Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Forums: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Lewis » Tue May 12, 2020 9:31 am

Lewis Tue May 12, 2020 9:31 am
bepeg4d wrote:Hi Lewis,
ok, but if sometimes it works, and sometimes is not, it means that it is not reproducible, and impossible to be fixed.
Could you try to connect an external PSU to one GPU only for some time, just to be sure that your PSU is not the issue?

ciao Beppe


I have 3 machines as i said so can't be that all PSUs are bad. Also my PSU is pretty new (less than 2 years for 1600Axi, 3 years for 1500AXi and warranty for thaose Titanium series is 10 years).
Yes problem is random, even when it crashes it's still random , sometime it renders 10 frames sometime 50 , sometime 70, no real case to report. If there was way to report it i'd be all over it reporting it already :).

My worakround is not use Denoiser , I do not have more time to wait for Crashes/shutdowns/restarts, i have to do some real client work istead wating for reboots and changing parts in workstation/renderslaves :D.

Thanks for help, i understand DEVs can't fix it if they can't replicate but i just wanted to share my experience 'coz as you see there is several of people reported having those problems with Octane denoiser/RTX so it's not just one of or hardware issue.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 932
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Rik » Tue May 12, 2020 10:12 am

Rik Tue May 12, 2020 10:12 am
bepeg4d wrote:Hi Lewis,
ok, but if sometimes it works, and sometimes is not, it means that it is not reproducible, and impossible to be fixed.
Could you try to connect an external PSU to one GPU only for some time, just to be sure that your PSU is not the issue?

ciao Beppe

I was going to try that. Saw a youtube clip of a guy doing it and he used a paperclip to short a couple of connections on the PSU.
Does that sound right?

Or better off with this...
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00O0 ... b1f7d7c368
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Lewis » Tue May 12, 2020 10:20 am

Lewis Tue May 12, 2020 10:20 am
Rik, Yes rather buy that spliter if you want to use dual PSUs (i had 1250+650W with spliter for 2 years). But be sure to buy good quality PSU spliter 'coz those wires can get hot so you can get melted connectors/plastic if connection is loose/not god quality and firmly fitting.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 932
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby SSmolak » Tue May 12, 2020 11:48 am

SSmolak Tue May 12, 2020 11:48 am
Someone said that not to use denoiser on GPU connected to monitor.
---------------------------------------
Architectural Visualizations
www.atlantis-arts.com
User avatar
SSmolak
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:41 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby amineghorab » Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:56 pm

amineghorab Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:56 pm
I have the same problem, 2 RTX 2080Ti connected together and I have always a shutdown when using the denoiser on octane (2020.1.2) - Cinema 4D R21.
Any solution please?
Thanks
amineghorab
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:03 am

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby whersmy » Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:15 pm

whersmy Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:15 pm
Can you check your memory usage spike? I`m on 8GB and can only render mid-res with denoiser on..

Planning to upgrade to 16GB
Last edited by whersmy on Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:26 am

bepeg4d Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:26 am
Hi,
if you are having issues with memory, you can have a CUDA error 2 or similar, but not a shutdown.
Please check the PSU, and give more power to your GPUs.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7387
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy
Previous

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

Wed Aug 12, 2020 7:38 am [ UTC ]