Phantom Photo Match [1.4.2] Get the 3D camera from a photo!

Forums: Phantom Photo Match [1.4.2] Get the 3D camera from a photo!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Phantom Photo Match [1.4.2] Get the 3D camera from a photo!

Postby Phantom107 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:47 pm

Phantom107 Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:47 pm
Phantom Photo Match, a perspective matching tool for use alongside Octane Render!

> Visit the Phantom Photo Match website!


Initial post:
Phantom Photo Match is an upcoming standalone program for usage alongside Octane Render. It allows you to create augmented reality in Octane, inside real life photographs of an (architecture) project you might be doing.

The interface is extremely easy to use. Phantom Photo Match is designed to do all of the annoying stuff for you. NO MORE CLUELESS CAMERA GUESSING! Now you will be able to do it super accurately. And most of all: FAST. If you need to do this often, this tool will save you many hours of work and annoyance.

It works as follows:

1. Import a photo
2. Align 4 axis lines along the perspective lines of your photo.
3. Optional: import your OBJ mesh
4. Drag the origin marker around the photo to determine the origin point of your OBJ mesh. Then use the scale setting to make sure your scene is correctly scaled against the photograph.
5. During the edits, Phantom Photo Match will use it's powerful algorithm to mathematically reverse engineer the correct perspective data. This happens in realtime, so whenever you made an edit, the correct new camera is automatically calculated for you. When you are happy, simply click one of the variables in the top-right corner of the screen. That variable is then copied to your clipboard (with a much higher decimal precision than shown in the GUI for super accuracy), then you can just use CTRL+V to copy paste it in the camera settings inside Octane. Octane Render has no support to load the camera settings from a file, so I came up with this method instead, and it works very fast. You simply put the programs alongside each other, click in PPM, paste in Octane, repeat until you have entered all 10 properties. (Position, Target, Up-vector and Horizontal FOV)

By using a 'shadow catcher' material inside Octane, you can cast shadows 'into your photograph'. Basically Octane will do shadow casting on an invisible material. When you overlay your render with the photograph, it will appear as if your 3D is casting shadows inside the photo. If you compare my 2 screenshots below, you will notice how my Bulborb (copyright Nintendo) casts shadows onto the grass. I will explain this all in more detail in the manual (+ tutorial files).


Image

Image

Image
Last edited by Phantom107 on Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:38 pm, edited 16 times in total.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby rappet » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:55 pm

rappet Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:55 pm
Many thumbs up!

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby smicha » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:16 am

smicha Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:16 am
rappet wrote:Many thumbs up!


Yes!!! Thanks Guus.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby rappet » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:40 am

rappet Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:40 am
Hey Phantom,
I do foresee problems using this When working in OctaneRender plugins;
"CTRL+V to copy paste it in the camera settings inside Octane. Octane Render has no support to load the camera settings from a file,"

In example the Archicad plugin loads the camera setting from the Archicad camera setup,
So Then it is not possible to paste the camera setting sinto the plugin.
When you have the beta working I will take a close look at it and if I am right, then hopefully face_off (the plugin developer) has a solution.

Greetz,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby face_off » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:58 am

face_off Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:58 am
Nice work Guus!
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13568
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby r-username » Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:09 am

r-username Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:09 am
any discount to license both products at the same time?
i7 960 - W7x64 - 12 GB - 2x GTX 780ti
http://www.startsimple.com/ - http://www.gigavr.com/
r-username
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:23 pm

Phantom107 Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:23 pm
Glad you guys are interested in my latest creation. :)

Rappet, that can indeed be problematic! How cameras work in the plugins is completely beyond my control. So there has to be some way to enter the data, one way or another. It's possible that I could make a function to export the variables into a file, that a plugin would read from it. But indeed, the plugin has to be able to do that.

R-username, there will be, yes!

By the way, I will give a license for free to every current Phantom Scatter user, which will last as long as the remainder of their current license. :!:
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby pegot » Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:22 pm

pegot Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:22 pm
Can this work (or be made to work) with the Octane Panoramic Camera? Say one wanted to integrate 3d elements into a spherical image one was using as an environment texture.
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:39 pm

Phantom107 Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:39 pm
Pegot, currently no, but I have an idea that might work. Nice suggestion, I will look into this post-release. :)
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Photo Match [WIP] Augmented Reality in Octane Render

Postby pegot » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:39 pm

pegot Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:39 pm
Phantom107, If you could get something like that too work it would be amazing additional functionality!
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am
Next

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: p3taotoy and 9 guests

Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:50 pm [ UTC ]