OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:24 am

Elvissuperstar007 Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:24 am
Do not forget about Particle, they do not work

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=56380
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby acc24ex » Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:12 am

acc24ex Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:12 am
BTW anyone having trouble with network rendering, can't seem to connect, did buy another upgrade for 3.0 standalone yesterday, and it all checks out on both machines, same standalone version, firewall off, same network as previous 2.21 kernel - only started using it on max 2017 and this octane version

- anything new to pay attention to in this version and network render thing?

logging stops after
Out-of-core rendering: enabled
Max RAM usage: 8.0 GB
GPU headroom: use default value

...
trying reversing the machines and set my main as the slave and the slave as main, and it worked, but I can't use that .. only found that the logging window stops after GPU headroom: use default value and the healthy one did a few more lines like this :
Started logging on 01.10.16 13:17:51
OctaneRender 3.03.4 (3030004)
Launching net render slave (3030004) with master 192.168.0.10:1025

..BTW see how commerce works out, you fix one thing and people start spending more since I immediately bought the upgrade, it's useful to add more developers and fix stuff that users nag about constantly

EDIT: fixed, it was the firewall - on the master computer .. so some port changed or something (for future reference)
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby acc24ex » Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:51 pm

acc24ex Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:51 pm
OK found a bug, while saving a 1244x7000 directly from render vieport to .jpg I got a max crash.. repeated.. on a x5000 was OK..

solved by first porting to max frame buffer and then saving..
btw should we post this on the bug part of forum, and is this an already know issue?
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:01 am

Elvissuperstar007 Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:01 am
caustic not work
if you add thickness
Attachments
Clip2net_161003135134.png
Clip2net_161003135322.png
Clip2net_161003135656.png
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby Goldisart » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:52 am

Goldisart Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:52 am
+1
Attachments
2016-10-03_13-50-57.png
User avatar
Goldisart
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:47 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:14 pm

paride4331 Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:14 pm
Hi Goldisart and Elvissuperstar007,
about caustics:
There are some known parameters using Octane Render that should not be forgotten.
If you want to have caustic and do not want to have artifacts, the right engine is PMC.
If you want to see caustic effects in your render some correct settings could be:
Caustic Blur: 0.015> 0.030
Gi clamp: at least 10000
parallel samples: 1
The effect of caustic in physics are determined by various well precise factors that generate a more or less pronounced effect.
Reproduce this phenomenon using inappropriate values does not always lead to the desired results.
I am attaching a test scene in octane Octane 2 and 3 produce same response.
It is very useful to report software issue, but much more useful to permit developers to concentrate on real and concrete issues to resolve.
It would be very helpful if before invoking a bug, users did the shrewd tests according to the right knowledge of the software.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
scene-sample.zip
(258.65 KiB) Downloaded 77 times
419.jpg
225.jpg
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2863
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:45 pm

paride4331 Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:45 pm
Hi acc24ex,
I tested your issue, I have not encountered any crash.
could you provide more information to produce your issue or attach a scene which was found the issue?
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2863
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby Goldisart » Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:05 pm

Goldisart Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:05 pm
paride4331 --- !!!!!!---- Yes you are right --- ------ The question is - physically correct and right ? all glass to put FACKE SHADOW ///// because for instance if the glass to position the light source then I believe it is wrong.... - please explain
User avatar
Goldisart
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:47 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:43 pm

paride4331 Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:43 pm
Hi Goldistart,
You reported a "bug" in the version 4.19
I showed you there is no difference between Octane2.25 and Octane4.19
I used fake shadow only to quickly calculate the scenes to show the same result.
Here uploaded the two scenes without fake shadow.
The concept does not change.
correct settings, satisfactory results.
a bug is another thing.
Regards
Paride.
Attachments
419.jpg
225.jpg
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2863
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v3.03.4 - 4.19 [TEST]

Postby acc24ex » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:42 pm

acc24ex Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:42 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi acc24ex,
I tested your issue, I have not encountered any crash.
could you provide more information to produce your issue or attach a scene which was found the issue?
Regards
Paride


.. I think I loaded a scene from 2.21 kernel, where do we send of bugges scenes, also the ones that have some issues converting materials? - just opened a few ones so far
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:36 am [ UTC ]