Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Forums: Recursive instance crashes Octane 4
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Postby boxfx » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:12 am

boxfx Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:12 am
Add an instance
Set the reference of the instance to be the same instance
open the octane texture manager
Crash

Octane 4.05-R7
Tested on numerous systems
My guess is Octane is infinitely looping around in the instance
boxfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Postby aoktar » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:14 am

aoktar Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:14 am
Yes exactly, trying to avoid in codes that will give a performance lost
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13697
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Postby frankmci » Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:30 pm

frankmci Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:30 pm
Patient: "Doctor, it really hurts when I stab my leg with an ice pick."
Doctor: "Oh, I see the problem."
Patient: "Can you help me?"
Doctor: "Yes. Don't stab your leg with an ice pick."
:D
Technical Director - C4D, Maya, AE, - Washington DC
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Re: Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Postby boxfx » Sat Feb 29, 2020 10:04 am

boxfx Sat Feb 29, 2020 10:04 am
Well obviously im not doing it on purpose :P I had to trouble shoot a scene that was crashing earlier and it was a premade external asset that had one instance set wrong.
boxfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Recursive instance crashes Octane 4

Postby aoktar » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:37 am

aoktar Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:37 am
boxfx wrote:Well obviously im not doing it on purpose :P I had to trouble shoot a scene that was crashing earlier and it was a premade external asset that had one instance set wrong.

I know! Btw trying to avoid this case gives the performance penalty as my opinion until finding some better ideas. Having more priority for different tasks to add. Anyway thanks for reminding me again.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13697
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Weezer and 2 guests

Tue Dec 01, 2020 7:16 pm [ UTC ]