Octane VR

Forums: Octane VR
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:18 pm

p3taoctane Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:18 pm
I know licensed users can download the OVR 2.23 when it is built...
The demo OVR runs in a browser... I am interested in running OVR 2.23 in NON-demo mode in a browser.
Will I be abel to do this... currently when I launch OVR 2.23 it gives me a standalone license error

Thanks

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Octane VR

Postby face_off » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:33 pm

face_off Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:33 pm
Octane Commercial version and OctaneVR are different licenses, and I don't think you can have them both authenticated at the same time on a single PC.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14228
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:07 am

p3taoctane Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:07 am
Hopefully that will be something they can fix aye.
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Octane VR

Postby face_off » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:43 am

face_off Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:43 am
Fix?
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14228
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:50 am

p3taoctane Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:50 am
I think I am missing something here....

The demo runs in a browser.
The stand-alone does not.

Perhaps a silly idea mate... but the ability to render on the stand-alone under one license and then render in the browser on their grid is worth the cost of another to me.

Am I wrong in my thinking??

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Octane VR

Postby hellguy » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:58 am

hellguy Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:58 am
OctaneVR cannot be activated concurrently with an OctaneRender license.

All OctaneVR features are present in the 2.23 release of OctaneRender Standalone.
(Which should be released within the next 12 hours)
User avatar
hellguy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:05 am

p3taoctane Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:05 am
Thanks that clarifies it for me.

It does seem to be a decision on Otoy's part not to want to sell another license when there might be people out there stupid enough (Me) to buy one : > ))

Is that a permanent decision? Or just during the trial period? Not a big deal or anything... just wondering!

I will deactivate my laptop stand alone license and try it on there.

Thanks for the quick reply. Appreciated.

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:17 am

p3taoctane Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:17 am
What am I missing people???

Even when I deactivate my standalone it gives me a licensing error. Do I need to completely remove the Ocatne app as this is meant for beginners who do not have Octane?

I am interested in running in a browser with Octane VR 2.23... does the demo only run in a browser whereas the Octane VR2.23 that one downloads does not?

If that is the case I can see why there is no point in running a licensed standalone version and another trial OVR 2.23 'stand-alone' version... BUT if it runs on a desktop... I want to try it : > )

Appreciate any clarification.... even though it may seem like an unusual idea.

Thanks

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Octane VR

Postby hellguy » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:34 am

hellguy Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:34 am
The OctaneVR Streaming Demo uses X.IO App Streaming to run the OctaneVR program and stream it to your device.
It is meant to showcase both OctaneVR and X.IO App Streaming.

The OctaneVR download is for the same program that is streamed via X.IO.

Make sure you are using the subscription credentials from the account area to activate OctaneVR:
2015-04-28 13_24_26-OTOY • Licenses.png
User avatar
hellguy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Octane VR

Postby p3taoctane » Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:53 am

p3taoctane Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:53 am
Thanks that helped again. There is a strong chance you are helping where there is user error involved here.

I like what you are saying. The streaming demo uses X.IO and OVR . I just ran it on my laptop in a browser so I know that works.

"The OctaneVR download is for the same program that is streamed via X.IO."

I just downloaded the OVR from the non subscription license holder web page you offer
I deactivated my standalone
Launched OVR trial and entered the subscription details from the account areas you showed below. Success!! :D

When I launch OVR (NOT the deactivated stand-alone) it launches as an activated stand-alone. Not in a browser showing your X.IO
I removed the original stand-alone from the apps folder and reboot.

Still launched as stand-alone. Where are the stand-alone default files kept etc? I am on a Mac SOX

Maybe they need to be removed as well ?

Thanks

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am
Next

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:45 pm [ UTC ]