"This video card is not responding"

Forums: "This video card is not responding"
Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

"This video card is not responding"

Postby gsfcreator » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:29 am

gsfcreator Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:29 am
Lately I'm getting this message during/after renders. the rendering process works, and it seems that my GPU is working (games, etc...). I wasn't getting this before. the only thing I did was update my octane version to the latest one...
any ideas whats wrong and should I be worried about my (brand new) GPU?

***Update: the renders are not okay, because octane won't Refresh the scene when it's done rendering one frame...:(***

video card problem.jpg


thanks, and happy new year! :)
Core I7-8700K, 32RAM, GTX1080Ti, win10
gsfcreator
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:45 pm

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby gsfcreator » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:53 pm

gsfcreator Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:53 pm
it keeps happening again and again, on both computers (both new with 1080Ti). it wasn't happening before, so I assume it might be a bug in the new version?

Update: tried the older version and the problem persist. only with octane :(
Core I7-8700K, 32RAM, GTX1080Ti, win10
gsfcreator
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:45 pm

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby Erick » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:28 pm

Erick Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:28 pm
Maybe something isn't quite right with the driver of the video card?
Something ill-gone during the installation process, old leftovers of previous drivers, something messy with the version in general ... dunno .. just wild guesses.
I haven't updated the driver of my 1080 in forever and it's still running flawlessly on 388.13
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby face_off » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:36 am

face_off Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:36 am
Can you please check the Octane Log button on the Devices tab, as it might have some clues. Also click the Open Device Settings and make sure you have a card set to render.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13317
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby gsfcreator » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:05 am

gsfcreator Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:05 am
Guys, after some testing I realized that this issue only happens with a a specific save of a scene I work on for a while now. I tried to go back to a previews save and everything works perfectly as it did so far. does that means something went awry with octane's material conversion that might cause this issue?
Core I7-8700K, 32RAM, GTX1080Ti, win10
gsfcreator
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:45 pm

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby face_off » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:51 pm

face_off Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:51 pm
does that means something went awry with octane's material conversion that might cause this issue?
I would not have thought that would cause the problem.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13317
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: "This video card is not responding"

Postby calvados » Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:16 am

calvados Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:16 am
In my case, caused by Multi GPU card on one board with specific sense.
Currently, I choose only one GPU on board, almost sense has no problem.
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:23 pm [ UTC ]