why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Forums: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby pasmangiu » Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:24 pm

pasmangiu Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:24 pm
much slower than the other plugins
pasmangiu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby skibbbi » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:35 am

skibbbi Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:35 am
Why, why, why :?
Win Vista 32 | Geforce GTX 480 1535MB | AMD Phenom 9650 Quad 2.30GHz | 4GB | Octane 1.20
In the translation from Polish to English helped Google Translate
skibbbi
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Poland, Pruszków

Re: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:55 am

Seekerfinder Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:55 am
pasmangiu wrote:much slower than the other plugins

Because Otoy underestimates SU's reach and importance. It's a pet project for them.

The SU community needs a dedicated and competent developer on the job.

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby fivebythree » Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:07 pm

fivebythree Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:07 pm
Seekerfinder wrote:
pasmangiu wrote:much slower than the other plugins

Because Otoy underestimates SU's reach and importance. It's a pet project for them.

The SU community needs a dedicated and competent developer on the job.

Seeker


Completely agree. Feel like we've been guinea pigs on this project. At the moment the only way I can competently use Octane for SketchUp is... creating proxies with v2014, and rendering with v2015. Stupid workflow, limited tools. But works for now.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby Goldorak » Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:46 pm

Goldorak Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:46 pm
we are on this. I will make sure the dev is more proactive on he forums about the next round of updates.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: why is the developement for sketchup plugin so slow ?

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:08 pm

Seekerfinder Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:08 pm
Goldorak wrote:we are on this. I will make sure the dev is more proactive on he forums about the next round of updates.

Thanks Goldorak.

Incidentally, while some have found workarounds, I find the 2015 plugin very unstable with frequent crashes. The material management is also still buggy. A few of us offered to beta test again when you got Captain on board but there was no beta program. I think there is no way to develop a solid product without proper beta testing - even if it's open to all as RC versions. We're all keen to see a solid prduct and will do what it takes to pinpoint bugs. But your dev has to be up to the task. Fuzzy was a machine. So is Paul.

Will be watching in anticipation.

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:36 pm [ UTC ]