Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Forums: Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Postby useruser » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:33 pm

useruser Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:33 pm
hello,

it seems that something goes pretty wrong with the system-memorymanagement in c4d when you try to render a sequence with
octane render 2020.1.4 and Dem_Earth V4 (C4D Version R20)

the memoryconsumption rises with every new rendered frame. i have to render some heavy big scenes for a client with a lot of highrez-textures and then after 30-40 frames C4D runs out of memory ( crash on both: octane and c4d)
in the past i renderd these jobs with octane V4 and GTX-only-cards without any problem.
meanwhile i replaced all my GTX-Cards with RTX-Models so i cant step back to octane-render Version 4.
in the attached file i prepared a very simple scene-setup ( C4D R20) but when you start to render you can observe in the win-taskmanager how the memoryconsumption is getting higher and higher at every new rendered frame.

[email protected]
after a quick tests fortunately DEM_Earth seems to works with c4doctane_2019_1_5-R3 without this big memoryleak-problem.


[email protected] also OR V4 supports my new cards.i forgot that: only RTX is not supported. not the cards itself. :)


DEM_Earth_OR_2020.1.zip
(137.5 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Last edited by useruser on Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Workstation: Win 10 PRO 64 bit, 3,4 GHZ ,6-cores, 64 GB RAM , 4x RTX 2080 Ti
1. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit , 3x GTX 980Ti
2. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit 2x GTX 980 Ti
useruser
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:37 pm

Re: Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Postby aoktar » Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:20 pm

aoktar Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:20 pm
I don't have any license for testing your scene.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Postby useruser » Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:51 pm

useruser Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:51 pm
hi ahmet,
thanks a lot for the quick answer!

i will ask the developer paul everett if he can help us with this issue.
Workstation: Win 10 PRO 64 bit, 3,4 GHZ ,6-cores, 64 GB RAM , 4x RTX 2080 Ti
1. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit , 3x GTX 980Ti
2. RenderSlave: Win 10 Pro 64 bit 2x GTX 980 Ti
useruser
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:37 pm

Re: Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Postby aoktar » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:10 pm

aoktar Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:10 pm
useruser wrote:hi ahmet,
thanks a lot for the quick answer!

i will ask the developer paul everett if he can help us with this issue.

Let me know the answer, thanks!
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Memory_Leak OR 2020.1.4 and DEM_Earth 4.00

Postby frankmci » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:40 pm

frankmci Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:40 pm
We use DEM Earth pretty frequently, and haven't seen this problem, but we generally export the mesh and textures so that the scene isn't dependent on the plugin as it moves around from person to person and machine to machine. If you're not directly animating any of the DEM Earth plugin parameters, that might be a good temporary work-around.
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:47 am [ UTC ]