OctaneRender 4 for Modo [obsolete]

Forums: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [obsolete]
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

OctaneRender 4 for Modo [obsolete]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:15 am

face_off Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:15 am
This is the recommended thread for downloading, and posting any questions, suggestions or support queries for OctaneRender 4 for Modo - TEST and STABLE release.

Modo Version
Windows : Modo10, Modo11 and Modo12 on Window Vista, 7, 8 or 10 64bit
OSX : Modo10, Modo11 and Modo12 on Macintosh OS X 64bit El Capitan onwards
Linux : Modo10, Modo11 and Modo12 on 64bit Linux

Nvidia Driver Version
Windows/Linux : Nvidia drivers 392.x or later.
OSX : CUDA Driver Version: 8 or later

Network Rendering
For Network Rendering, you must use the Octane slave release from the Octane Standalone installer which matches the exact Octane version of the plugin you are using.

If you have a support issue, pls provide the following information:
- Modo version
- OctaneRender for Modo version (ie. 2.0.10.16)
- Operating System (ie. Win XP, Vista, 7, 8)
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics Card(s) - model (ie. GTX 580, 3GB)
- Nvidia driver version

The most important part of resolving a problem is me being able to re-produce that problem. So pls provide as much detail as possible in order for me to do this, and if the problem is specific to the scene, send me the scene.

For more information...
- Read the on-line manual, including the FAQ, Troubleshooting Guide and Limitations sections
- Watch the video tutorials at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=59793
- Post your question on this forum thread

Download Links

Current TEST build (Octane 4.00 RC7)
- Windows Regular - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.136
- OSX Regular - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.136

- Windows Studio - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.136
- OSX Studio - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.136

Previous TEST build (Octane 4.00 RC6)
- Windows Regular - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.135
- OSX Regular - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.135
- Linux Regular - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.135

- Windows Studio - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.135
- OSX Studio - OctaneRender for Modo 4.00.0.135

Release Notes

4.00.0.136 (07-Nov-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC7
- Fixed issue introduced in 4.00.0.135 where Mesh and Mesh Visibility changes were not live updating in the Octane viewport
- Changed the default and maximum values of the Kernel->Parallel Samples and Maximum Tile Samples
- Added Nishita daylight model
- Fixed issue where Render Priority always starting at High when starting a render

4.00.0.135 (17-Oct-2018)
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC6
- Added the option to save an animation to OCS/ORBX from the Export button on the toolbar (this was previously done via the octane.saveAnimation command)
- Added support for the OSL Projection
- EXPERIMENTAL: Added code to speed up transform changes on large meshes. This only applies to Mesh items with Live Geometry Update ON, and when the Render Cache if OFF.
- EXPERIMENTAL: Added support for OSL cameras
- Added support for the OSL UV Projection node
- Updated the Modo SDK from Modo901 to Modo10

4.00.0.134 (15-Sep-2018)
- First test release built with Octane 4
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC4
- Added Denoiser options in the Imager settings
- Added Denoised Beauty pass to the Select Viewport Render Pass selection combobox
- Added Kernel AI Light options
- Added RenderPasses Denoiser passes
- Added Cast Shadows support for Toon lights
- Added Use For Denoising to the CUDA options
- Added Keep Instance Power to the Black Body and Texture Emission nodes
- Light Pass Mask is not implemented in the Kernel or Object Layer nodes
- The Image Tiles (UDIM) node is not yet implemented
- Added Direct and Indirect render pass Lighting Passes
- Changed the way changes are passed to Octane so that if a render is paused but the render is complete, the pause state will be retained if you change the camera or any other part of the scene
- Changed the way Render Region works. It now persists if the render is restarted, a new scene is loaded, or other pickers are selected. Rightclick the Viewport to cancel the Render Region

Paul
Last edited by face_off on Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:17 am

face_off Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:17 am
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

4.00.0.136
- Compiled with Octane 4.00 RC7
- Fixed issue introduced in 4.00.0.135 where Mesh and Mesh Visibility changes were not live updating in the Octane viewport
- Changed the default and maximum values of the Kernel->Parallel Samples and Maximum Tile Samples
- Added Nishita daylight model
- Fixed issue where Render Priority always starting at High when starting a render

This build also fixes the OXS Studio build issues.

There is no installer for the Linux plugin for this build. I will include this in the next release.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby marcus1070 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:57 pm

marcus1070 Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:57 pm
Paul, the nishita sky model is displayed in the options, but selecting it, goes back to new model.
- Win 10 Pro 64bit
- 16gb Ram
- RTX 2080
- Nvidia driver version: 419.67 creator ready
- Modo 13.0v1
- Plugin version 2018.1.0.141


http://www.marcusrizzo.com
marcus1070
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:14 pm
Location: São Paulo - BR

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby Fredrikvictorhugo » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:59 pm

Fredrikvictorhugo Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:59 pm
Having the same issue with nishita sky model.
Fredrikvictorhugo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:36 pm

face_off Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:36 pm
Paul, the nishita sky model is displayed in the options, but selecting it, goes back to new model.
Thanks. This will be fixed in the next release of the plugin.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby davidvonbehr » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:30 pm

davidvonbehr Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:30 pm
Hi Paul,

just did the transition from RC4 to RC7 and there seem to be an issue with orbx mesh proxies.

If I move a mesh item which is defined as a orbx proxy the position ob the object is not updated in the render viewport any more. Keyframed objects seem to work.

Is my explanation understandable?

Best,
David
davidvonbehr
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:11 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby face_off » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:23 am

face_off Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:23 am
If I move a mesh item which is defined as a orbx proxy the position ob the object is not updated in the render viewport any more. Keyframed objects seem to work.
Hi David - I have fixed this issue in the next release.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby davidvonbehr » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:27 am

davidvonbehr Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:27 am
Hi Paul,

super cool, couldn't be happier with Octane.

Keep up the brilliant work.

Best,
David
davidvonbehr
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:11 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby Fredrikvictorhugo » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:45 am

Fredrikvictorhugo Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:45 am
Having issues with motion blur and Dynamic Replicators. I know how to setup motion blur with octane so this might be a bug?

Can somone try test with Dynamic Replicators so we can confirm the bug.



/Fredrik
Fredrikvictorhugo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 for Modo [TEST]

Postby face_off » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:39 pm

face_off Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:39 pm
Having issues with motion blur and Dynamic Replicators. I know how to setup motion blur with octane so this might be a bug?

Can somone try test with Dynamic Replicators so we can confirm the bug.
I suspect this is because the plugin does not currently directly support object motion blur for replicators (but it is planned soon). Instead, use the octane.saveAnimation command and render in Octane Standalone.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14235
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Next

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Oct 27, 2020 9:44 pm [ UTC ]