camera clipping plane

Forums: camera clipping plane
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: juanjgon

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

camera clipping plane

Postby WhyGee » Fri May 27, 2016 4:01 pm

WhyGee Fri May 27, 2016 4:01 pm
Hi,
It seems the near clipping plane is obeyed by Octane but the far clip plane is ignored. Is there any reason/limitation for that?

Thanks
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: camera clipping plane

Postby juanjgon » Fri May 27, 2016 4:04 pm

juanjgon Fri May 27, 2016 4:04 pm
Yes, sorry. Octane doesn't have a far clipping plane parameter in the camera nodes. This is why the Houdini plugin doesn't support this feature.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: camera clipping plane

Postby WhyGee » Fri May 27, 2016 4:09 pm

WhyGee Fri May 27, 2016 4:09 pm
What I was trying to do was to render a volume sliced in the middle (front/back) by the clipping plane in order to composite an undetermined middle layer (otherwise would've done a cutout render). I tried rendering a deep image but for some reason I keep running into gpu memory limitations. I have 2 titan X and the volume is rather simple. for deep rendering I need to enable it both on the rop and target nodes correct?
anyways, workaround suggestions would be most helpful.
Thank you
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: camera clipping plane

Postby juanjgon » Fri May 27, 2016 4:40 pm

juanjgon Fri May 27, 2016 4:40 pm
Hmm, I am not sure about how to make a slice with a near and far planes in Octane. Anyway yes, the deep rendering must be enabled in the kernel node to be computed, and in the ROP node to write the file. Perhaps you could play with the kernel max. depth samples and depth tolerance parameters to see if this can help with the memory issues.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: camera clipping plane

Postby WhyGee » Fri May 27, 2016 7:07 pm

WhyGee Fri May 27, 2016 7:07 pm
Thanks I'll try
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed May 27, 2020 3:27 am [ UTC ]