Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Forums: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates
Forum for OctaneRender Lua scripting examples, discussion and support.

Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby thefishnut » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:42 am

thefishnut Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:42 am
With the new changes in 2.1 or even under the old conditions, would it be possible to create a Lua script to determine the 'in octane' coordinates of a selected location? In the same way that the camera target/picking mode selects a point of rotation, could we use this tool and extract the coordinates it is rotating around for use with a placement node?

This would be extremely helpful for work flow when there are situations where it is just easier to load in a pre textured obj model such as a tree, and position it within the octane interface. Rather than either using a scatter file or the original modelling program and re-exporting.

Many Thanks,
Chris.
Win 8 64 | 2 x Geforce GTX780 6gb | i7 4790k | 32GB
thefishnut
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby thefishnut » Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:33 pm

thefishnut Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:33 pm
If anyone can help me with this I would be greatly appreciative. I find my self in the position of needing to fill out my scenes with objects that have been pre textured and packaged as obrx files. I use revit to model and have the revit plugin, but the plugin is incapable of using the obrx as a proxy. This means I either use the octane revit plugin solely, and re-texture all my obj's that I would like to proxy, (while also dealing with the revit plugins limiting interface, navigating, and speed.) Or I exporting my scene from revit with the plugin, texture my scene within the octane standalone (which is significantly more user friendly), and then find my self frustrated trying to move a proxied tree to the correct coordinates, one slider at a time.

While I understand that it is octanes intention to be a pure rendering portal of sorts. The ability to simply determine coordinates would often negate the need to jump back and forth between platforms for every little detail.

Is there a way to achieve this in octane with Lua? Or is this even an possible feature request? I can't imagine it would be complicated.

Many Thanks,
Chris.
Win 8 64 | 2 x Geforce GTX780 6gb | i7 4790k | 32GB
thefishnut
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby thefishnut » Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:39 am

thefishnut Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:39 am
Any response from any on at all on this would be greatly appreciated.
Win 8 64 | 2 x Geforce GTX780 6gb | i7 4790k | 32GB
thefishnut
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby grimm » Mon Nov 03, 2014 1:09 am

grimm Mon Nov 03, 2014 1:09 am
Hi,

It sounds like you don't need a Lua script to do what you wish to do. You can use a placement node and move your object to any coordinate you would like. You can also change the object's rotation and scale as well. The placement node is in the "Geometry" sub-menu.

Jason
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.31
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA

Re: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby thefishnut » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:08 am

thefishnut Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:08 am
Hi Jason,
Thanks for the reply, I didn't notice it :)

It sounds like you don't need a Lua script to do what you wish to do. You can use a placement node and move your object to any coordinate you would like. You can also change the object's rotation and scale as well. The placement node is in the "Geometry" sub-menu.


I realise this is possible. However it is by far easy, especially when a scene is very large. A script potentially pulling the coordinates picked by the 'camera target picking node' and either reporting them or placing them as a transformation node would be amazingly helpful.

:)
Win 8 64 | 2 x Geforce GTX780 6gb | i7 4790k | 32GB
thefishnut
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Possible Lua Script for determining coordinates

Postby ParviainenArk » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:50 am

ParviainenArk Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:50 am
At least for MODO there's a user-made script called "Modo to Octane scatter" that takes the transform coordinates of your selection (inside Modo) and generates a .txt file with the coordinates that can then be directly input into a Scatter node inside Octane. This is a very handy tool since you can use proxies for stuff like vegetation, cars, people etc (even using a particle system to distribute them) and then in Octane you can use the Scatter node to distribute high-resolution render meshes to the proxy locations.

I don't think you can currently export a coordinate list of proxy objects directly from Revit. You need a 3D package such as Modo or 3ds Max to prepare your scene in this way. A "copy transform coordinates from picked point" tool would be a useful tool indeed. :)
ParviainenArk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:40 am

Return to Lua Scripting


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:17 pm [ UTC ]