export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Forums: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bertritude73 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:51 am

bertritude73 Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:51 am
Hi guys,

I try to export an AO layer using pass in octane render with c4d.

I've an oject + a plane + an hdri environment.

problem is even if i active "alpha layer" in direc tlignhting setings, my AO pass shows a black area (it's the sky of hdri map) and it's not translucent as i want.


It work in octane live viewver but not in export.


do you have an idea plase ?

thks

Bertrand
bertritude73
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:33 am

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:56 am

bepeg4d Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:56 am
Hi,
yes, this is how it works. What do you mean by translucent background?
It's not possible for you to add a white background in post?
Or a big white sphere (big enough to contain the project) only for the ao pass?
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6741
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bertritude73 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:01 am

bertritude73 Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:01 am
thanks for your help,

I just want to have a AO pass alone with a no color translucent (alpha layer) in the sky part.

previously I made a standart render + layer mask.

I want to compile the 3 passes + an image sequence in after effects.
bertritude73
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:33 am

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:35 am

bepeg4d Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:35 am
Hi,
actually there are no issues if you render the ao channel alone, but there are some issues if you do a multipass render, unless you save the final result in PSD format.
Screen Shot 2015-12-16 at 11.30.00.jpg

please try with this simple scene, there is a Beaty pass + AO pass with alpha channel:
AOAlpha.c4d.zip
(60.21 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6741
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bertritude73 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:28 am

bertritude73 Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:28 am
ok, I'll try your test project asap.

i exported in one batch stadard image+ layer mask and in a second way the AO pass (after activate my plane visibility to have the shadows on the plane)

when I export the AO pass with HDRI environment tag even with alpha layer option, the result ihave is good for the plane and the shadows but the sky over the plane is black.
I want the sky translucent.
bertritude73
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:33 am

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bertritude73 » Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:04 am

bertritude73 Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:04 am
Hi,

thanks for your help, it worked with save as PSD file. I've a layer with the alpha :-)

Bertrand
bertritude73
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:33 am

Re: export AO layer / HDRI backround problem

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:16 am

bepeg4d Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:16 am
Great, happy GPU rendering :)
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6741
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:55 pm [ UTC ]