convert particles to obj mesh before export?

Forums: convert particles to obj mesh before export?
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

convert particles to obj mesh before export?

Postby DayVids » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:23 am

DayVids Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:23 am
Hey Guys,

I'm working on creating an animation of a particle based animated mesh replacement, and I'm having a bear of a time getting things to work right (eg none of the particle based meshes are showing up). I'm assuming their just not converting, but is there a way in the official or unofficial tool to make this work? thanks for any help you can give.

Dave
Last edited by DayVids on Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am

Re: convert particles to obj mesh before export?

Postby yoyoz » Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:40 am

yoyoz Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:40 am
Hi Dave,

at the moment the only way to get particles is as follow:
- setup a particle system on your emitter
- setup a particle modifier on the object that will be the particles
- be careful with amount of particles as this is very CPU and memory intensive

The following picture and animation have been made using this method: http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=42855#p42855. I'll be investigating other ways but this is not as easy as it sounds.

Lionel
Desktop: Ubuntu 13.04 x64 - i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz - 32GB DDR3 - GTX670 2048MB
Laptop: Linux Mint 11 x64 - i7-2860QM @ 2.5GHz - 16GB DDR3 - Quadro 3000M 2GB
Software: NVidia 319.12 - Cuda 4.2.9 - Blender 2.66a
User avatar
yoyoz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Belgium

Re: convert particles to obj mesh before export?

Postby DayVids » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:03 pm

DayVids Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:03 pm
Excellent, wouldn't have been able to do it w/o that.

Thanks for the help!

Re: memory, 12gb should get me far enough with this, it's just a bunch of falling diamonds for a 30 sec. commercial
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 9:18 pm [ UTC ]