OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Mon May 04, 2020 2:06 am

face_off Mon May 04, 2020 2:06 am
If someone could send me a scene containing basic primitives or standalone DAZStudio figures, that crashes the plugin on the STABLE version of DAZStudio, that would help me track the problem down. I have not yet been able to reproduce this crash.

Not sure where else to report this, but since upgrading to the latest version of Daz Studio ( 4.12.1.117 ), Daz will not shut down after closing the its UI - it can be seen in Task Manager with the same memory allocation and no Processor cycles, sitting indefinitely until force-closed.
I can replicate this issue on the BETA build of DAZStudio. Tracing through the DAZStudio shutdown process shows that the Octane plugin is being successfully closed. I think DAZ would need to trace through their code to see what the issue is.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby wader » Mon May 04, 2020 4:06 am

wader Mon May 04, 2020 4:06 am
face_off wrote:If someone could send me a scene containing basic primitives or standalone DAZStudio figures, that crashes the plugin on the STABLE version of DAZStudio, that would help me track the problem down. I have not yet been able to reproduce this crash.

Not sure where else to report this, but since upgrading to the latest version of Daz Studio ( 4.12.1.117 ), Daz will not shut down after closing the its UI - it can be seen in Task Manager with the same memory allocation and no Processor cycles, sitting indefinitely until force-closed.
I can replicate this issue on the BETA build of DAZStudio. Tracing through the DAZStudio shutdown process shows that the Octane plugin is being successfully closed. I think DAZ would need to trace through their code to see what the issue is.

Paul


Thanks Paul, I'll report this to Daz and see if they respond - it's weird, because I dowloaded the latest Public (i.e., beta) build to my system and that does not hang, but the general release does hang. One way or another, their release is having issues here.

On the crash-at-start-of-first rendering issue, I haven't found a scene with only primitives or Daz public figures that causes this issue, but will keep looking.
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | i7 4770K | ASUS Z87-WS | 32GB |{(2x) Titan X Pascal 12GB + ASUS ROG STRIX 2080 RTX 8GB}
wader
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:38 am

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Mon May 04, 2020 4:54 am

face_off Mon May 04, 2020 4:54 am
On the crash-at-start-of-first rendering issue, I haven't found a scene with only primitives or Daz public figures that causes this issue, but will keep looking.
I have now been sent a scene which demonstrates this issue, and was able to reproduce it on my system. I have passed on the details on to OTOY, as the crash is happening inside Octane.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Sun May 10, 2020 2:30 pm

rajib Sun May 10, 2020 2:30 pm
Hi Paul,

None of the procedural LiveDB materials works in the plugin. Please add support. Can't even open them in NGE.

Regards,
Rajib
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Mon May 11, 2020 6:18 am

face_off Mon May 11, 2020 6:18 am
rajib wrote:Hi Paul,

None of the procedural LiveDB materials works in the plugin. Please add support. Can't even open them in NGE.

Regards,
Rajib
I don't see any procedural materials in the LiveDb in Octane Standalone.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Tue May 12, 2020 5:30 pm

rajib Tue May 12, 2020 5:30 pm
face_off wrote:
rajib wrote:Hi Paul,

None of the procedural LiveDB materials works in the plugin. Please add support. Can't even open them in NGE.

Regards,
Rajib
I don't see any procedural materials in the LiveDb in Octane Standalone.

Paul


Here is a screen shot of the procedural textures in the Octane stand alone 2020.1
Octane2020SAProceduralTextures.jpg
2020.1 Procedural Textures


I can see them in the Daz Plugin.
Daz2020PluginProceduralTextures.jpg
Daz Plug 2020.1 Procedural Textures


But they can't be used. E.g. I tried to drag and drop the Fire Emitter Texture from the Procedural section to the Cube->Default. It allowed me to drop (and create the copy of Fire Emitter automatically) but it won't set. Clicking the Cube Default shows nothing set.

CantUse.jpg
Fire Emitter Procedural Texture can't be used.


Some with patterns do allow you to drop but don't show the patterns in the rendeer. And under the NGE they look like not supported nodes.

Can you please check. Thanks.
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed May 13, 2020 12:57 am

face_off Wed May 13, 2020 12:57 am
Here is a screen shot of the procedural textures in the Octane stand alone 2020.1
They are Octane Textures, not Octane Materials, so cannot be loaded as a material into the DAStudio plugin.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Wed May 13, 2020 5:16 am

rajib Wed May 13, 2020 5:16 am
face_off wrote:
Here is a screen shot of the procedural textures in the Octane stand alone 2020.1
They are Octane Textures, not Octane Materials, so cannot be loaded as a material into the DAStudio plugin.

Paul


So when can be have support for Octane Textures in the Daz Octane Plugin ?
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed May 13, 2020 11:09 am

face_off Wed May 13, 2020 11:09 am
So when can be have support for Octane Textures in the Daz Octane Plugin ?
I think it would be pretty complex to implement, as it would need to be done in the NGE, and there is currently no facility there to import textures. The textures in the LiveDb can have sub-graphs, etc, so the actual conversion of LiveDb textures to the NGE would require quite some effort. I think there are many other higher priority features/bugs that need to the implemented/fixed, so would suggest holding on to this one for the moment.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Thu May 14, 2020 4:58 am

rajib Thu May 14, 2020 4:58 am
face_off wrote:
So when can be have support for Octane Textures in the Daz Octane Plugin ?
I think it would be pretty complex to implement, as it would need to be done in the NGE, and there is currently no facility there to import textures. The textures in the LiveDb can have sub-graphs, etc, so the actual conversion of LiveDb textures to the NGE would require quite some effort. I think there are many other higher priority features/bugs that need to the implemented/fixed, so would suggest holding on to this one for the moment.

Paul


That is okay. It can wait. Yes there are many missing features and bug fixes pending. May we all know what you have in your ToDo list ? That way, if something is missing that we have reported before but not on your list, we can highlight it again. Also we would like to have some timelines related to the fixes and missing features.
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Wed Oct 28, 2020 12:26 am [ UTC ]