OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby mbetke » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:07 pm

mbetke Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:07 pm
I could reproduce this sibling button issue, it should be fixed in the next release.
Thanks for the samples !, I'll have a look.


Sounds good!

I have another issue. It seems the copy/instance material doesn't work. I drag&droped a material from Specular to Roughness several times as an instance but when I change the Roughness then the Specular slot keeps it old settings. Like if I just copied it.
PURE3D Visualisierungen
Sys: Intel X5960, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2021.3
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby paride4331 » Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:19 am

paride4331 Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:19 am
HHbomb wrote:
PB displacement.jpg
Hi, I have a problem with displacement, perhaps not related to just this release :
I made a plane, make a material with opacity map, and displacement map.
When using box mapping I have different scale for opacity and displacement.
When using a uvwmap modifier, I have the same scale.
Any idea ?


Hi HHbomb,
it's a displacement texture node limit, you would use the vertex displacement texture node.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3274
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby coilbook » Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:54 am

coilbook Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:54 am
HI PAride,
I attached pflow motion blur scene bug. Can you look at it? Why when I enable MB particles disappear? Am I doing anything wrong. Maybe not right events I choose for mb? Can you use 2019.1.5 version Thanks

I want to add even using MESHER (viewtopic.php?f=81&t=55639) and enabling object mb does nothing. Enabling vertex mb makes mesher diappear Please try 2019.1.5. 8.23
Attachments
mesher.jpg
pflow mb bug.zip
(49.73 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
pflow bug f.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby paride4331 » Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:11 am

paride4331 Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:11 am
coilbook wrote:HI PAride,
I attached pflow motion blur scene bug. Can you look at it? Why when I enable MB particles disappear? Am I doing anything wrong. Maybe not right events I choose for mb? Can you use 2019.1.5 version Thanks

I want to add even using MESHER (viewtopic.php?f=81&t=55639) and enabling object mb does nothing. Enabling vertex mb makes mesher diappear Please try 2019.1.5. 8.23


Hi coilbook,
you forgot to attach the issued scene.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3274
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby coilbook » Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:40 pm

coilbook Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:40 pm
paride4331 wrote:
coilbook wrote:HI PAride,
I attached pflow motion blur scene bug. Can you look at it? Why when I enable MB particles disappear? Am I doing anything wrong. Maybe not right events I choose for mb? Can you use 2019.1.5 version Thanks

I want to add even using MESHER (viewtopic.php?f=81&t=55639) and enabling object mb does nothing. Enabling vertex mb makes mesher diappear Please try 2019.1.5. 8.23


Hi coilbook,
you forgot to attach the issued scene.
Regards
Paride

Hi Paride,
it is. Right between two images above as zip file
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby MartinBoom » Wed Aug 26, 2020 9:45 pm

MartinBoom Wed Aug 26, 2020 9:45 pm
Hi there!

im not being able to ISOLATE a single object to octane viewport to see texture/material etc. in renders a bunch of objetcts not selected/visible in the isolated mode.
tried to make all movevable proxy but it keeps rendering almost everything. any ideas? worked fine in the previous release.
i just figure out if there is something different i need to do to get that workflow back. it's essential!

regards


martin
MartinBoom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby neonZorglub » Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:39 am

neonZorglub Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:39 am
MartinBoom wrote:Hi there!

im not being able to ISOLATE a single object to octane viewport to see texture/material etc. in renders a bunch of objetcts not selected/visible in the isolated mode.
tried to make all movevable proxy but it keeps rendering almost everything. any ideas? worked fine in the previous release.
i just figure out if there is something different i need to do to get that workflow back. it's essential!

regards


martin


Hi Martin,
Thanks for reporting this issue.
It seems the hidden state change is not always detected properly when using Isolate..
This should be fixed in the next release.

For current version:
-It works fine when changing Isolate state while rendering with the viewport, but you may need to press 'rebuild scene' when viewport was closed and re-opened.
-When rendering with the normal 3dsmax 'Render', the change is indeed not detected correctly.

There are 2 ways to fix this for current version:
-Set 'Octane scene persistency' to 'Clear all nodes on Render', in Render setup / Support tab.
-Disable 'Use Direct geometry handler', also in Render setup / Support tab.

Those will ensure the scene and all geometry are re-created when rendering, instead of using previously cached data.
Alternatively, you can manually clear the scene / cached data manually before rendering, from the Octane menu, 'Clear Octane Scene'

I hope that helps,
Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby MartinBoom » Thu Aug 27, 2020 1:00 pm

MartinBoom Thu Aug 27, 2020 1:00 pm
Thanks NeonZorglub!

i can live with that!

im having another issue that i had before...but not for a while (maybe related of the lighting im using and a particular material)

in metallic material- mixed with some diffuse material for details. im having some intense fireflies and cant seem to shake them with with caustic blur at .95 and GI clamp at 16 - not fancy of going lower.
Using hotpixel removal doesnt help with these either.
using pathtracing and they lurk there way over the 5000 samples.
the lights that might be causing this (if it isnt a bug) are Black body emission with an IES (i didnt use IES in Black body emissions lights before and now this give me much lesser noise leveles)
Attachments
intense-firelies.jpg
intense fireflies
MartinBoom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby paride4331 » Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:06 pm

paride4331 Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:06 pm
coilbook wrote:HI PAride,
I attached pflow motion blur scene bug. Can you look at it? Why when I enable MB particles disappear? Am I doing anything wrong. Maybe not right events I choose for mb? Can you use 2019.1.5 version Thanks

I want to add even using MESHER (viewtopic.php?f=81&t=55639) and enabling object mb does nothing. Enabling vertex mb makes mesher diappear Please try 2019.1.5. 8.23


Hi coilbook,
did you try setting "legacy" in Pflow support?
Regards
Paride
Attachments
pfl.jpg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3274
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1.4 - 10.15

Postby coilbook » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:49 pm

coilbook Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:49 pm
paride4331 wrote:
coilbook wrote:HI PAride,
I attached pflow motion blur scene bug. Can you look at it? Why when I enable MB particles disappear? Am I doing anything wrong. Maybe not right events I choose for mb? Can you use 2019.1.5 version Thanks

I want to add even using MESHER (viewtopic.php?f=81&t=55639) and enabling object mb does nothing. Enabling vertex mb makes mesher diappear Please try 2019.1.5. 8.23


Hi coilbook,
did you try setting "legacy" in Pflow support?
Regards
Paride

Thank you it works. It was set as discard.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Apr 17, 2021 12:24 am [ UTC ]