OctaneRender for ArchiCAD released

Forums: OctaneRender for ArchiCAD released
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

OctaneRender for ArchiCAD released

Postby abreukers » Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:44 am

abreukers Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:44 am
We are very pleased to announce the availability of OctaneRender™ for Graphisoft® ArchiCAD, developed by Paul Kinnane using OctaneRender's SDK. No more switching between applications, this plugin embeds the OctaneRender™ GPU-based rendering engine directly into Graphisoft® ArchiCAD.

OctaneRender™ is currently recognized by many industry professionals and 3d graphic visualization artists as the most advanced and fastest GPU-based physically-based render engine with an advanced and flexible node-based workflow and user-interface. Now, with our new plugin products, you can have the most advanced, fastest physically-based render engine on the market tightly integrated into your 3d modeling and animation software.

This new plugin will provide a fast workflow and rendering pipeline suitable for interactive editing and fast final rendering output by using ArchiCAD's environment for scene setup. Fine-tuning all parameters for objects, materials, lights, media are done all from inside ArchiCAD.



OctaneArchiCAD_Jeroen.jpg
Tapperworks-printscreen-130307-04.jpg
Tapperworks-printscreen-130307-03.jpg
Tapperworks_Testrender_Qshape-03.jpg
Tapperworks-printscreen-130307-02.jpg
Tapperworks-printscreen-130307-01.jpg
LiveDB.png


ARCHICAD VERSION REQUIREMENTS

This release requires ArchiCAD 14, 15 or 16, 32 and 64bit, on Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8. The version for ArchiCAD 14 has slightly less features than the versions for ArchiCAD 15 and 16 (see Limitations below for details).


FEATURES/FUNCTIONALITY

This initial release includes:
- Loading of the ArchiCAD scene into the OctaneRender engine and rendering to the Viewport
- Ability to change any camera, resolution, environment, imager, kernel or postprocessing setting (as per Octane Standalone)
- Individual Cuda devices can be enabled/disabled
- OctaneRender Viewport tracks the ArchiCAD camera position, direction and fov (view cone)
- The render can be paused, continued and saved
- Mouse click the Viewport to set the focus distance
- When "daylight" lit, the sun direction is taken from the ArchiCAD sun position (this is the case for fly-thru and sun studies too)
- The ArchiCAD PhotoRender can be set to OctaneRender, in which case PhotoRender Projections, Sun Studies and Fly-Throughs all use the currently set OctaneRender settings
- All scene material are converted to OctaneRender materials according to configuration rules
- Octane Materials can be saved as Defaults for a certain ArchiCAD material
- Materials can be exported and imported into other materials
- Materials and nodes can be copy and pasted
- Progressive Save can be enabled to save the current render at certain sample periods
- The LiveDB can be accessed to load an Octane material into the current material
- Select an ArchiCAD element and the materials for the element can be selected from to view the Octane material for that ArchiCAD material
- Rendertarget settings can be saved as a Default (or loaded from Default)
- Quicklinks to setup environmental (Image-Based) lighting or sunlight lighting

A range of potential enhancements are being considered for future releases, including:
- Instancing
- Navigation via the OctaneRender viewport (and saving back to an ArchiCAD view)
- Geometry proxies (so external OBJ files can be included in the scene)
- Material Wizard
- Save a rendertarget for each View
- Turntable animation


COMPATIBILITY AND OCTANERENDER STANDALONE REQUIREMENT

To run OctaneRender™ for ArchiCAD, you need to have an activated OctaneRender™ Standalone copy on the machine you wish to
install the plugin onto. You cannot purchase only the ArchiCAD plugin and use it without also owning an activated copy of OctaneRender™
Standalone on your machine.


DEMO VERSION AVAILABLE

A demo version will be available shortly.


FACEBOOK PAGE

If you want to keep up to date on the latest OctaneRender for ArchiCAD news, make sure to "Like" this page:

http://www.facebook.com/octanerenderforarchicad



HOW TO PURCHASE LICENSES

Go to our online shop here: http://render.otoy.com/shop/

A license for the plugin product alone will cost 99 € while in the initial open beta phase, and 199 € when the final version of the plugin
is released.

The plugin will require the user to have a valid OctaneRender™ Standalone version installed and activated. If you don't have an OctaneRender
license yet, you can purchase both the plugin and the engine/standalone licenses as one bundle during the beta phase for 279 euros.


You can also purchase a 3, 5 or 10 pack of OctaneRender™ for Poser licenses, just like OctaneRender™ Standalone Edition packs.


INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS

Please follow the installation instructions in the manual (included in the ZIP file). There is one installer for both 32 and 64 bit versions of each of ArchiCAD 14, 15 and 16.

Once installed, run ArchiCAD and confirm the installation via Options->Add-On Manager, and check to ensure there are tick beside "OctaneRender for ArchiCAD" and "OctaneRender Renderer". If there is a red "!" symbol, then the plugin did not load, and this is most likely because you do not have up to date Nvidia drivers loaded.


OCTANELIVE®

Just like OctaneRender Standalone, The ArchiCAD plugin product also needs an OctaneLive license and be activated on a machine.
This has to be done in the plugin interface, and is covered in the manual. It can only be done after an OctaneRender Standalone
license is already activated on the machine in question.


NVIDIA DRIVER REQUIREMENTS

This version requires video driver 301.42 or higher.

It is also highly recommended that you have your Windows display adapter set to a non-Octane rendering graphics card (ie. your on-board graphics card, or a second graphics card).


LIMITATIONS

- materials selection (to auto-populate the "Select from Selection" combo box on the Materials tab of the plug, does not work unless you are viewing a 3d perspective window.
- Changing an element's material will not automatically select the new material in the Materials tab of the plugin. You will need to select another element, and then re-select the original element to get the "Select from Selection" combo box to populate the new material
- To use the material picker (Materials Tab -> "Select from Selection") on Curtain Wall objects, put the Curtain Wall in edit mode
- The ArchiCAD Perspective camera roll angle is not transposed to the Octane thinlens "up" pin. If you need to rotate the render, manually adjust the "up" vector.
- Image map rotation is not current supported by OctaneRender, so any rotation of texturemaps in ArchiCAD materials is ignored in the texture conversion to Octane.
- GDL materials of the same name, for different objects, are merged to be one Octane material
- On ArchiCAD 14
1) selecting from the "Select from Selection" popup is disabled (ie. you cannot choose from the materials of the currently selected scene element). Instead, you will need to select materials in the plugin Materials tab via the "Select from Materials" popup.
2) When doing a photorender, sun study or flythrough, the render viewport may not display the render as it progresses. This is a GUI display issue, and the render is working as per normal


ISSUE RESOLUTION

If you have any issues, please report them here, and include the following information:

- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- 32 or 64 bit
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version
- ArchiCAD version (ArchiCAD -> Help -> License Information -> Version and Build Number

In the unlikely event of a crash, pls provide the dump report from the C:\Users\[username]\Graphisoft\BugReporting-[version] folder (on Win 7). Either post or email (to "paul at physicalc-consulting.com") the "ArchiCAD-XXXXXX-FATAL.RPT" file from this folder.

Cheers to all,
from the OctaneRender™ Team


>>> Post Update:
More videos of this plugin in action: http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29154&start=31
i72630QM @ 2.00GHz | 6GB RAM | 2GB GeForce GT 540M | Win7 64bit
abreukers
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:28 am

Re: OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 beta available

Postby ashurao » Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:18 pm

ashurao Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:18 pm
Yeah, wonderfull !!!

Windows only ………… oh nooooooooo!! :cry: An idea of ​​the release date for the Mac version?
Mac Pro 2010 6 cores 3,33 - Mac OS 10.11.6 - 16Go - GTX 780 3Go and GT 640 4Go - Archicad 19 - Cinema 4D R17 Visualise - Octane Render V3
ashurao
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 beta available

Postby face_off » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:59 am

face_off Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:59 am
An idea of ​​the release date for the Mac version?

Unsure on the Mac version scheduling. There is not yet a Mac version of the Octane API available. But once it does become available - I would have thought it would take approx 4 weeks to do the conversion and get it tested.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12913
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby Pierre » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:40 am

Pierre Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:40 am
awesome
Sketchup/ArtchiCad
i7-3770, 16,0GB RAM, GTX690

http://www.pierreganlut.fr/
Pierre
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:12 am
Location: Lyon France

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby Steve Jepson » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:40 am

Steve Jepson Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:40 am
Great. Can't wait to compare to Maxwell Render 2.7.3 plug in for ArchiCAD. I hope is works on the Demo version I just downloaded.
Steve Jepson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby CUmirco » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:50 am

CUmirco Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:50 am
Hi all.

I'm a Graphisoft betatester.

If you want I can test octane Render with Archicad.

Regards.

CU mirco
CUmirco
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 10:43 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby Qstu » Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:19 pm

Qstu Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:19 pm
Excellent, when can we expect the demo version for ArchiCAD
Qstu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:17 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby face_off » Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:40 pm

face_off Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:40 pm
Excellent, when can we expect the demo version for ArchiCAD

If should be available in the next 4 weeks. In the meantime, the demo version of Octane Standalone will give you a good idea how Octane will run on your hardware, and the tutorial video above shows the plugin workflow.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12913
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby face_off » Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:43 pm

face_off Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:43 pm
I'm a Graphisoft betatester.

If you want I can test octane Render with Archicad.

Regards.

CU mirco

I assume you mean test with ArchiCAD 17? Based on previous versions of ArchiCAD, I expect the ArchiCAD 17 API to be incompatible with the ArchiCAD 16 API, so I would not expect the ArchiCAD 16 plugin to work with ArchiCAD 17. I will need to re-compile the plugin against the ArchiCAD 17 API.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12913
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for ArchiCAD v1.10 released

Postby CUmirco » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:16 pm

CUmirco Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:16 pm
I assume you mean test with ArchiCAD 17? Based on previous versions of ArchiCAD, I expect the ArchiCAD 17 API to be incompatible with the ArchiCAD 16 API,


Now Archicad 17 is in Alpha version, but yes the 17's SDK is different.
CUmirco
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 10:43 pm
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:38 pm [ UTC ]