OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:07 am

Hi all,

This is the first alpha release of v3 :)

We split the release notes into two posts: This one, which provides the download links and information specific to this particular release and a features post describing and discussing the new features and changes of 3.00. The features post will be continuously updated until we reach the stable version 3.00. But first let's go through some important things first:


Alpha and beta version disclaimer

In contrast to v2 we want to do the alpha and beta testing publicly, to get more feedback earlier and to have changes tested more thoroughly. The plan is to let all users with a valid v2 license use the v3 alpha and beta versions until we decide that the beta period has ended and we release the first stable v3. After that you will have to upgrade to v3 or will not be able to use any v3 versions (including alpha and beta versions) anymore. We don't know yet, when that will be, but we will give you a warning a few weeks in advance so you can prepare.

Since there is a higher likelihood of severe bugs in alpha and beta versions you shouldn't use them for production work. It would be nice if you could test some production scenes with the alpha and beta versions, but you should definitely not rely on the stability of those versions to finish your projects.

In the Standalone you should be able to load v3 scenes in v2, losing only features provided in v3 and maybe some converted settings (like the new "mid level" in displacement nodes). With the plugins this isn't necessarily the case, which means that you should not create any plugin projects with v3 alpha/beta if you are not 100% sure that you want to upgrade to v3 or that you don't mind losing these projects when the beta period ends.


Manual

We don't have an updated manual for v3 yet. That's partially due to the fact that we are currently overhauling the documentation web site, which needs to be finished until we can publish an updated manual for v3. We will let you know when the v3 manual is available until then, please refer to the v3 new features thread and its discussion.


CUDA requirements

We switched to CUDA 7, which means on Windows and Linux you may need to update your NVIDIA graphics driver to a current version which supports at least CUDA 7.0. On Mac OSX you may have to update the CUDA driver for Mac to a current version supporting at least CUDA 7.0.


Changes since 2.24.2

For details please read the separate new features thread, but here is a quick list of the major changes between the last v2 and the first v3 alpha:

  • Complete re-write of the integration kernels to provide the foundation for major 3.x features like OpenSL and OpenCL
  • Added volume rendering.
  • Added deep pixel rendering.
  • Added an environment medium.
  • Added animated texture frame support.
  • Moved the film buffer to the system memory to limit the memory usage on the GPUs and to solve various longstanding issues.
  • Implemented tiled rendering for all kernels except PMC.
  • Overhauled network rendering work distribution and result transmission to make it work with the new render films.
  • Implemented a Photoshop workflow plugin and the generation of compositing files used by this plugin.
  • Added login and delta syncing to the Octane Render Cloud (ORC). Please be aware that you can't create an ORC account yet, but this will be possible soon.
  • Added raw/filter beauty passes.
  • Implemented motion blur for panoramic cameras.
  • Added rotation around the camera position to the Standalone.
  • Made static noise as static as possible.
  • Added "neutral response" option to the camera imager node.
  • Added tangent normal and opacity info passes.
  • Added support for 2nd and 3rd UV set in displacement textures.
  • Replaced the "shift" parameter of the displacement node with "mid level", which is normalized to the [0, 1] range of the displacement texture.


Known issues

Region rendering is still broken and we are working to bring it back as soon as possible. Unfortunately it requires a total rewrite due to the film buffer changes.

Also render priority is currently not implemented due to the kernel overhaul. Actually, since we are now launching much smaller kernels more often, we don't see the need for this functionality anymore and want to remove it, but aren't sure if there are still cases where we would need a throttling of the kernel calls. Please let us know, in case you run into issues like a blocked/laggy UI.


Near future roadmap

The plan is to have new alpha / beta releases as soon as new features are implemented or important changes are made. The next major feature will be texture baking which will be in alpha 2, hopefully arriving next week. And there are some more features planned for the very near future - including removing the mesh size limit and saving and resuming renders offline.

OSL is going to be the next big change coming in beta 1, after all of the above features are tested and stable.


OctaneRender Standalone downloads

Windows
- 64-bit commercial version (installer)
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive)

Mac OS X
- 64-bit commercial version (DMG image)

Linux
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive)


Photoshop workflow plugin download

Eventually we plan to provide the plugin via the Adobe Exchange platform. To allow you to test it in its current form, we provide the plugin as package which you can manually install (see the new features post for details).

UPDATE: The plugin can now be installed via the Adobe Exchange website.

Windows and Mac OS X
- Photoshop extension (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY NZ Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 4588
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby grimm » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:20 am

Congrats to the entire team! This is a huge version upgrade, I'm looking forward to kicking the tires. :D

Jason
Linux Mint 18 x64 | Nvidia GTX460 2GB(display) GTX980 4GB(Octane) | Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 375.26
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby dereksdigital » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:33 am

Sweet, been looking forward to testing this out. Sounds like a lot of work went into this upgrade... thanks Otoy team!
|| 2x GTX 980ti || 2x Xeon E5-2690 || 64GB RAM || Win8.1 Pro x64 ||
dereksdigital
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:34 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:04 am

error
Attachments
octane 3.00 alpha 1 151209 100812.log
(1.61 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
octane 3.00 alpha 1 151209 100309.log
(760 Bytes) Downloaded 10 times
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby aiven » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:40 am

Wohoooo, Going to test that tomorrow. Good job =)
aiven.net
5960X | 64GB ddr4 | 1x TitanBlack + 2x 980Ti
6850k | 64GB ddr4 | 4x 980Ti hybrid
User avatar
aiven
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:19 pm
Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:49 am

:o
Attachments
тест 3.0.png
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby Seekerfinder » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:54 am

Thanks guys! Looks awesome.

However I see no comment about speed. Are we going to take another render speed hit on this release? Are the kernels faster? What's happening?

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby Goldorak » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:02 am

Seekerfinder wrote:Thanks guys! Looks awesome.

However I see no comment about speed. Are we going to take another render speed hit on this release? Are the kernels faster? What's happening?

Seeker


It's faster in every scene I have tested it on :)
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby RobSteady » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:07 am

abstrax wrote:... but eventually brought some speed gains in most scenes for path tracing (especially with coherent ration set to 0) and PMC. Direct lighting with a coherent ratio of 0 roughly has the same performance, while direct lighting with a coherent ratio of >0 is often a bit slower than in 2.24.
Octane for 3ds Max v2.21.1 | i7-5930K | 32GB | 1 x GTX Titan Z + 2 x GTX 980 Ti
User avatar
RobSteady
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:33 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 alpha 1

Postby Zay » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:13 am

1 of my cards (dedicated) seems to flush the memory when I sat "Parallel Samples" from 6 to 7 - even though it still had 2GB free - but it kept on rendering. How can that be ? Is it using the systems memory now even though I have it off?
ms.JPG


EDIT: Nevermind, I think it's a problem with GPU-Z that resets to zero at 4096MB - strange.
Last edited by Zay on Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 384.76| Modo 10/ZBrush/PoserPro11
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am
Next

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:29 pm [ UTC ]