RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Forums: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Moderator: juanjgon

RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby Tommes » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:47 am

Tommes Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:47 am
I just tested my new RTX 2080 ti via my render network and the cards won't apply the AI Denoiser to the rendered images. Also tested with LW and Octane on this machine. The same. My 1080 ti and 780 ti cards are working fine.

Windows 10, Nvidia Driver 417.35 and Octane 4.01.1.0.

Solution: uncheck "Denoise on completion"

I don't think it's intended to work that way, or is it?
Win 8.1 x64 | Supermicro dual 8-core XEONs | 128 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia Titan | 4 x nVidia GTX 780ti
User avatar
Tommes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:08 pm

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby Tommes » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:46 pm

Tommes Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:46 pm
Well, now I experienced the same issue with the AI-Denoiser as some others here. As soon as the denoiser should be applied the whole machine crashes right away. Windows 10, 4 x 2080ti, Dual Xeon, Nvidia Driver 417.35 and Octane 4.01.1.0.
Win 8.1 x64 | Supermicro dual 8-core XEONs | 128 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia Titan | 4 x nVidia GTX 780ti
User avatar
Tommes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:08 pm

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:30 am

juanjgon Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:30 am
Do you know if the 4.01.1 Standalone has the same problem?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7880
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby Rainbow-3D » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:03 am

Rainbow-3D Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:03 am
Hi,
same with RTX 2080 (no Ti): 4.01 denoise doesn't work.
Version 2018.1 seems to work right with RTX 2080 and denoise.
The big problem of 2018.1 is the animation render: after half an hour it stop to render... render failure. Need to close lightwave and open again, so it can continue to render until next stop (no matter if there is or there isn't the denoise). 4.01.1 hasn't this problem and it can render for hours.
Last edited by Rainbow-3D on Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 7 x64 | Asus P8P67-M - i72600K | 16 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia RTX 2800 | 1 x nVidia GTX 750ti
User avatar
Rainbow-3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby KVNOODLES » Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:17 pm

KVNOODLES Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:17 pm
Hi,

Same issue with Octane 2018.1, when the denoiser is active into the imager, my Dell T7500 shutdown and restart,only when the ipr reaches the sample limit.
KVNOODLES
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 11:02 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby xevious2501 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:27 pm

xevious2501 Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:27 pm
I have 4 2080ti's and always see the denoise take effect in the IPR, but now that others have mentioned it, i really gota double check my rendered frames which still has grain.
seems its possible im experiencing the same thing, though my system has never crashed.
xevious2501
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 4:23 am

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby adrienneloux » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:16 pm

adrienneloux Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:16 pm
I am also dealing with an issue that relates to all of this. For some reason a node I have which uses a 2080 ti is getting confused when it goes to do a denoise. 3/4 of the image becomes denoised properly, while the top left quarter of the image remains undenoised. To further add to the confusion, it only does this on the first frame when told to do a batch collection of frames. for example: If I tell it to do a batch render of 100 frames, the first that gets rendered has this patchy non denoised tile issue while all frames after that work perfectly. I am experiencing no crashes with this.

it is definitely related to the 2080 ti I believe. When testing the exact same job with the exact same settings on a node with a 1080 ti card, it works perfectly with no issues.
adrienneloux
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby Rainbow-3D » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:21 pm

Rainbow-3D Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:21 pm
adrienneloux wrote:I am also dealing with an issue that relates to all of this. For some reason a node I have which uses a 2080 ti is getting confused when it goes to do a denoise. 3/4 of the image becomes denoised properly, while the top left quarter of the image remains undenoised. To further add to the confusion, it only does this on the first frame when told to do a batch collection of frames. for example: If I tell it to do a batch render of 100 frames, the first that gets rendered has this patchy non denoised tile issue while all frames after that work perfectly. I am experiencing no crashes with this.

it is definitely related to the 2080 ti I believe. When testing the exact same job with the exact same settings on a node with a 1080 ti card, it works perfectly with no issues.


I had the same issue with 4.01 and RTX 2080.
Have you tested version 2018.1? That new version works fine with denoise to me, but "crash" after 30 minutes (animation rendering F10 or screamernet).
Win 7 x64 | Asus P8P67-M - i72600K | 16 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia RTX 2800 | 1 x nVidia GTX 750ti
User avatar
Rainbow-3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: RTX 2080 ti and Ai Denoise Issue

Postby FAZ » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:38 pm

FAZ Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:38 pm
I know the wrong place, but just to chime in here... Cinema 4D Version 4.01.1 R2...

I am getting this same problem where my computer just turns off IF I render an animation with denoiser turned on. Turn it off, then renders just fine. I use x4 RTX ti's.
www.alexdimella.com IG @alexdimella
FAZ
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:22 pm [ UTC ]