Octane and DSON

Forums: Octane and DSON
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Octane and DSON

Postby tangles » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:38 am

tangles Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:38 am
Octane does not appear to handle DSON imports too well as shown in the attached renders.

The scene consists of two characters: M4 and M5. M5 was imported into Poser using DSON. I used MEC4D's utility to convert the UV mapping for M5 to M4 and applied the same textures to both figures.

The first render used Octane whilst the second used the Poser Firefly renderer. The M5 character in the Octane render shows artefacts (the black "darts" on the shoulder and torso) that are not present in the Firefly render. The only tweaking I did to the Octane scene was to hide the extremely annoying eyebrow on the M4 figure.

Do I need to change the UV mapping parameters in Octane? If so, how is it done?
Attachments
M4-M5-octane.jpg
M4-M5-firefly.jpg
Win7-64bit on i7-3770, 16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 660Ti 4Gb
tangles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:45 am

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby face_off » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:01 am

face_off Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:01 am
Hi Tangles

When reporting an issue, can you pls supply the info requested in the thread http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=29286.

Are you using sub level 2?

Have you tried adjusting the rayepsilon?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13556
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby tangles » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:44 am

tangles Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:44 am
Sorry for posting this in the wrong place. I tried looking for the Poser thread but couldn't find it (I'm a newbie to this forum and forum navigation has never been my strong point).

System details:
Intel i7
Win 7 64-bit
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti
NVIDIA Driver 314.07
Poser 9.0.3.23027
Octane V. 1.10 Poser Plugin 1.0 beta

I changed the mesh sublevel to 2.0 and reloaded into Octane. The result is attached. The artifacts are even worse. From the location of the mouth texture it looks like Octane might be using the M5 rather than the M4 UV maps for the Genesis figure on the right. Also, the M5 figure does not appear to be properly smoothed (most obvious on shoulders). The Poser render is essentially identical to the one I posted earlier.
Attachments
M4-M5-octane2.png
Win7-64bit on i7-3770, 16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 660Ti 4Gb
tangles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:45 am

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby face_off » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:56 pm

face_off Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:56 pm
Hi Tangles. Can you pls install version1.11u of the Poser plugin (via the above link) and let me know if the problem is still occurring.

Thanks.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13556
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby tangles » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:52 am

tangles Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:52 am
Sorry if I seem a bit dense (it's been a long day) but does "the above link" mean the "downloads" link at the top of the page? That just takes me to the demo/buy now page.

Bill
Win7-64bit on i7-3770, 16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 660Ti 4Gb
tangles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:45 am

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby face_off » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:15 am

face_off Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:15 am
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13556
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby tangles » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:03 am

tangles Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:03 am
Dear Paul,

I have installed v.11.

The render plugin appears to work OK with non-DSON scenes. I have tried a few of my older scenes and they seem to render fine. However the test scene with the Genesis figure now fails. When I start the render plug-in it gets as far as displaying the message:

Checking and Converting Materials. Please wait...

It then stops and displays the following error information:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 10431, in ShowOctaneOptionsWindow
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 7483, in Init
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 8805, in refreshScene
File "C:\Program Files\Smith Micro\Poser Pro 2012\Runtime\Python\addons\OctaneRender for Poser\OctanePlugin.py", line 9774, in copyMeshToOctane
WindowsError: exception: access violation reading 0x0000000000000031

Bill
Win7-64bit on i7-3770, 16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 660Ti 4Gb
tangles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:45 am

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby face_off » Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:06 am

face_off Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:06 am
Hi Bill

I just doubled checked my version (1.11u-3) and Genesis is rendering fine - so there must be something specific with your installation or version of Genesis which is generating the error.

Would it be possible to send me the most basic scene that gives this error pls? My email address is paul at physicalc-software.com. Or even your exact workflow (ie. load DAZ People->Genesis, load Materials->DAZ Genesis->Sample Lana Wetsuit, etc) so that I can try to reproduce the error.

Also, a copy of the octaneplugin.log would assist greatly.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13556
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Octane and DSON

Postby face_off » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:27 am

face_off Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:27 am
For other people's benefit - this issue has been resolved, and it was caused to using a very early version of DSON. If using Genesis, make sure you are using DSON version 1.0.0.27 or later.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13556
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:00 pm [ UTC ]