Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?

Forums: Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Re: Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:51 am

bepeg4d Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:51 am
Hi bverde84,
Quadro A4000 is an Ampere GPU so, the only solution is to install an Nvidia driver greater than 456.38, and run Octane 2020.2.1 or greater, with updated Otoy licenses.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8620
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?

Postby cybernoid » Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:57 am

cybernoid Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:57 am
Hang on a minute. I haven't used Octane for a while and I go to use it with my new RTX3090 and it won't work? I understand I won't be able to use the latest and greatest Octane with RTX features without upgrading, and that's fine for now as I am ok with just using Octane 4.

But Octane 4 should still run fine on an RTX GPU as they still support prior Cuda versions. So what is going on?
_________________
Display GPU/ Onboard Intel 4000 HD
Octane GPUs/ GTX 1080 Ti 11GB + GTX 1080 8GB
CPU/ Intel i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz
OS/ Windows 7 64-bit with 32GB RAM
cybernoid
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:31 pm

Re: Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:50 am

bepeg4d Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:50 am
Nothing special, it is always the same, Nvidia makes the rules with CUDA, and Octane is following.
It was the same also with v2 and Pascal GPUs.
V4 is based on CUDA 10, while Ampere GPUs need at least CUDA 11.2, so there is no way yo use new GPUs with V4.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8620
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Will the RTX 3080 work in Octane 4.05-R7?

Postby cybernoid » Thu Oct 14, 2021 6:06 pm

cybernoid Thu Oct 14, 2021 6:06 pm
NO WAY!!!! This is completely false information!

I program CUDA applications. My own CUDA programs written for CUDA 9/10 work absolutely fine without having to recompile on my RTX3090 with only the CUDA11 SDK installed! You can download nVidia's flex physics demo app an example that uses CUDA9 and it works fine on my RTX3090. And you can also see this described in nVidia's documentation on backward compatibility: https://docs.nvidia.com/deploy/cuda-compatibility/

You are either doing something strange or purposely obsoleting prior versions for no good reason!!!

Support your software, and fix this, and stop providing misinformation to customers!!! This is terrible!
_________________
Display GPU/ Onboard Intel 4000 HD
Octane GPUs/ GTX 1080 Ti 11GB + GTX 1080 8GB
CPU/ Intel i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz
OS/ Windows 7 64-bit with 32GB RAM
cybernoid
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:31 pm
Previous

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Fri Oct 15, 2021 10:47 pm [ UTC ]