Phantom Node Link [1.2.2] Auto-generate node hierarchies!

Forums: Phantom Node Link [1.2.2] Auto-generate node hierarchies!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Phantom Node Link [1.2.2] Auto-generate node hierarchies!

Postby Phantom107 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:21 pm

Phantom107 Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:21 pm
Image

> Visit the Phantom Node Link section on the Phantom Scatter website!


Greetings everyone,

As you probably know Phantom Scatter has come a long way and is fully geared towards usage with Octane Render. With the latest iteration of Phantom Scatter (1.9 c) I've brought support for automatic creation of Scatter and Group nodes in Octane Render standalone, users simply have to press CTRL+V in Octane Render Standalone to import the scattering data in the blink of an eye.

But it's still tiresome to link your models to the scatter nodes. That's why I'm bringing a compantion tool for Phantom Scatter, called Phantom Node Link.

Phantom Node Link is specifically designed to handle the XML-based node system Octane Render Standalone uses. In PNL, you will be able to paste in Octane Render node Groups and link them to your Phantom Scatter scatter objects

That way, workflow will be as follows:

1. Open Phantom Scatter and import your *.OBJ
2. Hit function EXPORT ALL (this will analyse your entire model and scatter upon surfaces that you told Phantom Scatter to work with)
3. When exporting is completed, simply hit CTRL+V in Octane Render Standalone and it will create the scatter node hierarchy automatically for you, groups, scatters nodes as well as the geometry and materials that you'd hook up to that.

I am convinced this companion tool will become a productivity superweapon for anyone already using Phantom Scatter + Octane Render.

In this topic I will discuss the development and updates. ;)

Best,

Guus
Last edited by Phantom107 on Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:05 pm, edited 17 times in total.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby smicha » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:42 pm

smicha Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:42 pm
Awesome.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby glimpse » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:54 pm

glimpse Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:54 pm
Great move Guus! =) this will be awesome!
tomGlimps | [email protected] | 32GB | TitanBlack
Available for Freelance, Coaching & Mentoring
User avatar
glimpse
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3619
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby Phantom107 » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:03 pm

Phantom107 Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:03 pm
First pic:

Image

Nothing special just yet, I'm working on a bunch of the general things that needs to be in place before any actual linking can take place.

So far it can scan your Phantom Scatter library, index the results and tells you the VARIANTS property of a scatter object. This property directly influences the number of scatter nodes per scatter object (in OctaneRender) so is very important. I am designing a system that checks your scatter objects, then check if you linked any node data to it, then outputs the validation result. I want to make sure you (the user) will be able to track any possible linking problems without having to export a scatter (in upcoming Phantom Scatter 1.10) to see if it all worked. ;)
Last edited by Phantom107 on Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby smicha » Mon Mar 28, 2016 8:21 pm

smicha Mon Mar 28, 2016 8:21 pm
I am very surprised (in positive way) of how the software is being developed. Great job!
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:52 pm

Phantom107 Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:52 pm
Thanks smicha!

Development has progressed:

Image

Does the tooltip info make sense to you guys? It needs to be very clear.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby fivebythree » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:43 pm

fivebythree Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:43 pm
The download link is April fools...? But this is real, no?
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby Phantom107 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:46 pm

Phantom107 Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:46 pm
fivebythree wrote:The download link is April fools...? But this is real, no?


Yes this is real, just not releasable yet :)
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby linvanchene » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:36 am

linvanchene Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:36 am
Phantom107 wrote:
fivebythree wrote:The download link is April fools...? But this is real, no?


Yes this is real, just not releasable yet :)


You caught me as well. Just a day later. o.0

I tried to pay attention to the link in the e-mail which was displayed on mouse over. After clicking I would still be fast forwarded to another page.
So I repeated the same process multiple times until I finally remembered that April fools custom... :oops:
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Asus RTX NVLink Bridge 4-Slot | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Phantom Node Link [in development]

Postby augdalmo » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:06 am

augdalmo Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:06 am
Hello Guus,

what do it mean?
screen.jpg
:lol:
augdalmo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:30 pm
Next

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:40 pm [ UTC ]