OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3

Postby haze » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:39 am

haze Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:39 am
Hi all

This is a quick fix build on RC2 which fixes vertex attributes, and a couple of other more minor things. We are aware of a handful of issues from RC2 but we wanted to get this build out a bit more quickly, so some other fixes haven't made it in time yet.

As usual: 2018.1 RC3 will only be available for customers with a version 4 license for a limited time. To try 2018.1 RC3 you need to upgrade your version 3 license to a version 4 license. This can be done for free via our web shop: https://render.otoy.com/shop/upgrade.php.

Changes since OctaneRender 2018.1 RC2:

  • Fixed vertex attributes
  • Temporarily disabled caching of baking texture node for input texture types that are not image textures, since it wasn't working as intended yet.
  • Fixed Automatic pixel format setting which would still load 32bit float EXR images and HDR images as 16-bit float.
  • Image tile grid was upside down when selecting image tiles with pattern.

Downloads for users with a regular license
OctaneRender for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender for Mac OS
OctaneRender for Linux

Downloads for users with a Studio subscription license
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Studio for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender Studio for Mac OS
OctaneRender Studio for Linux

Downloads for users with an Enterprise subscription license
OctaneRender Enterprise for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Enterprise for Windows (zip)
OctaneRender Enterprise for Mac OS
OctaneRender Enterprise for Linux


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY Team
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Renart » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:23 pm

Renart Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:23 pm
Thanks for the Vertex Attribute fix.
The alembic is now loading without crashing but the Vertex Color Attribute is still not working out of the box.
The vertex color attribute from this same alembic is working in Octane for Blender.

So a work around I found was to do the set up I wanted with this alembic in Blender and export an .orbx. Then it work in the Standalone.
The alembic vertex color in the .orbx is now working in the Standalone. I'm wondering what's the difference... But it would be great if we didn't have to do that!
Renart
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 8:21 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby cjadams » Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:26 pm

cjadams Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:26 pm
Please note why is the "enterprise" version downloading the "creator" edition instead???
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-25 at 12.26.40 PM.png
cjadams
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Jolbertoquini » Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:39 pm

Jolbertoquini Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:39 pm
Hi Guys,

There is no fix for Cryptomatte, I thought would be on the next release as the message from Roeland?

Cheers,
JO
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby haze » Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:54 pm

haze Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:54 pm
Jolbertoquini wrote:Hi Guys,

There is no fix for Cryptomatte, I thought would be on the next release as the message from Roeland?

Cheers,
JO


As mentioned in the post, not all the fixes we've done have made it into this quick fix release. However, we will most likely make a couple more releases next week for this and a few others we're now aware of.
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Jolbertoquini » Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:30 pm

Jolbertoquini Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:30 pm
haze wrote:
Jolbertoquini wrote:Hi Guys,

There is no fix for Cryptomatte, I thought would be on the next release as the message from Roeland?

Cheers,
JO


As mentioned in the post, not all the fixes we've done have made it into this quick fix release. However, we will most likely make a couple more releases next week for this and a few others we're now aware of.


Thanks a lot Haze!
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 948
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Notiusweb » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:49 pm

Notiusweb Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:49 pm
I know this is an in-between release, but just will post it here anyway...
When I try to save an image (ie 16-bit PNG ), RC3 crashes.
Some projects it saves the images before it crashes, other projects it crashes, and I can't save the image.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:30 am

Notiusweb Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:30 am
More on the saving image issue.
I find in scenes I can save an 8-bit PNG, just 16 bit gives an issue.
And this is the case with both direct saving, and using Batch Render script.

Look at this one, RC3 saves 8 bit as this:
VH_Samantha_08.png



And I can get it to save 16-bit, but it saves the 16-bit as this:
VH_Samantha_16.png


UPDATE:
This occurs in RC2 as well, but is not an issue in RC1.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby coilbook » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:13 am

coilbook Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:13 am
Can we get a separate screen that shows GPU health during rendering. If a slave fails we know it's failed. Currently we have to manually check slaves to make sure they render and have no idea if they failed or not.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2390
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2018.1 RC3 [latest 2018]

Postby Notiusweb » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:53 am

Notiusweb Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:53 am
One more thing regarding the failed 16-bit PNG image saving on RC3, I was using Nvidia 416.34, and today updated to the latest Nvidia 417.71 driver, still same issue.
RC3 crashes under both drivers.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am
Next

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:56 am [ UTC ]