OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Forums: OpenIPR on a fresh scene
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby BorisGoreta » Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:00 pm

BorisGoreta Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:00 pm
Why doesn't OpenIPR automatically activate plugin on a new scene ? Currently we have to press enable plugin first and then Open IPR.
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby sigmamoon » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:18 pm

sigmamoon Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:18 pm
BorisGoreta wrote:Why doesn't OpenIPR automatically activate plugin on a new scene ? Currently we have to press enable plugin first and then Open IPR.


it look very easy but sometime we forgot this option

do you have it?
Attachments
Capture.JPG
WebSite compagny
Pixel De Lune
WebSite personnal
SIGMAmoon.com
User avatar
sigmamoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:24 am
Location: france

Re: OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby juanjgon » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 pm

juanjgon Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:26 pm
I remember side effects enabling Octane with the IPR button. Some users reports that for example if you switch to LW engine and by mistake you press the IPR button, all render target information is lost. And I think that there was also other problem ... this is why finally I disable this feature.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7350
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby karanis » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:23 am

karanis Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:23 am
Boris, I would aggree with you for the standalone Octane BUT for an animation package I definitely disagree and would not like/want this option.

In an animation package, you do more than n clicks to make things work like you want them to be. I don`t mind starting IPR with few extra clicks. In fact, I`d need few extra clicks to disable it on every startup. Just my opinion. :roll:
Win7 64 & Slackware 14 64 | 3x Zotac 580 amp & 1x MSI 680 | i7 3930K @4.8 | 32 GB | Asus rampage extreme IV
User avatar
karanis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:21 pm
Location: Ankara / TURKEY

Re: OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:41 am

FrankPooleFloating Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:41 am
Boris pal, I have to agree with karanis on this one. Keep in mind bro, many of us are not the proud owners of 7 Titans :shock: and even some us (me) do not even open IPR until we have shit 75% setup and need to start seeing details... even now that I have my 580's (and not those lowly 460's) I still set up scenes for quite a while before hitting Home (what I mapped for Open IPR)... imho, it is a waste of electricity (and screen real estate) to start using IPR until needed.
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA RTX 2070 Super Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || LightWave Plug (v4 for old gigs) || Blender E-Cycles
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: OpenIPR on a fresh scene

Postby UnCommonGrafx » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:17 pm

UnCommonGrafx Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:17 pm
I've applied these commands to the keys e and b (enable and open IPR).
I need to do the switch commands to keys, too.
Juanjo,
I believe that if you offer shortcuts, folks will find this less problematic.

I believe that making something for yourself that will muscle-train you for efficiency is best.

We all moaned with the previous behavior. There is still the losing of the Octane Target Nodes.
Saving the Target Nodes mitigates the above, though. Losing them, though, still needs to be trapped and not allowed to happen.

Very well integrated plugin if you stay on this path of getting there.
i7-4770K, 32gb ram, windows 8.1, GTX Titan and gt 620 for display
UnCommonGrafx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:14 pm

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:27 am [ UTC ]