NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5

Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5

Postby RayTracey » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:34 am

Howdy folks!

It's been quite a while since our last release, but as abstrax elaborately explained in this development update, Octane had to be completely taken apart to its elementary building blocks and carefully reassembled piece by piece - which turned out to be a humongous amount of work - to accommodate some very powerful new features that will make Octane slicker than ever and extremely attractive for animation rendering.

One of these brand spanking new features is support for the Alembic file format which is coming in OctaneRender 1.5. Alembic is rapidly becoming the standard in the vfx industry to efficiently store a baked representation of animated scene data (i.e. animated vertex positions and animated transforms that result from an arbitrarily complex animation and simulation process). With Octane 1.5, it will be possible to render an animation that was exported from your favourite modeling app to the Alembic format with the Octane standalone version or send it off to the cloud for blazingly fast rendering with Octane Cloud edition.

One of the more fundamental changes in Octane 1.5 is the addition of the concept of time represented in the UI by a time slider and shutter time attribute, which allow you to scrub through an animation in real-time with motion blur (only camera motion blur in Octane 1.5):

alembic_test2.png
alembic_cam_moblur.png


In the following video (rendered in real-time on 4x GTX 680), we've imported a camera path that was originally created in Maya and exported to Alembic format. We can preview the animation in real-time and alter the shutter speed, resulting in more or less camera motion blur. (the animation scrubbing is actually much smoother in real life (~25 fps) than what you see in the video because of full screen capturing).




More previews to come soon, so stay seated/tuned... (moving/deformable meshes and primary visibility are next)

Cheers!

The OctaneRender team
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby ch0pper » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:44 am

I think I may have wet my self :D
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:46 am

Wow RT!!.. very cool! :lol:

Will there be an animation render target that will save out sequence frames (png, exr etc)?
Win7x64Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 2x EVGA 980Ti Hybrid + 1x EVGA 780Ti SC || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || NZXT H630 || LightWave Plug
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby RayTracey » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:05 am

FrankPooleFloating wrote:Wow RT!!.. very cool! :lol:

Will there be an animation render target that will save out sequence frames (png, exr etc)?


Thanks! The new scripting feature that is also coming in Octane 1.5 will allow you to render and save image sequences and specify every parameter per frame of the animation such as the amount of samples per pixel, sun position, DOF, post processing fx, white balance, ... You could also render for example only each 3rd frame for fast previews. With scripting the possibilities are virtually endless, it's very powerful.
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby pixelrush » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:01 am

Cool!
Would it be possible to leverage this to enter a series of way points for a fly-through camera path (smooth curve)? Sort of like using 'empties' in Blender or perhaps like 'instances' in Octane....ie a null point able to be moved/edited and then scrubbed through to verify the intent. I guess I mean is it likely Octane will have some basic animation capability within it? I think this capabilty was hypothesised back when @radiance was around.
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby RayTracey » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:34 am

pixelrush wrote:Cool!
Would it be possible to leverage this to enter a series of way points for a fly-through camera path (smooth curve)? Sort of like using 'empties' in Blender or perhaps like 'instances' in Octane....ie a null point able to be moved/edited and then scrubbed through to verify the intent. I guess I mean is it likely Octane will have some basic animation capability within it? I think this capabilty was hypothesised back when @radiance was around.


Yes, it's possible through scripting. You can either feed the script a camera position/angle for each frame or write a function that smoothly interpolates between a few viewpoints/angles. You can also move objects along a scripted path (I've tried it and it works great, it's crazy what's possible with scripting). In the unlikely event that you don't want to learn Lua scripting, we will provide a few sample scripts that you can muck around with and extend to your liking.
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby ch0pper » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:13 am

ok just a quick question if you could answer this for me

Hypothetically if I have an entire scene that say in 3-D studio Max with octane plug-in

Could I export that entire scene to say cinema 4D.

And it would export all the cameras all the lighting all the objects all the shaders.

etc?

(Yes I do understand this is just for the stand-alone version at this time but I would expect this to be exported out into the plug-ins at some point)
W7 64 bit |I7-3970X | GTX 780 X2(6GB) GTX 780TI X2 | 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Real Skin & real hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender/iray - coming soon
User avatar
ch0pper
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: uk

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby pixelrush » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:03 am

> yes its possible

well I guess I am going to be learning Lua then... :D

keep up the good work guys. looking forward to Otoy's xmas present.... :)
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby PolderAnimation » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:13 am

I am not sure if I understand correctly but is it also possible to scrub through animated vertex positions and animated transforms?
Or is only camera animation supported at the moment? Thnx for the update guy's!
Win 7 64bit | 8 x 780ti | i7 4770 | 32GB
User avatar
PolderAnimation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: NEW : Preview of OctaneRender 1.5 Alembic file support

Postby m.arc.in » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:00 am

Really impressive!

I'm afraid that the preparation of the script will be too difficult.
Will there be a tutorial? Step by step showing how to do all this?
win7 64/core i7 920/18GB RAM/ 3x GTX 580 3GB/ blender 2.49/2.69 / Rhino 5,0/ octane 1.50
win7 64/core i5-460M/4GB RAM/GTX 460M 1,5GB/ blender 2.49/2.69 / Rhino 5,0/ octane 1.50(ASUS G73JW)
User avatar
m.arc.in
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:16 am
Location: RQM45
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:00 am [ UTC ]