impossible t import a good mesh

Forums: impossible t import a good mesh
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

impossible t import a good mesh

Postby arnaud » Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:01 pm

arnaud Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:01 pm
I believe i'm going to to sell my standalone licence!

All my import in octane have a curious result, look at this exemple:

My mesh with its normals:

Image


On time in octane when i want put a materiel glossy or diffuse or another:

Image

If somebody take some time to answer to me, thx, i don't think blender user are really present here.

Regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby kavorka » Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:12 pm

kavorka Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:12 pm
Dont worry, I'm a Blender user and this is very fixable. (and there is a strong Blender presence here)

In Blender
First, your normals are not all correct, some are pointing inwards. Try selecting all and hit ctrl+N (recalculate normals). This should fix the normals problem, if not, select the faces with normals facing inwards, and flip the normal.
Second, you need more detail to your mesh, you want to bevel those edges! Select all exterior edges and hit ctrl+B, set the percentage and amount so it looks good.

Octane.
Your sig shows you are using 1.0, and it looks like you are, because normals smoothing is better in 1.1 (available as of this week).

Honestly, this is not a Blender/Octane error, it is a user error.
If this doesn't fix your problems, let me know.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby arnaud » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:10 pm

arnaud Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:10 pm
Oh yes Kavorka.

Yes it's ever a problem from user, it's right, but sometime after several hour i lost my patience! :(

ctrl+n does it work, thx a lot!

And for v1.1, i have download it first day, right it result are better.

Thanks a lot.

Can i profite about your knowledge for lead me to import a good uv so that i 'll can use live db for exemple?

Because it's recently who don't use good way to unwrapp my mesh, because when i want put an image texture or material scale get a strange result .

I use this mat:

Image

And this result on sofa:

Image


Sorry to disturb you with all my questions but i'm really embarrassed!

Thanks again

Best regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby kavorka » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 pm

kavorka Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 pm
first, about the normals.
if you go to wireframe view, you will see that some of your normals are facing inwards, you want every face to face outwards.

As for using the Live Database, the person that made that material, made it based on the UV scale that their model had.
Did you unwrap your model?
If so, you need to either guess and modify your UV scale (tedious...), or (in Octane) you can use a float input pin and attach it to the scale of the textures used in the material (some people do this already when they upload materials). You can then use that pin to change the scale of the entire material.

Now, there are times that a material looks awesome on a ball, but looks horrible on a real object because it isnt being tiled on the ball, but may not tile well. So, be wary.
The materials on the live database are not made by Octane team, so the quality of them are dependent on the user that created them.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby kavorka » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:51 pm

kavorka Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:51 pm
if you want, send the .Blend and ill have a look and point out anything that will cause you problems.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby arnaud » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:56 pm

arnaud Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:56 pm
Thanks a lot, i 'll send it to you by mp.

Best regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby kavorka » Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:36 pm

kavorka Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:36 pm
I opened your scene in Blender.
First thing, the scene scale is too large, your couch is 54 feet across.
Fix that first.

Your UVs arnt very good, I would look up tutorials on that.
the models arnt that high quality, I would look up tutorials on modeling. (it actually looks like Sketchup models from their database, which are never very good, but I'm assuming you got them there).
I checked that material, and it just looks like that is one of the materials that don't tile very well. (it is also not set up very well, and is hard to control the scale in the material itself).
I would suggest creating your own materials instead of using the ones in the database.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby kavorka » Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:57 pm

kavorka Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:57 pm
I played around with the material again, and I got it to look better. That material is made with procedural textures, which do not check your UVs, it uses global coordinates. So, the bigest problem is the scene scale. Get the scale so the couch is more the size it should be in real life (not 54 feet).

Then, I set the float texture to 0, so it is only providing bump info.
I just placed a simple light over the couch.
here was my result.
Still not great, but that material looks a lot better.
Attachments
Leather test.png
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby arnaud » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:31 pm

arnaud Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:31 pm
One time again thanks!

No it's my own creation, in fact i had do that quickly to "play" with octane.
I'll reduce it.

Right, i don't know make a good unwrapp.

Perhaps i try to do something who are not recommend between octane and blender.

I'm going to follow your advices. ;)

I think i 'll try mat one by one to see if it's possible to use it.

Sometime in i can play with i node "float2 ou 3" in terms of mat itself.

I'll do it like you ! 8-)


A big thanks

Best regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: impossible t import a good mesh

Postby ROUBAL » Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:19 pm

ROUBAL Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:19 pm
Hi, I want to add that in most cases these black areas are due to Smooth enabled in Octane, on flat surfaces. When surfaces are not rounded and subsurfaced, applying Smooth gives black areas. It often gives a similar result in Blender as well, even if normals are all outside.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE
Next

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:31 am [ UTC ]