Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Forums: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby lakris » Thu May 09, 2013 11:32 am

lakris Thu May 09, 2013 11:32 am
So excited! :D
Win 10 - 64 bit, Intel Corei7-7800X CPU @ 3.50GHZ, 32 gb ram, 2x Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB, OctaneRender for Blender - The most recent stable build -
lakris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:27 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby acestudio » Mon May 13, 2013 8:50 pm

acestudio Mon May 13, 2013 8:50 pm
Yes. Thanks Jim! You're very welcome!
Alessandro NC
Brasil

Core 17 [email protected] ghz | 16 gb ram | Windows 7 | Geforce GTX 580 1536
User avatar
acestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby orion_uk » Tue May 14, 2013 11:03 pm

orion_uk Tue May 14, 2013 11:03 pm
Great work JimStar/Otoy :D

So, we get the plugin/patch (which does NOT violate GPL due to wise/clever coding & planning methods)..

Blender handles/translates GPL related side of things internally, BUT said plugin/patch sends info over network to Otoy which handles the non GPL side of things and said data is sent back to Blender in a way that does not violate GPL still?

The plugin/patch is GIVEN away as a FREE tool (GPL), BUT, the user is paying Otoy/Dev for an Octane Render service/account (NON GPL) ?

Pure guess work from the uninformed in these areas...ME!

So, by how many light years is my understanding off? :lol:
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Wed May 15, 2013 1:35 am

JimStar Wed May 15, 2013 1:35 am
orion_uk wrote:Great work JimStar/Otoy :D

So, we get the plugin/patch (which does NOT violate GPL due to wise/clever coding & planning methods)..

Blender handles/translates GPL related side of things internally, BUT said plugin/patch sends info over network to Otoy which handles the non GPL side of things and said data is sent back to Blender in a way that does not violate GPL still?

The plugin/patch is GIVEN away as a FREE tool (GPL), BUT, the user is paying Otoy/Dev for an Octane Render service/account (NON GPL) ?

Pure guess work from the uninformed in these areas...ME!

So, by how many light years is my understanding off? :lol:

Not exactly that way...;)
You will not be forced to render remotely on the Otoy's side - the rendering will be done locally on your machine, in the Octane render-server.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3547
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby orion_uk » Wed May 15, 2013 9:08 am

orion_uk Wed May 15, 2013 9:08 am
aaaaaaahh...right ;)
8-)
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby MattRM » Wed May 15, 2013 11:10 am

MattRM Wed May 15, 2013 11:10 am
Hi JimStar,

An idea when the first beta/alpha plugins will be released ?

Thank you

Matt
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Wed May 15, 2013 9:18 pm

JimStar Wed May 15, 2013 9:18 pm
MattRM wrote:Hi JimStar,

An idea when the first beta/alpha plugins will be released ?

Thank you

Matt

The big difference between Blender plugin and all other plugins regarding alpha-test start - is the nature of GPL. As one of requirements of GPL is: anybody who got the binaries of GPLed program can demand the sources from the binaries publisher. Even if they are just the alpha-testing binaries. So, if in other plugins we can start alpha-stage a way before the stage the Blender plugin is now, not having the risk to accidentally open some proprietary things in code - in the case of Blender I should recheck and refactor the code many and many times, to be absolutely sure that it has no proprietary information leaks and is ready for publishing.
But all this has a good sideeffect: in the alpha-stage the plugin will be almost in the production quality.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3547
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby MattRM » Thu May 16, 2013 1:43 pm

MattRM Thu May 16, 2013 1:43 pm
Hi Jimstar,

Oki I understand. So I'm waiting ;) . Hope will be released fast (my dream :) )

Thanks,

Matt
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby megacal » Mon May 20, 2013 12:29 pm

megacal Mon May 20, 2013 12:29 pm
JimStar,

glad to see you are in Auckland now. Would love to visit NZ some day.

Thanks for all your time & work to make it happen for Blender.....what a PITA! :roll:

Hope you are taking time to enjoy life, too.

Many thanks! :)
2 GPUs: Zotac GTX 580 1.5gb Amp! GPU for Octane....Galaxy 210 1gb for display
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955,3.2 ghz RAM: 8gb OS: Win7 64
megacal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:58 pm
Location: Escondido, California, USA

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby overtime » Sun May 26, 2013 5:37 pm

overtime Sun May 26, 2013 5:37 pm
Very interested for the blender exporter! Happy to pay for exporter (via some GPL workaround) if octane suits my needs.

Hopefully it won't require much input from octane studio and we can store material information in .blend to reuse assets.

I hope we can see something in the coming months. :)
overtime
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Hobart, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:04 am [ UTC ]