OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [OBSOLETE]

Postby JimStar » Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:58 am

JimStar Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:58 am
Forum rules:
NOTE: The software in this forum thread is not 100% reliable, this is a development build and is meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release.

!!! THIS IS THE BETA VERSION OF OctaneRender PLUGIN, IT IS RELEASED FOR INITIAL BUG HUNTING ONLY !!!
!!! PLEASE DON'T USE IT FOR PRODUCTION & DON'T SAVE THE SCENES FROM THIS BETA VERSION FOR FUTURE USE AS THERE ARE HIGH CHANCES TO LOSE THEM !!!
!!! SCENES SAVED IN THIS BETA VERSION ARE NOT GUARANTEED TO WORK IN SUBSEQUENT VERSIONS !!!
!!! THE RENDER ENGINE IS YET TO BE STABLE, SOME CRASHES & BUGS ARE EXPECTED FOR THIS TEST VERSION OF THE PLUGIN !!!


Otoy® is proud to announce the availability of a new test version of OctaneRender™ for Maya®: OctaneRender™ 2020.1
The world's fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Autodesk® Maya®.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 64-bit on Windows, Linux and OSX operating systems.


To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.


Changelog and the installers for Octane Standalone 2020.1 are here:
OctaneRender Standalone 2020.1 RC3


Changes since versions 17.13:

  • Integrated the 2020.1 RC3 engine.

KNOWN ISSUES:
  • "CUDA error 700" and other CUDA errors are expected to happen from time to time: these are the Octane engine's bugs. Should be fixed with later SDK/Standalone versions...
  • Due to some inconsistency on the rendering engine level the builtin-scriptgraph nodes are not going to be present in the plugin. At least at this stage.


=================================
Subscription Enterprise Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [MacOS]


=================================
Subscription Studio Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [MacOS]
Last edited by JimStar on Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby g0ll4m » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:12 am

g0ll4m Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:12 am
In version 17.12, Octane Viewport is broken when Up-Sampling is active.
Attachments
viewport.jpg
4 GTX 690's 4 GTX 780Tis 32 gb ram
g0ll4m
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:15 am

JimStar Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:15 am
Only in 17.12 or starting from 17.12?.. Have you got this issue in this 17.14?..
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby g0ll4m » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:40 am

g0ll4m Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:40 am
2x2 Works but this is what happens when I switch to 4x4.

This is version 2020.1 RC3 17.14-beta
Attachments
octane viewport 4x4.jpg
4 GTX 690's 4 GTX 780Tis 32 gb ram
g0ll4m
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby g0ll4m » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:44 am

g0ll4m Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:44 am
Here I am on 2x2 up-sampling, then reducing scaling in viewport options.
Attachments
scaling 50.jpg
4 GTX 690's 4 GTX 780Tis 32 gb ram
g0ll4m
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby Braca » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:55 am

Braca Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:55 am
I ran into a possible problem.
I am rendering 2 layers, Layer 1 - Object, Layer 2-Backdrop with shadow catcher material.
I am also doing batch render layers. I tried numerous times and in the EXR output Layer 2 is completely messed up,
like it did not finish more than 10 samples and anyway it got saved. Take a look, left- rendered exr, right- IPR of the layer 2 in maya:
Attachments
shadowproblem.jpg
Braca
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:43 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:57 am

JimStar Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:57 am
I need the scene where you have this issue.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby Braca » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:14 pm

Braca Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:14 pm
Let me know how to send it to you.
Regards.
Braca
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:43 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:07 pm

JimStar Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:07 pm
g0ll4m
I've just found a very old ticket exactly about this: this is a very old Octane SDK bug, which I already reported last year to the engine team. They told me it's easy to fix, but as I can see it's still there...
Can't be properly fixed on the plugin level. Moreover, this bug may be one of the reasons of the GPU crashes that are happening sometimes when using upsampling.
Just don't use the upsampling when viewport-rendering, and for the other rendering modes use the output image size which is a multiplier of 4.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1rc3-17.14 [BETA]

Postby g0ll4m » Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:43 am

g0ll4m Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:43 am
Ok.
4 GTX 690's 4 GTX 780Tis 32 gb ram
g0ll4m
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:15 pm
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Oct 23, 2020 10:28 pm [ UTC ]