OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[OBSOLETE]

Postby BK » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:32 am

BK Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:32 am
Otoy® is proud to announce the availability of a new version of OctaneRender™ for Maya®
The world's fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Autodesk® Maya®.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2015, 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on MS Windows operating systems, 2015, 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on Linux operating systems, and 2016, 2016.5 and 2017 64-bit on OSX operating systems (including and above 10.9).

COMPATIBILITY AND OCTANERENDER STANDALONE REQUIREMENT

To run OctaneRender™ for Maya®, you need to also have an activated OctaneRender™ Standalone copy activated on the machine you wish to install the plugin onto.
You cannot purchase and use only the Maya plugin and use it without also owning an activated copy of Octane Render™ Standalone on your machine.


For network slave and daemon please download the Standalone installer here:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=61815


CHANGES SINCE THE PREVIOUS VERSION

  • Implemented new engine 3.06.4
  • Fixed motion blur on MASH Instanced objects.
  • Fixed GMH2 plugin crash in Maya IPR/Render
  • Now we can use Copy/paste to duplicate the shading network and Ctrl + d to duplicate any selected nodes




Bug fixed for:

Jo's - Instanced MASH object MB [ viewtopic.php?p=316646#p316646 ]

Cyrillweiss- Also made Copy/Paste as shortcut [ viewtopic.php?p=315781#p315781]

Gianca's - GMH2 hair bug [ viewtopic.php?p=315881#p315881 ]



Windows

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya11.7

OctaneRender for Maya DEMO 11.7


Linux

Installation:
- Just run the installer to see its command line keys.

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya - 11.7 Linux

OctaneRender for Maya DEMO - 11.7 Linux


OSX

Installation:
- Just run the auto installer file.

DOWNLOAD

OctaneRender for Maya - 11.7OSX

OctaneRender for Maya DEMO - 11.7 OSX
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby calus » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:26 pm

calus Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:26 pm
BUG 1:

Internal Motion blur is broken for meshes with varying topology.
I attach a simple scene, you can see there's one simple pink sphere keyframed with the same movement as a blue varying topology mesh (carying vertex velocity data)
maya_2017-07-06_18-18-16.png

velocityDataMB.mb.zip
(1.17 MiB) Downloaded 135 times

You can see the blue mesh seem to have no MB but it is just very low (increase time shutter a lot to begin to see MB for the mesh).
Anyway wih the Maya plugin, MB for varying topology mesh (carying velocity data) is 100 times too low at least and with wrong direction, this is major bug.
For information, with Arnold the MB is exacly the same for the pink and the blue sphere.

My guess is that Octane is expecting vector values for velocity but maya use RGBA for velocity so JimStar have just implemented a wrong conversion (or no conversion at all ...) so the result is wrong.
______


BUG 2:
Maya crash with the same scene when trying to export an animated ORBX (alembic )




_____
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby calus » Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:02 pm

calus Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:02 pm
By the way we are now waiting since 4 months for JimStar to finish the motion-blur sub-sampling implementation :shock:

Why this takes so much time for the Maya plugin ?
The same feature have been implemented in one day by Paul for the Modo plugin... :lol:
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby gianca » Thu Jul 06, 2017 6:32 pm

gianca Thu Jul 06, 2017 6:32 pm
Confirmed: the GHM2 bug has been squashed.
Thanks!!!

G
gianca
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby BK » Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:11 am

BK Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:11 am
Hi Calus,

Thanks for the sample scene.

Bug 1: Have you check with the older builds? yes, when shutter value is set as 1. The internal MB works great for now.


Thanks again for providing the info about Maya. We will look into it. The internal MB was written a few years ago and hope refactoring will fix it.


Bug 2: Possibly try to convert the particles Mesh geo into polygons and export into Alembic data.
Attachments
2017-07-07 17_22_30-Render View.png
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby calus » Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:54 am

calus Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:54 am
BK wrote: yes, when shutter value is set as 1. The internal MB works great for now.

No it doesn't work great for now with shutter time at 1, as you see in the scene the pink ball totally disappeared because MB is so high,
(first blue ball and pink ball must have the same resulting MB at same shutter time as they have the exact same movement)
this is not practical in a production scene and need a fix ASAP.


BTW I don't ask for a workaround for BUG 2 (there's many other bugs with ORBX export anyway),
but as Maya crash when exporting ORBX, this release must not be be tagged as [STABLE] until the crash is fixed.


Did you log these 2 bugs in the bug-tracker or should I open 2 tickets trough private support ?

__
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby BK » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:25 am

BK Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:25 am
Hi Gianca, :)

Thank you very much for reporting the bug.
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby BK » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:46 am

BK Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:46 am
Hi Calus,

Thank you. We are still investigating and will get back to you as soon as possible.
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby vfxm » Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:01 am

vfxm Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:01 am
Hello BK

I sent you a file in private message with issue in Maya to Octane materials conversion

i hope you check it

regards.
vfxm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:47 am

Re: OctaneRender® for Maya® 3.06.4 - 11.7[STABLE]

Postby BK » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:54 pm

BK Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:54 pm
Hello Vfxm,

Thank you for sending the file. We are checking on it now and will get in touch shortly.
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Jan 17, 2021 7:13 am [ UTC ]