How change scale of material from live DB?

Forums: How change scale of material from live DB?
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby arnaud » Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:52 pm

arnaud Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:52 pm
Hello

I have a serious problem, i would like some excellent material from live DB, but when i link them at my mesh, export from blender 2.65 withe plugin v1.19, i can't change scale, so it's really ugly! :/

Same if change scale of mesh before import a have this problem.

Is there a solution by node?

Sometime in terms of material i can change his scale, but it's possible for all, so i need to a solution please.

Thanks a lot.
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby FooZe » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:12 am

FooZe Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:12 am
Hi Arnaud,

Sorry, there is no easy to do this.
Because the LiveDB materials are all user submitted, there is no standard for scale that they are done in.
You can change the scale of the mesh via the mesh import settings but this still will not really solve your problem as there is no way of telling what scale a particular LiveDB material will be created for.

There is no simple scale node that can be used for entire materials or anything like that.

Thanks
Chris.
User avatar
FooZe
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:00 pm

Re: How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby kavorka » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:17 am

kavorka Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:17 am
change the scale of your UVs, not your mesh.
Some of the materials were created with a float connected to all the scales, changing that value with change the scale of everything.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby arnaud » Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:42 am

arnaud Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:42 am
Hi FooZe and Kavorka

Thanks for your reply, i appreciate.
Yes i have try several material from live DB and each time it's different.

I'll follow your advice ;)

Kavorka, here again i'll use also that you said to me about my scene.

Have a good day guys

Best regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby kavorka » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:41 pm

kavorka Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:41 pm
The best thing to do is to look at the materials on the LiveDB and learn how they set it up and then create your own materials.
I have used some of them, with a little modification, to good effect, but mostly just make my own.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: How change scale of material from live DB?

Postby arnaud » Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:36 pm

arnaud Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:36 pm
Hello

Yes Kavorka, i 'll train me with my own mats, so that i 'll can use them easier on my meshes.

Have a good day

Best regards

Arnaud
Blender 2.65/ octane 1.1
arnaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: FRANCE

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:57 am [ UTC ]