OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 21, 2019 10:16 pm

face_off Sat Dec 21, 2019 10:16 pm
This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender 2020 for Modo - TEST and STABLE release.

SOLUTIONS TO COMMON ISSUES

1) Make sure your NVIDIA drivers are up to date.

2) Refer to the Troubleshooting section of the manual at https://docs.otoy.com/ModoH/ModoPluginManual.htm#Modo/Troubleshooting.htm

3) Cuda error 999 - failed to load shader code: Multiple definition of 'cpSptStatistics' in 'cuda_teturemode' means that your plugin version is too old for the Nvidia drivers that are installed, so update to the latest version of the plugin.

4) The Octane Greyscale Vertex Attribute is not working for a mesh : make sure Kernel->Render Cache is disabled, and Live Geometry is enabled and Load Cage is disabled for the mesh.

5) How do I copy Meshes between Modo scenes? Please see https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=75794&p=389534

Modo Version
Windows : Modo12, Modo13 and Modo14 on Window 7, 8 or 10 64bit
OSX : Modo12, Modo13 and Modo14 on Macintosh OS X 64bit El Capitan onwards
Linux : Modo12, Modo13 and Modo14 on 64bit Linux

To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 452 or higher on Windows, 450 or higher on Linux and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.

Network Rendering
For Network Rendering, you must use the Octane slave release from the Octane Standalone installer which matches the exact Octane version of the plugin you are using.

Support Issues
If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Modo version
- OctaneRender for Modo version (ie. 2.0.10.16)
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version

Prior to reporting issues, please try Modo->System->Open User Folder->Shutdown Modo->then delete the MODO[version].CFG file and restart Modo.

The most important part of resolving a problem is me being able to re-produce that problem. So pls provide as much detail as possible in order for me to do this, and if the problem is specific to the scene, send me the scene.

For more information
- Read the on-line manual, including the FAQ, Troubleshooting Guide and Limitations sections
- Watch the video tutorials at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=59793
- Watch the video tutorials at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRCItLUW7oheOp5vCGgkCCw
- Watch the amazing PixelFondue videos at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=59793
- Post your question on this forum thread

Download Links

Current STABLE build (Octane 2020.1.5)


Previous STABLE build (Octane 2020.1.4)


Release Notes

2020.1.5.163 (18-Sep-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1.5
- Fixed issue where adding a NodeGraph node to an Octane Override while Octane was rendering would require a Reffresh before the NodeGraph would render correctly
- Fixed issue where changing the color of a Modo Point Light would result in the Octane Light being turned off
- Fixed Octane Log errors related to the Volumetric Spotlight
- Added octane.copyRenderToClipboard to copy the current Octane render buffer to the system clipboard.
- Minor fixes to the Octane Viewport appearance and behavior
- Fixed issue where the Modo Area Light width and height was not being set on the Octane Quad Light
- The Environment Power can now be set to 0
- Fixed issue where the Directional Light assigned to the Physical Sun's position was not being sync'd to the Daylight Environment when rendering an animation with Object Motion Blur on
- Fixed various issues with AlembicFile items. The Octane material for any of these item types will be the default material in the Material Tree (ie. you cannot assign a material mask to setup the Octane Material)
- If an animation fails to save the output from an animation frames, the animation render now terminates
- Speed improvements in the refresh time between each frame of an animation in scenes with replicators containing lots of transforms
- Fixed issue where if Camera Motion Blur was OFF, animated .ABC and .ORBX files would not render the correct frame when the viewport was first opened
- Fixed issue where is a morphed replicator prototype was not visible, it would not be reloaded when scrubbing the timeline
- Fixed crash when exporting large scenes with lots of replicator transforms using the octane.saveAnimation command
- Fixed crash when loading .lxo files with Material Presets assigned to an Octane Override preset. Modo Material Presets are not yet supported by the plugin
- Fixed critical bug which caused camera motion blur to randomly not work

2020.1.4.162 (28-Jul-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1.4
- Fixed potential lag issue when selecting item in Modo when the Octane Viewport was closed
- Added Kernel->Animation->Refresh Non-Live Meshes When Scrubbing The Timeline. Ticking this option also forces non-live meshes to be reloaded each frame when rendering animations

2020.1.2.162 - EXPERIMENTAL (13-Jun-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1.2
- Spelling error corrections in some nodes
- Fixed White Balance picking having multiple undo's
- Fixed the Universal->Metallic Reflection Mode combobox values
- Fixed issue where dragging/transforming live meshes was laggy (introduced in 2020.1.0.160)
- Implemented Octane Quad Lights, Spherical Lights and Volumetric Spotlights (via the Octane Light property on the Modo Area, Point and Spot Lights). Volumetric Spotlight "Light Medium", "Emitter Material", and "Barn Doors Material" can be set by dragging the Spotlight item onto the schematric and adding those channels to the Spotlight node.
- Added experimental support for the Octane Universal Camera

2020.1.0.161 (28-Apr-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1
- Fixed crash when saving a Mesh as a preset whilst the Octane Viewport is open
- Z Channel added to the Octane Int node

2020.1.0.160 (20-Apr-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1 RC3
- Fixed bug where a "Duplicate Material" error would popup if rendering Volumes in an animation
- Fixed bug where the viewport would not show the render if the Background Image could not be found
- Added Viewport updating of live geometry when a "texture" node is changed that is feed into a Mesh Op for that mesh
- Fixed curves connected to curve falloff not updating in real time
- Fixed lockup if connecting the output of an Octane node into one of it's inputs
- IMPORTANT: When rendering an animation, or using octane.saveAnimation (ie. Export Animation), Mesh items with Live Geometry Update OFF will no longer be updated each frame. So if you have animation meshes, tick Live Geometry Update in order for these to be refreshed each frame. This should significantly speed up the processes of refreshing geometry during animations and exports.
- The Mesh Item "Reload Mesh Each Frame" property is now only available for Mesh Items with Live Geometry Update enabled

2020.1.0.159 (14-Mar-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1 RC2
- Fixed issue where saving the Modo scene file would sometimes restart the render
- Revised the render status window to only show relevant information, and also provide details for when render region is on
- Added support for U & V Tile Offset for image maps during on-the-fly material conversions and with Octane Overrides. As Modo and Octane apply UV rotations, translations and scaling in different orders, applying a rotation, scale and translation to a Modo Texture Locator will not render correctly in Octane. I have submitted a feature request to Octane to help resolve this.
- Added texture locator support for UV options on light textures
- Added Object Motion Blur support for Mesh Instances. When the Mesh "Object Motion Blur on Instances" channel is enabled, the visibility of the mesh and instances CANNOT be animated, and the visibility state will be taken from frame 0 and apply throughout the animation. if "Object Motion Blur on Instances" is not enabled, the visibility of the mesh and instances is determined at the CURRENT FRAME being rendered (as happens currently).
- Fixed bug where Animation Samples Per Frame values other than 1 were not working correctly if object motion blur was enabled for that replicator
- Added UI Hints to the Octane material node Dispersion pins
- Improved the rendering statistics window so that it now shows the Info passes being rendered after the beauty pass (useful on complex, slow rendering scenes)
- Fixed issue where Octane Proxies could not be edited or saved if they were an instance source mesh

2020.1.0.157 (23-Jan-2020)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1 XB3
- Fixed issues associated with saving animations with the Deep Image EXR save format
- When rendering animations with "Export Render Passes As Descrete File" ticked, the frame number and the render pass name have been swapped in the filename (ie. renderpass is now before frame number)
- Saving Deep format EXR now saves as Multi-Layer (if the Kernel -> Deep Render Passes pin is enabled)
- The octane.save and octane.renderAndSave command arguments have changed for exr 32 bit formats to exr32, exr32renderpasses, exr32tonemapped, exr32tonemappedrenderpasses, so update any scripts you have which use the old arguments
- The plugin now saves the Octane version to the scene was saved with.
- Added Dirt Visibility to the Mesh item properties
- NOTE: The Dirt node was changed again in XB3, so scenes saved with 2019.1 or older version of Octane will now render correctly with this release. Scenes saved with 2020.1.0.156 will need tweaking if using the Dirt node.

2020.1.0.156 (22-Dec-2019)
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1 XB1
- Added the Hair Material node
- Added the Random Walk medium
- Added saving to the ACES EXR format
- Fixed issue where the octane.createUdim command was not working
- Added support for the octane.importLiveDb command to import the new OTOY Procedural Textures (however to do this, you need to select an Octane Override prior to executing the octane.importLiveDb command
- IMPORTANT: Pre 2020.1 scenes using the Dirt node will need adjusting when loading into the 2020.1 version of the plugin, as the pre-2020.1 Dirt node contains a "Radius" pin, which will not be loaded into the 2020.1 plugin version Dirt node (which now has the "Max radius" pin)

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:51 am, edited 23 times in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Sat Dec 21, 2019 11:30 pm

funk Sat Dec 21, 2019 11:30 pm
Thanks Paul
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby praimbault » Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:25 am

praimbault Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:25 am
Many thanks Paul !

- Fixed issue where the octane.createUdim command was not working YES!!!
praimbault
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:42 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Phizter » Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:47 pm

Phizter Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:47 pm
Any chance we will have normal maps working with UDIMs any day soon?
User avatar
Phizter
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:52 pm

face_off Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:52 pm
Any chance we will have normal maps working with UDIMs any day soon?
What specific problem are you having with them please?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:57 pm

face_off Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:57 pm
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

2020.1.0.157
- Compiled with Octane 2020.1 XB3
- Fixed issues associated with saving animations with the Deep Image EXR save format
- When rendering animations with "Export Render Passes As Descrete File" ticked, the frame number and the render pass name have been swapped in the filename (ie. renderpass is now before frame number)
- Saving Deep format EXR now saves as Multi-Layer (if the Kernel -> Deep Render Passes pin is enabled)
- The octane.save and octane.renderAndSave command arguments have changed for exr 32 bit formats to exr32, exr32renderpasses, exr32tonemapped, exr32tonemappedrenderpasses, so update any scripts you have which use the old arguments
- The plugin now saves the Octane version to the scene was saved with.
- Added Dirt Visibility to the Mesh item properties
- NOTE: The Dirt node was changed again in XB3, so scenes saved with 2019.1 or older version of Octane will now render correctly with this release. Scenes saved with 2020.1.0.156 will need tweaking if using the Dirt node.

Thanks

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby paberu » Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:07 pm

paberu Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:07 pm
Thank you Paul!
paberu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Obizzz » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:05 pm

Obizzz Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:05 pm
Did the dirt texture change again between build 156 and 157?

Max Radius is now Radius Map and the Radius value is reset to 1 in a file created in 156. Since 156 has expired I can't render the file in 156.
Attachments
Dirtnode.png
User avatar
Obizzz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:33 pm

funk Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Obizzz wrote:Did the dirt texture change again between build 156 and 157?

Max Radius is now Radius Map and the Radius value is reset to 1 in a file created in 156. Since 156 has expired I can't render the file in 156.


Yes it changed in XB3. Max Radius is now Radius. The previous Radius, is now Radius Map. Functionality remains the same, but the names were changed so previous scenes (octane 2019) can load correctly.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2020 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Obizzz » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:42 pm

Obizzz Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:42 pm
funk wrote:
Obizzz wrote:Did the dirt texture change again between build 156 and 157?

Max Radius is now Radius Map and the Radius value is reset to 1 in a file created in 156. Since 156 has expired I can't render the file in 156.


Yes it changed in XB3. Max Radius is now Radius. The previous Radius, is now Radius Map. Functionality remains the same, but the names were changed so previous scenes (octane 2019) can load correctly.


So if I made a scene in XB1 I have to adjust it again to make it compatible with XB3?

If I made a material in XB1 with

Radius
0.5

Max Radius
1.0

I should change it to this in XB3?

Radius
1.0

Radius Map
0.5

Is that correct?

I updated my dirt maps in a couple of scenes thinking the XB1 way was the way forward from now so I guess I have to go through them again :roll:
User avatar
Obizzz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:39 pm
Location: Sweden
Next

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Oct 27, 2020 4:16 pm [ UTC ]