The video card dose not responds.

Forums: The video card dose not responds.
Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

The video card dose not responds.

Postby calvados » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:51 pm

calvados Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:51 pm
From V3.07, I meet offen trouble that "The video card dose not responds."
But it is not always, it is some time.
Case of animation rendering, first frame can render complete, but second frame get this trouble very offen.

From V3.08.2, this trouble is always, dose not rendering complete, because always meet this trouble.

This trouble same as PMC and Path Tracing.

At the first, I feel this is trouble of hardware, but I found that this trouble has linkage of parameter that Kernel - Parallel Samples, case of 1, it is less trouble than case of 8 or 16.

I feel this trouble is not hardware, may be GDP software.

If you need this sample of scene, I can submit this, please inform me.
Attachments
VideoNotRenponse.jpg
Trouble
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby face_off » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:55 pm

face_off Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:55 pm
It sounds like the render is not starting. What does the Devices tab show pls? And can you also show the Octane Log window pls.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12850
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby calvados » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:40 pm

calvados Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:40 pm
This trouble occurs during rendering.
The timing of occurrence is irregular and may occur immediately or in some cases after rendering approaches max sample.
Once in this state, I can save the rendering result so far, but the image will not be saved.
Also, even if it is reset by Cuda Device Tab, it can not be restarted and it can not be processed unless it is rebooted.
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby calvados » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:15 pm

calvados Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:15 pm
I update nVidia Driver Version 398.11 to Version 398.82, today.
I feel it is more stable than older version, I will more report again.
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby calvados » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:35 pm

calvados Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:35 pm
Case of Version 398.82, I meet following error on Octane V3.8.2.
I feel Octane V3.7 is more working.

Octane stop same error.

by View Log

Started logging on 10.08.18 02:11:36

OctaneRender 3.08.2 (3080200)

CUDA error 715 on device 1: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> kernel execution failed(kernel25)
CUDA error 715 on device 0: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> kernel execution failed(kernel25)
CUDA error 715 on device 1: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel34)
CUDA error 715 on device 0: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel34)
device 1: PMC kernel failed
device 0: PMC kernel failed
CUDA error 715 on device 2: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> kernel execution failed(kernel25)
CUDA error 715 on device 2: an illegal instruction was encountered
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel34)
device 2: PMC kernel failed
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby face_off » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:20 pm

face_off Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:20 pm
You have not provided the information I requested above, so it is hard for me to help you.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12850
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby wimvdb » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:55 am

wimvdb Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:55 am
I use 398.36 with the 1080ti and it is very stable for me. I had troubles with later versions of the driver.
Scene size does not seem to matter, i have been rendering up to 20 million polygons.

Give Paul as much information you cane, it can give a clue about what is going on.
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: The video card dose not responds.

Postby calvados » Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:49 am

calvados Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:49 am
Thank you for information of your version of nVidia Driver, wimvdb.

I roll back to 398.36, and test it.

It is same situation, not stable on my environment.

I fell that this problem has relationship of version of nVidia Driver, but it is not root of trouble.

I meet this trouble, it is Just same timing of new lighting set up of sense.
It is small portion of environment light with 3 Spot light as Main, sub and Back.
This 3 light has link with one Group object, it is always change by camera direction.

This sense has rot of trouble in animation, it has change camera position each flame and change change light group direction.

I use Octane Render Animation rendering with reload all of information on each frame, and I meet this trouble , may be 2-5 frame later. Some time it is make system clash or Poser abnormal end. Specially, change camera X rotate, this trouble must be occur.

Some time, Octane View port is just white or noise on first frame, this mean Octane Render missing rendering all.

Case of this trouble, Windows is quite unstable, if I will try again it, Octane has no response or Windows Clash(50%).

And, if I dose not use animation rendering, it mean that I make situation on Poser, I bring up Octane for Poser, and I push Button of ViewPort, this case is more stable but I meet same trouble some time. This case, I will stop rendering it by manually, and I increase frame no on Poser, I push reload button on Octane for Poser, this is manually control animation rendering.

The Previous version of Octane is more good result than newest version, because newest version can't rendering until complete that is 6400 samples. May be 30% proceeded, I meet this trouble.

I test older lighting setup, it is stable, it is fixed lights.

I feel that octane has some trouble with Lighting setup or under animation control.

This situation of sense is a little of " sexually explicit scenes of characters", therefore I can't upload here directory, I must test minimum configuration with out characters, may be it need 1-2 days. Therefore I will try it by request, if support stuff need this troubled sense, please inform it.

If I dose not use
calvados
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:58 am

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Dec 15, 2018 12:33 pm [ UTC ]