, thanks for the quick reply. :)

I wish that the 2019.1.5-branch could have been updated for Maya 2020 too, but I totally understand (release/development-wise) why that's not the case.

Thanks for a great plugin anyway and stay safe!
--
3D/VR-artist/DP/Photographer, Sweden
Intel i7-7700K, ASUS Prime Z270-A, 2x ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti 11GB, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 960 EVO, Win10Pro
intelligentlight
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:51 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby Lord-Kvento » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:19 am

Lord-Kvento Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:19 am
Out-of-core (mesh) still doesn't work for me.
As soon as the memory of the video card is full, I again get the message "out-of-core memory limit exceeded" and the rendering stops (or does not start at all).
Despite the fact that a large OOC limit is set (24 of 32 GB) and I have free RAM. It looks like the OOC just isn't working properly.

In addition, if I export the same scene to Standalone, then it works perfectly inside Standalone and uses OOC (about 3 of 24 GB). The same thing happens if I render a scene in Cinema 4D
Thus, it turns out that OOC does not work only in Maya.

And this happens not only with this version, but with all versions starting from v4.
I think that if it were a core error, it would manifest itself in both Cinema 4D and Standalone. This is true?
Win 10 x64 (1909) | Geforce 2x GTX 1080ti, 1x RTX 2080ti | i7 4790k | 32GB
User avatar
Lord-Kvento
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:07 am

JimStar Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:07 am
Lord-Kvento
OK I see what's the problem. In my tests this worked OK in Maya, but the labels of the out-of-core parameters settings are "Memory limit (MB)" and "GPU headroom (MB)", while the values in these fields are treated as bytes.
I'll change it in next version to be treated as megabytes, same as the labels state. As a quick fix for previous versions - just enter these values as bytes.
Sorry for that.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby Lord-Kvento » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:50 am

Lord-Kvento Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:50 am
JimStar wrote:As a quick fix for previous versions - just enter these values as bytes.

JimStar

Unfortunately, I cannot enter a value greater than 2147483647 bytes = 2048 megabytes (2 GB). And for me to work, the scene needs at least 3 GB.
So unfortunately this method does not work for me.

For work, I will use OctaneRender for Maya v4.05 (as the main one) and OctaneRender for Maya 2020 (for an alternative project).
Could you release in the near future a quick fix at least for v4.05?
And for v2020 I will wait for the next update.
Attachments
OOC_values.PNG
OOC_values.PNG (7.33 KiB) Viewed 490 times
Win 10 x64 (1909) | Geforce 2x GTX 1080ti, 1x RTX 2080ti | i7 4790k | 32GB
User avatar
Lord-Kvento
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:30 am

JimStar Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:30 am
Lord-Kvento
Yes, I will release a fix in 13.49 soon.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc4-17.15 [BETA]

Postby Lord-Kvento » Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:34 am

Lord-Kvento Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:34 am
JimStar wrote:Lord-Kvento
Yes, I will release a fix in 13.49 soon.

Great, thanks! I will wait.
Win 10 x64 (1909) | Geforce 2x GTX 1080ti, 1x RTX 2080ti | i7 4790k | 32GB
User avatar
Lord-Kvento
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:20 pm

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:48 am [ UTC ]